3/27 Ripley PMPS 100, +3 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS 99
+3 112
+6.75 92
PMPS 102
+6 79

Good morning, LL!
Ripley is doing great this morning ~ perky, happy appy, talkative :-D .

Sending healing vines to Noni, Shadow, Gobbles, and Mannie, and hugs to their wonderful beans :YMHUG: !
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98

Hi Josie, I think Ripley is enjoying having her mamabean all to herself :mrgreen: Another beautiful start today! Surf well, Ripples!
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98

Morning Josie, lil Ripley sure is having some great cycles. Have a great day. Whatever you're feeding Ripley sure is agreeing with her.
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +11.5 79, dose advice?

Hi, Mary, thanks for checking in. We love it when our kitties talk to us and eat their fuds w/o complaints!

Hi, Courtney, I think you're right ~ and vice-versa, I like spending so much time with her!

Hi, Ann, I'm so happy with these numbers! And no fuds issues ~ the combo of 1/2 Wellness Turkey + 1/2 Cowboy Cookout is working out well!


:?: This morning was her 11th cycle at 2U. I'm very happy with these numbers, but is it better to add to her dose now, or to wait longer and see if she earns a reducie soon? And if I do add, do I want to do a full .25u increase, or just fatten her current dose? According to TR, it's time to increase ~ guess I'm a little nervous... nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +11.5 79, dose advice?

Wow, Ripley is having some gorgeous cycles! :-D Her nadirs are great, in the greens regularly the past few days. And even her high numbers have been in normal cat range (50 to 120) the past couple of days. I would interpret the TR protocol as you should keep the same dose. Why do you think you should increase? By the way, Ripley can also earn a reduction by being in "mostly" normal numbers for a week. That's the best reduction of all. :-D At 2.0u with a newly diagnosed cat, I would probably increase or decrease by 0.25u.

Do you mean 5.5 instead of 11.5 in your subject line and on the spreadsheet?
Liz
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, dose advice?

Hi, Liz, thanks for catching my typo!
Also, thanks for responding ~ I was thinking an increase is due because TR states "Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit."
I didn't know about being able to reduce based on her week's worth of awesome numbers... Is that a part of TR? I feel like I'm missing something.
I don't want to mess with her numbers if I don't have to, considering how well she's doing lately. But if a reduction is in order, than I'll definitely take advantage of that! :-D
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, dose advice?

This is from the TR protocol sticky (I added the bold):
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

It is snuck in there, about reducing the dose after a week in the normal range. :lol: :lol: It is not clear what nadirs would lead you to hold the dose, though, I have to agree. My impression is that nadirs below 100 or 120 or so would be good for holding the dose. I'm being wishy-washy because I don't really know what that threshold is. Ripley is definitely below it. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, dose advice?

So here's my spin...

I do think you have room to fatten the dose. I would not increase by 0.25u. Given that Ripley's numbers look this good, you want to be zeroing in on a dose so adding a little fat may drop the overall level just a bit. You still have some numbers that are outside of the normal BG range (e.g., on 3/23 and 3/24).

OTOH, some cats need more time to stabilize on a dose. You won't lose anything by holding the dose and seeing if the current trend continues. If it dose, after 7 days in normal numbers, you can reduce.

It's up to you!
 
3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, +8.5 56, dose advice?

Liz, thanks again for your help in clarifying (i.e, bolding). I appreciate the help in translating the protocol (though sometimes I read and read and I just go around in circles :lol: ).

So, I met some friends for lunch, and just came home to the 56 at +8.5 :shock: . This might mean that she may have dipped below 50 while I was gone, as her 'typical' nadir is between +6/7. So I'm going to discard the idea of increasing, and instead likely decrease her dose .25u tonight (to 1.75u) ~ unless there's a reason I shouldn't...

I'll also get a +9 test just to make sure she's rising.
 
3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, +8.5 56, +9 47, +9.5 53

Well, all-righty then! Decrease it officially is! Woo-hoo! :mrgreen:

+9 47, fed 1 tsp. LC
+9.25 53, gave a freeze-dried testing treat...
+9.5 53, ----- " ---------

She got a little taste of fuds at +9, and now she thinks it's din din time. I've created a monster! She's in full chewing mode ~ chewing on her rocking chair, baskets, following me around and squawking... hilarious! She sometimes gets in these chew-modes ~ plants, door frames, you name it. Mostly to get my attention. "Look, ma, I'm sooooo starving I'm gonna eat your house!"
 
Re: 3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, +8.5 56, +9 47, +9.5 53

Go Ripley!! :mrgreen: :-D What is it about dosecrease threats? Works almost every time. :lol:

Sorry about the chewing. I sometimes wish they made chew toys for cats.
 
3/27 Ripley AMPS 98, +5.5 79, +9 47, +9.5 53, +10 61

Hi, Sienne, I somehow missed your post up there :oops: . I appreciate you giving your "spin" on this dance! It's tricky for me when it isn't so "cut & dry." I'm a recipe follower :lol: .

Hi, Wendy, just when I thought Ripley doesn't ever read her condos... :lol: .

So, at +10 she's on the rise (w/o food influence).
We're looking forward to that Full Moon decrease tonight!!
 
3/27 Ripley PMPS 100

Today so far:

AMPS 98
+5 79
+8.5 56
+9 47....fed 1 tsp. LC
+9.25 53
+9.5 53
+10 61
+11.5 70
PMPS 100 ------> reducie!

Ripley had a GREAT cycle today!
I sure was surprised to see the low numbers... but glad she decided she didn't need 2u of Lantus anymore.
I was wavering about what to do with her dose, and she decided for me :-D .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top