3/27 Trixie PMPS 59 +1.5 88 +3 117 +5.25 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

After yesterday's crazy ride, I'm thankful for these nice blues - and that there is no fuds spike - and that we seem to have gotten into the ballpark for a good PLC dose. I expected a higher bounce, after all those low greens and last night's BCS!

We're settling in with the U/S report. Even though it's not great, given how good Trixie feels I am relieved to have an answer and a plan. The "unknown" factor was pretty rough. She's helping me write her condo with laptime snuggles and "aggressively" headbutting my mouse hand. What a sweet girl.

ETA: Just poking around on Tanya's site and found this little snippet of hope with regards to "Stage 4:"
If your cat appears to be in Stage 4, don't despair. You may not be seeing the true situation. Bloodwork can look high for the following reasons:
the cat is severely dehydrated
the cat has an untreated urinary tract infection or a kidney infection
the cat has untreated hypertension (high blood pressure)
the cat has kidney stones

As we know, we've eliminated infections and stones, but as of last weekend Trix's BP still wasn't under control....hopefully now we're closer to having her BP in line, since we've increased her meds. Maybe we'll be able to move back a stage when we retest her kidney values in 3 months.


Sending healing and good pathology report prayers to Tricia and Cinco, and Betty and Hank.

One more day of work, then I get to hang out with the kitties. Have a great day, LL!

Amy

ETA II for her Bald Belly Pic....she's really not showing it publicly, so this is the best shot I've gotten so far. (Notice that the cats are snoozing on the soft - albeit old - computer chair, while the bean sits on that hard wooden chair that's in the background :lol: !!!)
 

Attachments

  • BaldBellyTrix.JPG
    BaldBellyTrix.JPG
    34.6 KB · Views: 615
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

That is such a hopeful snippet, Amy. And it makes such sense in Trixie's case!
Love the picture of the two best buds ~ I miss having kitties that snuggle together :-D
Her belly looks sweet - scritches and rubs to Trixie!
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

A nice start for Trixie today. Such a good steady blue. it is kinda nice to see that after yesterday's wild ride. :cool:

I love your bare belly Trixie. Very rub-able! :-D I am glad that you have a plan now to move forward. That has to be a relief. I find that section form Tanya's site to be interesting.... kinda fits, doesn't it? I wish you much luck with it all. Keep on truckin' Trixie.

Have a great day Amy. I hope all goes well. Have a good day at TBP.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

Nice blues this morning. That is very encouraging on stage 4. It will all be ok once you get that BP stabilized. Silly girl doesn't care. She is just adorable and so is Zen. :-D You have the sweetest kitties.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

All is right in Trixie's world. :-D :-D I hope the BP meds do the trick. Tanya's site is amazing.
Liz
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

Aaahhhh....what a sweet pic. She is snuggling to keep her belly warm :-D

I'm so GLAD you found that info. There is so much on Tanya's that even as much as I have read stuff, I know I've missed things and this is one. Awesome find!! I decided I had to know the physiology of this and what I found is that high blood pressure can damage the blood vessels in the kidney causing the kidneys to have to work harder. Control of the BP lessens the impacts on the vessels of the kidneys. Taking BP meds, eating the right diet, exercising, and not smoking (hear that, Trix? No puffing in secret ;-) ) help.

Seriously, because I know how worried you are and I just wanted to make you smile, you are doing a GREAT job and I hope that the vet can get Trix to a good dose on her BP meds soon.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 - Bald Belly Pic

I was glad to see the US report didn't show anything concerning. Once Trixie's BP is better controlled, I'm with you and hoping for good changes in her kidney values.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 - Bald Belly Pic

Hi Amy! I'm happy to see a sweet kitty cuddle picture to start the day :-D . It sure brings the blood pressure down to look at them all sleeping and cute! And good idea Trixie, to have your shaved belly warmed by a buddy ;-)

I'm glad you found that remark on Tanyas site, and I hope hope hope that is all it takes to bring her levels down :cool: . Just a random thought, on the dental...when Chyna went in for hers last Feb. they said her levels were too high, so they put her on IV all that day and overnight and it brought them down to acceptable levels for the dental. Mainly since it was an "emergency" with her absessed tooth that had to be removed along with some other bad teeth, but I thought it was worth mentioning in case she needs the dental badly. I hated leaving her there :sad: , but you'll notice on her spreadsheet labs tab that it did knock them down both times they have had her on IV. It may be a moot point since hopefully all Trix needs is the BP under control...

I'm glad you are feeling better today. It's always hard to not know, I'm SO not patient and I hate not having a plan...I'm a bit OCD :lol: . I hope your day at work goes good and fast so you can get to the day off! :razz:
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 - Bald Belly Pic

She's still working that juice.....

My vetty was the first to mention the possibility of Trix's BP affecting her kidney values...it came up as a possibility with the initial BW, since her BW and behavior don't fully mesh with Stage 4 CKD. Unfortunately the initial dose of BP meds didn't get her BP under control by the time we re-ran the BW, so we don't know for sure if that is the case, but with any luck, the next round of BW will show improvement. No doubt she has CKD as indicated by the ultrasound, but we'll be pouring on the prayers that make it is not as advanced as her BW currently says.

Thanks for the info, Rachel. At this point, Trix just needs a cleaning so I guess the vet doesn't feel it is worth the risk, but she did say if we did need - or want - to move forward with a dental, there are ways to prep Trix to reduce the risk - much like what you guys did with Chyna.

Back to work.....it's crazy here today!
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 + 8 69 BaldBelly

The rules sure have changed her for now....glad I came home to check on her since she continued to drop after +4! If it weren't a work day, I would just continue to monitor, but since I have to go back for a few hours, I gave her some HC and Karo just in case she had ideas about continuing to drop.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 + 8 69 BaldBelly

Hi guys,
Lots of good info. in this condo today. Love the pic of the kitties in your chair. After all, they deserve it (especially Trixie)!

Have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty

Surf safe, Trixie. I'm watching you!
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 + 8 69 BaldBelly

Hi Amy, what a great condo today. I love the bare belly Trixie there. I can see enough of it and so cute cuddling together. I remember you had a gut feeling with the b/p meds and noticeably better numbers. You are so in tune with every aspect of Trixie, what a lucky kitty. I have Tanya's book, as I found it easier to locate info because my computer/carrier was so iffy at times. Good catch on the 69 :mrgreen: Surf safely Trixie. Have a good rest of the day. You didn't mention if there was any more s....
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 + 8 69 BaldBelly

Wow, that's a little bit of a dip, isn't it? Good thing you were able to check on her. Trixie, can't you wait for the dramatics until tomorrow when Mama will be home to appreciate them? Surf safely, little one. :mrgreen:

How cool is it to find a piece of info that makes sense with what you're experiencing? You have been thinking that way all along, and now you have reinforcement. Sending good BP vines so you get that under control, and then we'll keep the paws crossed for the next batch of B/W. :-D

Thanks for the support. It means so much. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 +8 69 PMPS 59 Do

Ok....not quite sure what to do about her dose overall. We certainly are fighting to keep her up these last couple days. I had a gut feeling I should come home mid-afternoon to check on her...that's when I got the 69. At that point, I gave her HC with Karo as a safety. Then, we get a 59 for PMPS, despite the carbing! True, it could just be that the HC and Karo wore off, but who knows for sure where she would have gone without it.

Soooooo...tonight I'm planning on another BCS - thinking maybe 2.00U. But overall, what do you guys think? Should we pick a lower dose and stick with it, then increase if and when we need? I'm leaning towards that right now...so far, we've been lucky with being able to stay on top of her, but there are times that we can't run home to check on her.

Today's numbers definitely are not subQ fluid-influenced. For one, we moved her shot location to her hip area, and that seemed to correct the problem we were having with her fluids causing dropping numbers. But, even at that, she did not have fluids last night. Sooooo...it's just something running differently for her.

Thoughts???
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 +8 69 PMPS 59 DO

If it were me, I'd reduce her to 2.5u and try to shoot the same dose every time. See how she does....you might have to decrease more than that but she's not getting super low yet. You've made a lot of progress on her BG and yes, you can always go back up but right now, she's not telling us she needs something less than 2.5u.

How do you feel about 2.5u or were you thinking something even lower?

You might see the depot drop her numbers tonight even with the BCS.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie AMPS 190 +2.5 160 +4.25 110 +8 69 PMPS 59 DO

I was thinking maybe a little lower. But, Mark and/or I are around for the next 3 days so we can monitor closely, so I could try 2.50 and see what happens. If it still seems excessive, we can take her down even a little further before the weekend is over. Poor little girl has been such a pin cushion lately....
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie PMPS 59 +1.5 88 DOSE??

Amy --

There is a clinical trial going on involving high blood pressure and kidney issues. I don't know much about it. Here's the link: http://www.mycatcanhelp.com/. I know my vet's office is one of the sites. They are recruiting nationally and all vet care is free. This is a news article on the study.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie PMPS 59 +1.5 88 DOSE??

Good luck with Trixie's dose. I hope she surfs safely tonight. That is hopeful information from Tanya's site. I love the picture.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie PMPS 59 +1.5 88 +3 117

We seem to be in a safe zone tonight...but I'll be staying up for at least one more test.

Interesting study, Sienne! The one thing that scares me is that there is a placebo group...I am definitely afraid to mess around with high BP and I'm not so sure cats can experience the placebo effect like we beans do. But, I am going to ask my vetty if she knows anything about this study...she really is interested in moving forward as treatments and techniques change.

I will probably give 2.5U a whirl tomorrow, but I'll make the final decision based on where she is at AMPS.
 
Re: 3/27 Trixie PMPS 59 +1.5 88 +3 117

Super cute pink belly of Trixie!
I love how they sleep in yin and yang style. :-D

I am glad U/S didn't present anything bad, Amy.
Sending prayers that the next b/w will show improvement on the kidney values.

Surf safely now, Trixie!!!
 
Good luck on the new dose - I hope it brings less surprises like today and tonight!

Very cute pic of Trix and her nekid belly. I was so relieved when I got Neko's heart U/S that they didn't have to shave her. Sending good b/w vines and lower BP vines. Interesting study - looks like lots of cats but I so agree on not wanting to be the placebo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top