3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wahoo!

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
here ya go - if it isn't about your cat's health, please share it here! reminding everyone that the people who go around giving advice on your diabetic cat issues have a hard time wading through long condos with lots of chatter - this is something we were asked to do to help out!

of course, i have no good stories to share this morning, so i'll just say i'm stuck at home without a car watching my cats on the floor in front of me.

maybe Simon's cat can't catch the fly, but Maki is going to give it a try!

[youtube]FEtldhLVcy4[/youtube]
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

What an adorable video!

My aunt that was in the hospital last week was released on Friday. She did make a nice turn around without being on her meds, but she seems so distant. And she is very weak. We really wish she would have gone into a skilled care nursing home, even for a bit until she regained her strength back. Thank you everyone, for your prayers and thoughts for her!

Tomorrow is my birthday. Both my brother and sister were born in march as well, but I'm at the end of the month .. growing up as a kid it never seemed fair that I had to wait through theirs, to get to mine :lol: Peter took me to a cake show in the city on Sunday and I was able to buy my b day gifts there, which of course I went over board on :oops:

So excited to see all the OTJ trials going .. Good luck to all of the kitties and beanz!

Thoughts and prayers go out to those in need ...
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

I have some good news regarding Kitsi. For those of you who may not know the story, Grace, the cat's owner, passed away March 12. She was a really good friend and neighbor next door. I was taking care of Kitsi for over a month until Grace's family could take care of things and give her a home. Yesterday late afternoon Grace's granddaughter came to pick up Kitsi and take her home finally! Kitsi will be staying with Grace's daughter, and I will stay in close touch and get updates on her. I bought lots of Kitsi's favorite food and treats and a bag of World's Best cat litter so they would have everything she needs. It' s a little bittersweet, as now I miss her, but she had to get a permanent home. Thanks for all the prayers and vines for her. They live close by, too, so maybe even a visit later after she's settled.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

Devon, sorry about your aunt. I send her vines for a good recovery. I am getting forgetful lately with lack of sleep, so Happy Birthday to you. I've always stretched out birthdays, so since you had to wait until the month, it's only fair to start early celebrating. :-D
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

:-D Thanks Ann! And what a great report on kitsi! So glad she is settling into her new puuurmanent home .. I bet she would love a visit from you once she's settled in!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

ann, such great news on kitsi's going to the grand-daughter's house. seems like it's been longer than 2 weeks since your neighbor passed away. it's nice that you'll be able to keep in touch.

happy early birthday, devon! my youngest daughter's 20th birthday was last saturday. it seems to always fall on our spring breaks around here. she always complains a little about that. :lol: when you say a "cake show" do you mean there were a zillion already made and decorated cakes, plus booths with supplies - that kind of thing? i am just trying to picture a "cake show."

i copied this from Christie/Willie's condo because she had some good thoughts about making her pen last. thought others might miss it so i'd put it here:


Christie & Willie said:
I'm also pleased to report that, for the second pen in a row, I've been able to get 60+ days out of our pen (antijinx is in order as I really would like to wait until Saturday to purchase a new pen!!).

I think two things have gotten me here... first, is pen care. at EVERY shot time, my goal is to have the pen out of the fridge no longer than 2 minutes, and the insulin exposed to light for no more than 30 seconds or so, never holding the pen around the part at which the insulin is contained (so as to not warm it with body heat from my hand). Also, I keep it in the very back of the fridge upright in a coffee cup that is elevated on another jar so I can easily reach it.

Second, in the past, once the pen is approaching/beyond 30 days, whenever Willie's numbers would start to creep upward, I think my natural inclination was to assume it was the insulin going bad, and I've simply suppressed that inclination and have made myself assume that it is the FD and not the pen and have adjusted the dose accordingly. A good example of this can be seen earlier this month. After a skipped shot on 2/24, Willie did see greens shortly thereafter, but his curve did widen so we were seeing preshot in the 140s to 150s. With the pen right around the 1 month mark, in the past, I'd have immediately assumed that the problem was failing insulin and would have tossed the pen. Instead, I upped the dose and found that his numbers came down. We hung out at that dose for over 30 cycles (mainly due to my not being around to test as much) and started seeing lower pre-shots, even earning a decrease just last week. And that's even with my habit of regularly shooting insulin back into the pen.

I share this because I know many here are on tight budgets, and while the method of FD management we practice here is very effective and I think contributes greatly to the health of our cats regardless of whether we ever see remission, it isn't cheap, and insulin can be the biggest cost. I think that with consistently meticulous handling of lantus, focusing on really minimizing time spent out of the fridge, exposure to light, and not wasting insulin (I used to draw 4-5 units each time and then get to the right dose, now I draw maybe a unit), you can easily extend the life of a pen if you're shooting at lower doses.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - Bring your stories here! pics videos

Thanks Julie! And happy belated birthday to your daughter!

Yes, that is what I mean about a cake show .. it was my first time ever going to it, and in two years, I'll be entering! I thought it was every year, but turns out to be every other year .. no worries, just extra time for planning!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

Just a few thoughts in haste:

Happy early Birthday, Devon!! Hope you have a great day tomorrow and that you don't have to bake your own cake (unless you want to!)

Ann: great news that Kitsi will have a home with your friend's daughter. I know that you'll miss her, but it's nice that you'll be able to see her from time to time. You did such a great job looking out for her these past few weeks.

Christie: Do you really inject insulin back into the pen?! I have always heard that this is strictly a no-no (because the pens are under negative pressure). Please tell us where you learned that it is OK to do this!

Julie: thanks for reminding us of the real purpose of Loose Lips. I'm one of the guilty parties and will try to keep Rusty's condo mostly about Rusty. I won't give details about mountain climbing or paddling anymore unless Rusty comes with us (!) (or unless the activity will have some impact on Rusty's day).

Ella

p.s. Looks like the board was down for about an hour this afternoon.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

Thanks for cross-posting my lantus observations, Julie! I posted so we could get eyes on it, and the more eyes the better!!

Ella-- honestly, I've done it not b/c I've read it was okay anywhere, but simply because I'm lazy and it is just easier to do. From my own, extremely limited experience of two pens, the shooting back into the pen didn't have any adverse effects. That said, I've also never had a pen where the pressure thingy came down on its own... I've always had to dial and click the pen to push down the little black plunger that maintains the pressure. But with this pen, I've consistently drawn 4-5u into the syringe, and then pushed all but maybe 1-1.5u back into the pen, and then drawing air into the syringe to meld with any existing air bubbles, then twisting all the air out. From my very limited experience, that variable has not seemed to affect pen life, at least not within the first 60 days or so of use.

I do think that both variables do go hand in hand... first, to extend pen life, you've got to truly minimize the time the pen spends at room temperature as well as the insulin's exposure to light. I was bad about that in the past... would leave pens out for an hour or two (or even overnight on more than one occasion!), often with the cap off, and the insulin did start to peter out at Day 25-35. But I also in many cases have immediately lept to faulty insulin as the cause of a rise in Willie's numbers as opposed to blaming the fickleness of the mistress that is FD (or other causes... dental issues, infection, etc.). I think that one side-effect of our approach is that it IS so scientific (and, for the most part, that is a very, very good thing!!). This can sometimes lead people to jump to quick conclusions as to the cause for the effect we're seeing, because surely, it must be something that can be addressed with a little tinkering.

In the case of insulin, for many of us, simply opening a new pen is no big deal... and we eliminate that variable. No harm, no foul. But for many folks on the sugar dance, trying to procure a new pen can make for difficult financial choices... an extra $40/mo can mean a great deal... or being able to stretch out a box of pens to 10 mo or even a year as opposed to just under 5 months is huge.

I look forward to hearing more about others' experiences!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

Julie, I just watched the video of Simon's kitty and the adorable Maki. It is soooo cute! I'll have to get Mags a video so she won't be bored all day.

Christie, good info with the insulin. I use the vial, but same principles as you've stated will help with it, too. I often find myself forgetting and leaving it on the counter for 20 minutes.

Thanks for all your good wishes for Kitsi. I can't believe how much I already miss her. It was so hard to go into Grace's apartment knowing she was gone, but even harder to see Kitsi grieving and waiting for her to come home. I finally got her playing the last few days and purring and then yesterday afternoon with the granddaughter taking her home, I really think she'll be okay as she's with family now.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

Hi Christie,
I agree that we should be able to make the insulin last longer than the manufacturers' "end date", I just questioned the part about injecting it back into the pen. I understand that it is possible to inject back into a vial because the vial is not under negative pressure, as is the pen; but even with the vial I think it is prudent not to inject insulin back into it. The reason for this, as I understand it, is because the syringes have a coating on the inside of the barrel (to allow the plunger to move more smoothly) and you do not want to contaminate a whole vial of insulin with this foreign substance, especially since the effect would be cumulative.

In any event, I don't use the SoloStar Lantus pens, so I am not familiar with the button that you mention maintains the pressure. I use Levemir in cartridges (not in the FlexPens), and you can see the pressure seal move down the barrel of the cartridge as the amount of insulin in the cartridge gradually gets smaller over the life of the cartridge. (This is the negative pressurization.) Lev. is supposed to be discarded after 42 days, but almost everyone uses it much longer than that. In fact, Jill once wrote that she uses her Lev. (in the FlexPens) even when she has to turn the pen on its side to get the last drop.

I hope someone else will contribute to this "thread".

Ella
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

Thanks for the reminder julie - I will do my very best to keep it all about Zener's health! I am working on loosening up my lips as I type.

Happy birthday Devon - hope you have a great day!

And what a wonderful story about Kitsi's new home and family. And even better that you are close by Ann and will get regular "auntie" reports!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - insulin tip, shhh devon's bd is tomorr

re the injecting insulin back in - the part about the vial, ella, is that you inject air into air of the vial. i think, given how expensive the insulin is, i wouldn't inject insulin from the syringe back into my vial or pen. not worth it.

i'm just very aware that the volunteers that have been here for years going around to condo after condo must get tired of wading through our personal chat. it's something easy we can do that makes it easier for them, and they've asked us to do this.

besides, it's an easier way of hearing what's up with everyone!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Devon, I have been so out of touch lately and really miss connecting with everyone. So sorry to hear about your aunt and I hope she will start doing better and less distant. And Happy, Happy Birthday to you! I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow. I share the exact same birthday with my sister (we were born a year apart) and it was always a little frustrating when I was a kid and couldn't just celebrate my birthday. I always had to get a present for my sister since it was her birthday, too!

Ann, such good news about Kitsi! I know you are going to miss her, but it sounds like she is going to a good home and also to somone that is familiar.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Ella, I'd love to read stories about rusty going on some mountain climbing or paddling excursions with you guys! And thank you for the early b day wishes!

Anne, thank you so much!

Georgia, no worries about being busy, it happens! Thank you for the birthday wishes .. I couldn't imagine sharing my birthday with anyone else .. I told peter it's my favorite holiday after Christmas .. he tried telling me it wasn't actually a holiday .. what a nut! :lol:
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Julie asked me to put this image in here for people to see.... it's just a different way of looking at your SS numbers in a much broader overall fashion. when I'm having a bad day and seeing only red and black or high numbers, I take a look at this SS that i keep for Rupert and it shows me that things ARE getting better because it shows the overall trend, which in his case is nice and downward. It also makes it easier for me at least, to see the bounces happening and also to see that each bounce, even though annoying, seems to be lower than the last. i tried to do something similar in the google docs spreadsheet thingy but the chart function in there is very very simple and won't allow for trend lines or averages to be displayed on the actual chart. Anyway, for what it's worth.. for those newer newbies (I'm still a serious newbie but I know there are much newer people here struggling to understand lantus and bounces and the big numbers, etc.etc.).... I think this type of format can sometimes help. Let me know if you want to know how to do this for yourself in regular Excel spreadsheet format at home, it's really simple.

i keep track of about three weeks worth, to see the trend over time.... of course you can track as long or as little as you like. My numbers on the left (if you can even see them) are Canadian/European... the black straight line is the 'trend line' which shows overall lowering of BG overtime, and the green line I put in around abuot the 200 mark which is my current goal for Rupert, perfect non diabetic level on this chart would be around or below about 5.

marchbgrupertsheet.jpg



Rupert has had his share of hideously hideous numbers, and even with them, plugged into the timeline like this, you can still see 'improvement'. hope it helps some people feel a bit better, or gives a good 'snapshot instant visual' of how things are going.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

http://youtu.be/Vw4KVoEVcr0

I hope this opens, its so very sweet!

Happy early B day Devon!

Great chart Pip, I think my DH likes that better then an SS. He was doing it by hand for some time until we got on FDMB and google SS. I just don't feel like learning anything new for now, I'm just too tired these days. Maybe soon, when I feel better.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Happy birthday, Devon
happy-birthday-054.gif


Leroy likes watching the Muppets' Mahna Mahna video :lol: Warning: the song will get stuck in your head for days ohmygod_smile It's a cute and silly song but not easy to get out of your head.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Daphne, I love that video!!! I've watched it 3 times in a row.
And I really needed a hug today so thanks for posting it. :-D

Happy Birthday (tomorrow) Devon! party_cat
So who makes YOUR birthday cake?
How can anyone compete with your beautiful creations, hahahaha! :lol:
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Thanks for the birthday wishes everyone! CD, Dairy Queen makes my cakes ... mmm!! I'm thinking I'll get one on Saturday and invite the parents and siblings over!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Happy birthday Devon!!! I hope you have a really great day. Love the DQ cakes!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Happy Birthday, Devon It's almost tomorrow here. :razz: I hope you have a great day. I'm sorry about your aunt also. I didn't know anything was wrong. I must have missed it.

Daphne, that's one of my all time favorite videos. Thanks for posting it. I feel great every time I see it.

Re the insulin, I use the vial, but my vet has put insulin from her bottle into mine and told me it isn't as fragile as people think it is. When she was thinking that she might want Racci to change insulins and didn't want me to buy another bottle, she gave me about 1/3 bottle from hers to hold me over until her tests came back. According to her, as long as its protected from being too shaken up, too much light or heat, an occasional shake or forgetting it for a while or putting it back in, with a sterile needle from one sterile bottle to another, won't hurt it. The only time I've done it though was before pulling the needle out of the bottle when drawing too much by mistake. I have dropped it and shook it up pretty badly and forgotten it for a couple of hours on the counter though, without it going bad.

BTW, does anyone use a really good pet supply online that carries other than the usual stuff with good prices that you recommend? I'm looking for more like vet supplies that don't need a script. Or really slim chance, does anyone live in central VA near Fredericsburg and have a brick & mortar good pet supply?

Melanie
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Sooo... I know I'm not on here much, because we don't have any sugar kitties right now. But we do have two civvies and I am 6 months pregnant. I am getting a little anxious about people's "expectations," I guess, for how I will relate to them once we have the baby. I am getting really tired of hearing things like "your pets will no longer be your kids" or "they're just practice" or "your pets become a nuisance once you have kids." I know we will love the baby a lot, obviously, and her needs will have to take priority over the cats' if push came to shove (although I am idealistic enough to think I can take good care of both my children and my pets!). Why are people so intent on telling me how much less I'm going to love my kitties when I have a baby? Isn't there enough love for everyone? :? I've always been extremely invested in my pets, and I guess I don't see why that has to change or why it should be a problem if I still dote on my cats AND my baby. Any words of wisdom from those who have been there?
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

jennifer, i can say that i found my soulmate kitty, TC, a sweet little tuxedo girl that i rescued out of a creek, when i was in college. she lived in the dorm with me even, then in apartments for several years, just her and me. she accepted the husband ok because he worked to woo her over. when i had my first baby, TC was still my beloved little girl. although she was mad at me for bringing the baby home. for the first two weeks she literally wouldn't be in the room with me. if i came in, she went out. but after 2 weeks of giving me the cold shoulder, she forgave me and all was back to normal. i never felt like our "relationship" changed. she lived through the next 2 kids and died 17 years ago now. i still miss her.

i think you'll do just fine. it's no doubt just the beginning of all the unwanted advice that will come your way. you can always thank them and say "oh, do you think so?" :lol:

congrats on the upcoming baby!!!! it's a great adventure.
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Hi Jennifer,

Congratulations on the pregnancy. For some reason, some people just can't get it that we love our companions like our children and insist on saying dumb things like that. They said it to me many many years ago too and it's just not true. I now have two grown kids and 3 grandkids and I still love my furbabies like my children. The cats and dogs adjust and so do we. As long as you still give your furbabies love and attention their jealousy will be at a minimum. Just introduce them to the baby and let them know there's a new member of the family. :smile: Ignore those people's comments.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Thank you for the birthday wishes Melissa and Melanie ..

Jennifer, I have not been in your shoes but I like to think if I were, I'd also be able to love and take care of both my cats and kids .. we are all born with the ability to love, and there is no limit .. You will make this work and you will be a great mom to your new baby!! Congratulations!
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Thanks so much, guys! I knew you would all have a good perspective on this. I really like the "Oh, do you think so?" response. I can see that one coming in pretty handy in all sorts of situations. :lol:

I think the kitties will be fine, too. They are really loving, cuddly little girls. We'll just have to watch them carefully around the baby; and then once the baby is older, we'll have to teach her to be gentle with the kitties and how to help take care of them. I think everything should work out. It's silly, but I was more worried that *I* would turn into some kind of callous, pet-neglecting person once the baby is here. Of course there is really no reason why that would happen, but you have to worry about something, right?...
 
Re: 3/27 Loose Lips - everything non FD, share it here! wah

Happy, Happy Birthday Devon!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-D :-D :-D
I will be keeping your Aunt in my prayers! xoxo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top