Vyktors Mum
Member Since 2011
Yesterday
For a change the numbers are better than the WCRs but you guys asked so here it is, and it's okay, we're okay (mostly). Life is life and sometimes it hurts you just have to roll with it, so we're rolling.
Vyktor
AMPS 140 +2.75 79
+4 34
HC +4.75 43
HC +5.5 54
+6 56
+6.75 50
HC +8.25 65
+9.5 68
PMPS 151 +4 83
+5.5 76
+7 77
First the good news. His proprioception is markedly improved. Yesterday he even had a little canter down the corridor (haven't seen him move that fast in months if not years!) and this morning he had a poop without falling over
This is a relief as there was every chance that it would go the other way and he would lose the use of his back legs completely. Yay for his acupuncture vet and her exercises 
His mouth is shocking. It has been the worst it has ever been in the last couple of weeks. He has been showing pain even on drinking water and has cried out following yawns. He is soldiering on and I am getting food into him (mostly just chicken) but I think it has come to the point where quality of life needs to be put before quantity and the time has come for me to reconsider the cat version metacam that we have here. I plan to take him to the vet next Friday for dental etc. - if I don't chicken out again, I've been having stern words with myself!
Purrdy (spreadsheet link now in top of Vyktor's current spreadsheet)
AMPS 131 +3 122 +6 68
+8.5 83
PMPS 124 +3 95
+4 58
HC +4.75 67
+5.5 50
HC +6.25 61
+7 49
HC +8.5 61
HC +10 77
Poor mum - I guess we now know what happened to that dose he didn't use the other day - he saved it for last night! We gave him a depot reducing shot of 10u (usual is 15u) this morning. He's been throwing way too many pj parties for mum (or most people!) to be able to keep up the pace and I need to make sure that she get's a good nights sleep tonight, she is on her last legs. I'm considering a more permanent reduction but am not sure if the 3 shots at 16u are still playing a part. His depot seems to take longer than the usual 6 cycles to adjust, more like 8-10. Tossing up whether to go back to his usual 15u tonight and see if he starts it all up again, or whether to take him down to 14u and see what happens. Your thoughts welcome.
His vet has finally woken up that Purrdy is likely to have Cushings (suspect she's just been to a conference) and raised it with mum. I have had my suspicions about this for quite some time but chose to leave her in blissful ignorance since it's Cushing's so there's not really anything to be done. He has the pot belly (adorable!), bruises easily and the missing fur patches but otherwise is in good health. The vet wanted to start running tests but we have chosen not to since it will be expensive, can be inconclusive and at the end of all that - what can you really do anyway. But it's all in the open now (the vet's words were if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck then it's probably a duck) so I've added it to my signature. Plan of attack is to ignore it unless/until his skin starts tearing. If/when that starts happening we will let him go.
@missMeows - it's autumn here
but shhhhh don't tell the kitties I'd hate for them to try and colour coordinate with that and start throwing yellows and reds!
For a change the numbers are better than the WCRs but you guys asked so here it is, and it's okay, we're okay (mostly). Life is life and sometimes it hurts you just have to roll with it, so we're rolling.
Vyktor
AMPS 140 +2.75 79
PMPS 151 +4 83
First the good news. His proprioception is markedly improved. Yesterday he even had a little canter down the corridor (haven't seen him move that fast in months if not years!) and this morning he had a poop without falling over
This is a relief as there was every chance that it would go the other way and he would lose the use of his back legs completely. Yay for his acupuncture vet and her exercises His mouth is shocking. It has been the worst it has ever been in the last couple of weeks. He has been showing pain even on drinking water and has cried out following yawns. He is soldiering on and I am getting food into him (mostly just chicken) but I think it has come to the point where quality of life needs to be put before quantity and the time has come for me to reconsider the cat version metacam that we have here. I plan to take him to the vet next Friday for dental etc. - if I don't chicken out again, I've been having stern words with myself!
Purrdy (spreadsheet link now in top of Vyktor's current spreadsheet)
AMPS 131 +3 122 +6 68
PMPS 124 +3 95
Poor mum - I guess we now know what happened to that dose he didn't use the other day - he saved it for last night! We gave him a depot reducing shot of 10u (usual is 15u) this morning. He's been throwing way too many pj parties for mum (or most people!) to be able to keep up the pace and I need to make sure that she get's a good nights sleep tonight, she is on her last legs. I'm considering a more permanent reduction but am not sure if the 3 shots at 16u are still playing a part. His depot seems to take longer than the usual 6 cycles to adjust, more like 8-10. Tossing up whether to go back to his usual 15u tonight and see if he starts it all up again, or whether to take him down to 14u and see what happens. Your thoughts welcome.
His vet has finally woken up that Purrdy is likely to have Cushings (suspect she's just been to a conference) and raised it with mum. I have had my suspicions about this for quite some time but chose to leave her in blissful ignorance since it's Cushing's so there's not really anything to be done. He has the pot belly (adorable!), bruises easily and the missing fur patches but otherwise is in good health. The vet wanted to start running tests but we have chosen not to since it will be expensive, can be inconclusive and at the end of all that - what can you really do anyway. But it's all in the open now (the vet's words were if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck then it's probably a duck) so I've added it to my signature. Plan of attack is to ignore it unless/until his skin starts tearing. If/when that starts happening we will let him go.
@missMeows - it's autumn here
Last edited:

