Liz & Minnie
Member Since 2021
yesterday's news
yesterday AMPS 316, +2 272, +4 222, +6 206, +8 180, +12 96 (no shot),
yesterday PMPS +12 96 (no shot, some food) +14 130, +16 140, +18 135, +20 200
today AMPS 363 (ate well)
She's still in til electrolytes/ketones under control but sounds like she's improving. They didn't give insulin last night due to BG levels but she ate. This morning they gave her Levemir at 6am when she ate (normal schedule 8am) - BG rising. I forgot to check what they are feeding her.
Hospital update Dr Duval 10am/+4: Good spirits, ate well at 6am. Gave Levemir 6am because she ate/increasing BG. Potassium now 3.3 but she's on aggressive IV supplemental potassium. Serum ketones still moderate at 8am. Plan to reduce IV potassium noon, recheck at 4pm. If ok, reduce further and recheck at midnight. Continue ondansetron and miropeten. Likely staying another day but unpredictable as they taper minerals & electrolytes. Discharge criteria potassium in normal range without IV supplement and ketones. She does not have acidosis but "Mixed acid base disorder" ie has acids but something else in the blood is evening out the pH. Next update 5-6pm (after 4pm checks)
yesterday AMPS 316, +2 272, +4 222, +6 206, +8 180, +12 96 (no shot),
yesterday PMPS +12 96 (no shot, some food) +14 130, +16 140, +18 135, +20 200
today AMPS 363 (ate well)
She's still in til electrolytes/ketones under control but sounds like she's improving. They didn't give insulin last night due to BG levels but she ate. This morning they gave her Levemir at 6am when she ate (normal schedule 8am) - BG rising. I forgot to check what they are feeding her.
Hospital update Dr Duval 10am/+4: Good spirits, ate well at 6am. Gave Levemir 6am because she ate/increasing BG. Potassium now 3.3 but she's on aggressive IV supplemental potassium. Serum ketones still moderate at 8am. Plan to reduce IV potassium noon, recheck at 4pm. If ok, reduce further and recheck at midnight. Continue ondansetron and miropeten. Likely staying another day but unpredictable as they taper minerals & electrolytes. Discharge criteria potassium in normal range without IV supplement and ketones. She does not have acidosis but "Mixed acid base disorder" ie has acids but something else in the blood is evening out the pH. Next update 5-6pm (after 4pm checks)
. Sending more healing vines.