3/27 Noogi - PMPS 76, +1 63, +2 56, +3 59, +4 81, +5 86

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post
Earlier: AMPS 212, +2 151+8 56

I haven't got the feeding carbs thing quite right yet. I kept him surfing successfully in the beginning of last night's PM cycle, but I'm pretty sure I gave him a bit too much and/or later than I should have - which nudged him into blue and yellow territory later in the cycle.

He was exceptionally hungry last night, pestering me for more food 3am, 5am etc. Not sure is the Petcam (Meloxicam) he'd had earlier played a role in that? Or if it was his BG, or cooler weather, or greediness? A combination of all of the above maybe? I did give him some extra food in these wee hours (if I try to ignore he will persist - and I cannot sleep through the mews and the scratching at the carpet) but again made the wrong choices in my sleepy state. Should have been LC instead of MC.

I will figure this food thing out through - each cycle is teaching me something (also sometimes I seem to need the same lesson over and over :facepalm:)
 
Last edited:
I haven't got the feeding carbs thing quite right yet. I kept him surfing successfully in the beginning of last night's PM cycle, but I'm pretty sure I gave him a bit too much and/or later than I should have - which nudged him into blue and yellow territory later in the cycle.
Last night, I would have fed MC at +2 and then stopped after that since he was flat at +3.


Yes it is meloxicam. I'm giving 0.08ml once a day. Is that a big dose?
Are you giving it to him every day? Is the strength of the meloxicam 0.5mg/ml (for cats) or 1.5 mg/ml (for dogs)?
The dosage for long-term meloxicam in cats is usually 0.05 mg/kg of body weight once a day.
 
I'm sure with more experimenting and experience, you'll figure it out! He had a wonderful surf at the beginning of the PM cycle, nicely done :)

Have a great Thursday :bighug:
 
Last night, I would have fed MC at +2 and then stopped after that since he was flat at +3.



Are you giving it to him every day? Is the strength of the meloxicam 0.5mg/ml (for cats) or 1.5 mg/ml (for dogs)?
The dosage for long-term meloxicam in cats is usually 0.05 mg/kg of body weight once a day.

I don't have any answers on the meloxicam queries yet - I'm going to discuss with the vet.

On the food side - yes, that makes sense.

Please could you advise on what I do this evening. As you can see he had quite a low PMPS and his +1 is lower still. I gave him some MC food now, he ate some, but not all of it. Would HC be a better idea as we are so early in the cycle?
 
Please could you advise on what I do this evening. As you can see he had quite a low PMPS and his +1 is lower still. I gave him some MC food now, he ate some, but not all of it. Would HC be a better idea as we are so early in the cycle?
Yes, you could give him a little HC now since he's lower at +1. I might not be around for your +2, so I'll tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.

Tomorrow is when you are out all day and Noogi will be boarded at the vet? Will he eat there?
 
Yes, you could give him a little HC now since he's lower at +1. I might not be around for your +2, so I'll tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.
Thanks you. I'll give him small helpings of HC now and again in a bit.
He really does love those lower green in the evenings! I hope I don't have to be up with him too late tonight as I'm running on fumes and have an early start tomorrow :arghh:

Tomorrow is when you are out all day and Noogi will be boarded at the vet? Will he eat there?
Yes, that's right. I'm sending him with various food options, including his absolute favs. If he is going low and refuses to eat I have a friend on standby to bring him home.
 
You're doing a great job, Helen! I know (many here do) how tiring it can be when they go low in the evenings. But his numbers are looking really good, so your efforts are paying off. I hope you'll soon get him to that just-right dose that you don't need to carb-manipulate. Good luck tomorrow when you're away for the day!
 
You're doing a great job, Helen! I know (many here do) how tiring it can be when they go low in the evenings. But his numbers are looking really good, so your efforts are paying off. I hope you'll soon get him to that just-right dose that you don't need to carb-manipulate. Good luck tomorrow when you're away for the day!
Thank you Mary :bighug:
I feel like we will get there but it may take a while as Noogi is just not one of those steady predictable cats :)
 
Looks likely he will earn a reduction as the depot should be almost gone from the previous dose. Did you shoot a full dose? Please add to ss.
 
Looks likely he will earn a reduction as the depot should be almost gone from the previous dose. Did you skip? If so out NS on the ss please.
Oops, no that was my mistake. He got his current 1.75U dose tonight.

When would you recommend I reduce, Elise? If I wasn't giving him HC food this evening I think he would get to a lime. But I'm manipulating the curve again.

Tomorrow morning I will check in with Bhooma, as we might adjust dose. He is boarding at vet for the day as I have long day out and I think he needs careful watching (two days with lime in the morning within the last week).
 
Last edited:
You could stop the hc and see if he drops under 50now that the depot should not be effecting his BG.
I agree that is an experiment I need to do, but not tonight. I'm exhausted and need to get to bed soonish.
Also, he had quite a lot of HC and is now trending up.
 
It may not be perfect, but you do seem to be doing a great job! His cycles look so nice, again, even if not perfect. You'll figure it out! Keep up the good work. :bighug:
Oh thank you so much Brianna :bighug: that is nice to hear :)
It's good to have made this progress, but not gonna lie, this phase is very hard work too!

Hope you and Xander are having a lovely day today. It's surely time for that sweet boy to see some more yellows!
 
Oh thank you so much Brianna :bighug: that is nice to hear :)
It's good to have made this progress, but not gonna lie, this phase is very hard work too!

Hope you and Xander are having a lovely day today. It's surely time for that sweet boy to see some more yellows!

Oh absolutely! It's a lot of work every step of the way. I can completely understand the conflict of being happy about progress but also just so tired of the process.
 
If you get a green preshot tomorrow morning, just post here before giving the shot?
@Bandit's Mom Good morning Bhooma :)
He does have a green this morning! 94 now shortly before his AM shot time.
I'm really surprised as he ate so much HC and MC food last night (altho it was low carb from +4 onwards)

Would appreciate your input on two questions:

1. Today's AM shot. I'm thinking maybe a partial shot for his day in lockup, so there is less chance he will need carb manipulation while there?
Perhaps just under 1u? or even 0.5u?

2. Does he get a dose reduction generally yet?
Or do we get through today first and see where we are at?
 
Last edited:
What is the kind of monitoring they will do at the vet's? Will they test his BG periodically?
I am thinking a token shot of 1U. When do you have to leave? In how much time from now?
 
Test again in an hour and if he is high enough, you might not need to feed carbs at +1/+1.5. The stress might keep him high enough, but it's better to give all kinds of food LC, MC and HC to the vet nurse.
 
Test again in an hour and if he is high enough, you might not need to feed carbs at +1/+1.5. The stress might keep him high enough, but it's better to give all kinds of food LC, MC and HC to the vet nurse.
Thank you! :bighug:
I gave him a LC breakfast with one tablespoon MC now with his shot. I might give him another MC snack at his next test.
And yes I'm sending him with LC, MC and HC food, all labelled, plus some treats. He's got a little cooler bag like he's off on a picnic :D
 
Go easy on the carbs for now. He might just zoom up thanks to the token dose and the stress of the vet stay. Although, better he stays high than a minute too low.
 
Back
Top