3/27 Neko AMPS 394 +1 418 +6.5 382

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67231

Day time seems to be higher numbers than night time. We started to see yellow before I went to bed last night. I didn't test Neko at 5 this morning as I was out the door in a rush and it was 3 hours before breakfast and AMPS, but she seemed in a good mood. She was asking for food by rubbing legs instead of mewing. It's been a few months since I've seen her that relaxed. Perhaps also because she wasn't really expecting anything although they do get a dried chicken treat when we are up the early mornings.

I'm having a hard time figuring out when her nadir might be by looking at her spreadsheet. The pattern in the evening is different than during the day. In the day she goes up after AMPS and seems to be a nadir later towards dinner. The evening seems to follow the classic pattern. I guess I have to have another curve day to figure it out. There was also some NDW confusing the issue.

Today was chemo day for my friend's dog. She is out of town so I said I'd take him to chemo. He had skipped a treatment last week because his neutrophils were too low (a classic problem of his even before lymphoma), but they had bounced back up this week with really good blood test results. The dog LOVES his chemo treatments. They don't impact him much, other than some whisker loss, and he actually looks forward to his treatments because he gets lots of attention and cookies while he gets his drip. He is always excited to see his girls (the techs) and even sits up in the car as we get close to the vets office. He is in remission and has been since the 3rd week of treatment. Way bouncier than before treatment started. There is a lot of similarity of language between chemo and diabetes. I was talking to the oncologist about chemo nadirs today.
 
:lol: it's her job!

just wanted to pull up the tight reg protocol for you
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Neko's had 6 doses of the 2.5 and is still running pretty high. the lowest number i see during that time is a 274 - and you've done a great job of getting tests in so we can see what she's doing. you could increase by .25u at her next shot if you'd like.

i think i mentioned that we were using the freestyle lite with punkin also - his ss looks very similar to neko's. you think their numbers aren't too bad, and then WHAM. people reminded me to keep focused on the blood sugar numbers rather than the dose, and to just give punkin what he needs to bring him into better BG ranges.

what do you think?
 
Thanks Julie - she's now had her 7th shot at 2.5. I wasn't sure if I should wait a few more doses because of the partial fur shot yesterday morning. I'll do a before bed test and probably put her up to 2.75 in the morning.

BTW, my pet name for Neko is "pumpkin", so I'm glad you and punkin are helping me out.
 
aw, that's so sweet!

i think if it had really been a furshot you'd have likely seen more of a reaction. maybe not, but she's been pretty steadily high, so i think it's ok to increase.

you're getting help from others too - i asked for some input on neko's ss! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top