3/27 Rocky PMPS 316 +2 357 +9 328 +11 343

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116132&p=1221040#p1221040

Rocky had a a 7 hour surf in blue number last night, and his AMPS this morning was still in the blue. That's awesome. :cool: However,I did give him the same 2.0u shot this morning, and I am very nervous. nailbite_smile

I just had this feeling when I was going to go to bed at 1AM that Rocky's BG was going to go too low, rather than go back up, when I saw that BG of 200. His BG DID go down rather than up.

At +5 I fed him only (1)TSP of his food with (1)TBS of water in it. I set my alarm, went BTB, and then got up two hours later. Sure enough, his BG had gone even lower. He was 113 at +7. This time I gave him 1/8 can of his NVIV with the added water. I set my alarm and went back to bed for another two hours. I woke up and took Rocky's BG and it had gone even lower after I had fed that snack- his BG was now at 101. So I fed him another 1/8 can of his NVIV and then set my alarm for only one hour this time. When I took his BG this time at +10 it had started to climb-- he was at 135.

Because his BG was now climbing I set my alarm for two hour again, and we were finally at his morning AMPS. His BG was at 138 for the AMPS. Rocky's BG had climbed only 3 points in two hours.

Feeling scared.. nailbite_smile I don't know if I am going to be feeding Rocky Karo and HC food for a few hours just as soon as I finish this post, or, if his liver is going to kick in and I'm going to start seeing some very high numbers.

Is it that we don't want to feed our cat for at least 2 hours before their shot time; or, is it that we don't want to feed them at 4 hours before their shot time?

Rocky recap of yesterday:
AMPS 333 +2 240 +3 204 +4 188 +6 333 +11 387
PMPS 340 +2 287 +4 200 +5 142 +7 113 +9 101 +10 135

** I think I forgot to mention that I DID refill Rocky's Fluconazole for his ringworm even though it does look to be almost cleared it. So he has not stopped taking it yet.
 
Re: Advise please 3/27 Rocky AMPS 138

Hi Tina,

It's my understanding that you don't feed for two hours before the shot. You might want to check out Jersey's spreadsheet. I shot a 121 last night and Jersey surfed really well. I'm hoping Rocky will do the same for you this morning. I only fed her the regular low-carb food; we never broke out any Karo. (She also dropped pretty hard this morning, and we've been managing it with just regular food.)

Hope that helps!
Shelly
 
Re: Advise please 3/27 Rocky AMPS 138

the motto is "shoot low to stay low!"

i think of those lower preshots as a gift, tina. you have the opportunity to lower the whole range of numbers. i'm glad you shot the same dose.

it's not feeding 2 hrs prior to the preshot so that it's not carb influenced.

as far as today, what we know is that shooting lower numbers doesn't cause the same kind of drop as shooting higher numbers. he may stay flat blue all day - no way to know. what i would do is keep giving him low carb food to try to keep him from doing any diving. i suspect he's going to just keep surfing - which is fantastic.

this is the opportunity you've been waiting for. enjoy it! :-D
 
Re: 3/27 Rocky AMPS 138 +1 187

Thank you Shelley and Julie!

Well, Rocky's BG has already climbed 50 points higher in one hour, so he could be setting up for his usual 'bounce' mode right now. :roll: But last night was an awesome blue surf, even though I didn't really get any sleep. :lol:

Julie, the Pet Safe automatic feeder DID arrive in the mail about two days ago but it is still in the box. I was tempted to use it last night but I want to do a few trial runs with it during the day when I am awake to see if Rocky will go to the food and eat it immediately when it pops open.
 
Re: 3/27 Rocky AMPS 138 +1 187

i did that too - used it while i was home to make sure he'd eat from it. it makes a really loud noise when it rotates, but then it shuts off. punkin was scared of the noise, but never one to walk away from food, he ventured over there pretty quick. after he got used to it, his internal clock knew when it was time for it to open and he'd wait about 10 feet away. as soon as he heard the rotation, he'd leap from the coffee table and race to it and chow down. :lol: it was pretty funny.

when you start using it, after you put the feeding tray into the base, you'll want to press the button that rotates it, just to make sure it's fully seated. we always put the tray in one or two compartments "back" so that we had room to rotate it as a double-check that it was seated, and the food would still be covered.
 
Re: 3/27 Rocky AMPS 138 +1 187 +2 186 +3 342

There is a part of me that wonders if I should have taken Rocky's normal 4 mini-meal a day, and then split them up instead into 1/8 mini-meals today because he had nearly a 1/2 can of food to eat overnight to keep him from going too low. He really only needed about another 1/2 can of food this morning to equal what he ate overnight, if that makes any sense. :roll:

Instead, I just did the same routine where he got a 1/4 can of food at each mini-meal at AMPS.

Or maybe his liver finally said, "Hey, that's enough. Get out of the blues already." Well, it was nice that Rocky got to surf the blues for 10 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top