3-27 ~ Jeddie, another update (too low now)

Status
Not open for further replies.
(crossing my fingers) I might have finally found his best dose. After the good numbers last week, he sort of bobbled into the upper 100s and low 200s, but he is back to the low 100s or lower.

3/24
196 & 214 (.75u to get the BG down)

3/25
134 & 188 (.7u)

3/26
95 & 104 (.7u)

3/27
83 (.65u)

Those are PS's. I was gone most of Sunday and from +3 on yesterday, so no spot checks. His shot times are 10:30 a/p so evening checks would actually be in the middle of the night. I have to leave again today for several hours at +4, but will try to remember to get a BG before Ileave and when I get back.
 
Re: 3-27 ~ Jeddie, another update

LOOK at those pretty numbers!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Go Jeddie Go :-D :RAHCAT

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & the Fur Gang
 
Re: 3-27 ~ Jeddie, another update

Go Jeddie! You look so fabulous in the blues and greens - they're an orinch boy's best fashion accessories. :cool:

flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat
 
Re: 3-27 ~ Jeddie, another update

Well, he's dipping a bit too low:

amPS ~ 83 <--- shot .65u
+4 ~ 64 <-- fine, but early in the cycle
+6 ~ 47 <-- too low for nadir.
He has food down and I just gave him a few kibbles. Will test at +7.

+7 ~ 45 <-- fed special food (still LC, but I knew he'd eat all of it)
+8.5 ~ 83
+12 ~ 160 <-- so he is bouncing a bit. I expected that. Shot .65u
 
So where did he end up going?

He is an enigma, that's for sure. He could very well be a cat who could surf in the 60s or so and maybe that's why he seems to get back to 200s after good numbers because you don't want him to go that low. I know it's unsettling to allow them to be that low, but you need this experience of the 45 to see what happens. Once I learned that Gandalf could go that low without a problem, I stopped worrying.

You might be tempted to lower dose again, but I think you'd get some interesting data if you didn't. He has a shed which acts at will it seems but constantly changing the dose even by .05U is probably a factor since he seems so sensitive. .7U tipped him over a little, but .65U may not be enough after a couple days.

I kind of went through the same thing with Gandalf. Luckily Jeddie doesn't have any other health issues to affect his numbers. Maybe the prozac, but it's doubtful, I think it would help more than anything. I really believe that part of the reason Gandalf would yoyo is because I didn't like him going so low since I was gone so much of the time. So I would lower the dose when I probably shouldn't have. I stopped worrying but I still fiddled with his dose too much.

Just sharing my experience.
 
Vicky, I added his numbers to the post above. He was climbing by +8 or so, but was 160 by PS time. I shot the same lower dose of .65u because I have to shoot almost an hour early in the morning - and then be gone until about 4:30. I'd rather have him in the mid 100s all day when I'm not here than at 45.

Well, if he's so sensitive that .7u becomes too much and .65u is too little after a while, I will have to figure out a PS number where he gets the reduction. If I wasn't shooting early tomorrow I would have shot .7u again. Maybe I need to back off to .6u on a below 100 number, but return tho .7u at the next shot? Something to try, I guess.
 
Sorry - I shot and ran out the door for the day.

amPS ~ 217 (+11.25) shot .65u
+8 ~ 197

So. I have to figure out how to deal with a low PS number that won't cause a too low number (I think that is anything below 60) and won't cause a bounce or a shed depletion.

It is totally counter to the protocol for long-acting insulins to reduce the shot based on the PS number. However, I wonder if I had shot something like .5u yesterday morning and then .7u again last night if I could have prevented the 45 and the bounce? Maybe if he had only dropped to 70, or surfed at 80, he would not have been so high this am. Then I would have had to reduce this morning because it wasn't a full 12 hours.

Hopefully he will get back on track quickly (he's about to step on the keyboard..... pc_work )
 
Nice shooting Sheila! Fingers and paws crossed for you both. I'm watching you and Jeddie with interest as I seem to have a similar situation with Bagheera my foster. The first few cycles on Lev I could shoot the low PS's and he surfed along. The last 3 times I shot low PS's he bottomed out at +4 so it could be that he had long duration from the previous shot...maybe just like Jeddie. I guess it's a good problem to have as it means the Lev is doing what it's supposed to do. :smile:
 
I'm planning on getting a +5 in an hour, so we'll see how he does.

Bagherra looks like he needed that dose reduction (breadstick not withstanding!). He needs settle time on it after his cycles recover from the carb loading he did last night :roll: That happened with Beau when he was 3 months OTJ and he couldn't handle it. I had to shoot a few ultra micro doses to get him back OTJ. It was only .05u about once a day for 9 days, but he did need it. Hopefully Bagheera won't take as long to get back on track.

Kitties, especially FDs, and bread don't mix!
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Kitties, especially FDs, and bread don't mix!

Ain't that the truth! But he was SOOOO pleased with himself! Just when I'd finally gotten him to stop bouncing into the 300s and 400s...

C'mon Jeddie-man - keep it together...
 
Hmmm, bummer. He bounced like usual. At least the dose didn't drop him like a stone and kept him in safe numbers. The issue is lack of duration or his liver decided to join the party and said "enough."

Any chance of testing your theory again and shooting say 0.55 or 0.6 on the next low PS? He went too low on 0.65 and stayed in nice reasonable numbers on 0.5 but couldn't sustain the surf. I wonder if one of those two doses could hit the sweet spot maybe surfing the 60s or 70s?
 
Possibly. I am trying .65u as a standard dose now. He was 188 this am.

I keep trying to find a dose that won't cause a see-saw action, but it really looks like one dose (.7u) is too much and the next lower (.65u) is not enough to sustain him. That would normally indicate to me that BOTH doses are too much, but that .7u is enough to overcome the rebound, however, Jeddie doesn't do better at lower doses either. I may be stuck with .7u and then reducing on low PSs to something other than .65u or .5u - as you point out.

ETA: just updated his SS and see that I probably didn't stay at .65u long enough - only about 4 days. Then I threw in a few .75u doses for some reason I can't remember now :roll: So, I will stick with .65u for a while and see if that works better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top