bettyandhank
Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10296 Yesterday
middle of the night PM +7- 61 he jumped out of bed and yowled, i jumped and fed instictively w/out thinking THEN tested. So food moments before.
AMPS- 87
Dosecrease- drop / 0+ skinny of whatever we were doing.
We had an unexpected freaky friday after a couple of easy days. He threw me for a loop with his low pre-bed number of 49. Fed LC w/ HC gravy- 1st time we had to do that. HE LOVED it.
Hence the decrease. Today I reviewed the Protocol. We COULD try OTJ, but having barely been at the previoulsy reduced dose for a couple days, I decided on giving him tad more support & time to ween and to skinny the dose up for now. It may be semantics, if our .25 really was or not, same w/ .o1..?? I just made it skinnier still today and hope he got a drop. So we took the next step down..for time being.
This has been so swift & caught us off guard so don't know really what to watch for. He did drop below the 50, but only 1 point. He's been climbing down so fast w/ hardly a chance to ever level out at any point. I guess if this repeats itself there is a story being told. Let's see what numbers he gives me. I'll be watching closely.
I've been reading some of the recently OTJ kitties condo's and spreadsheets this morning trying to learn what I can.
Several of them (donovan/mj, tasha, spot) ..really went off in fractions of fractions over quite a period of time. Lots of 0's and 0+, 0++, drop 2 drops, etc..
trying to figure out the path. how did they know when it was time?
This has come so abruptly & i am not versed in what to do here. It is really scary, isn't that crazy? You are crushed having to start this for them...but stopping seems just as nerve-wracking.
What are the rules for segueing? I just want to go smoothly with the best chance of it sticking for Hank?
His numbers have been great these last few days, but isn't that due to the insulin? ..even the tiny amount? At the least it is supplementing what he is doing on his own. You hate to pull that support prematurely.
Anyway, we were up late,late, w/this going on, then again middle of the night, so got up late and had to make a snap decision w/ only minutes to spare and this was it. I feel comfortable with it, more than I would having pulled the juice cold turkey. There was the chance that last night's dose got inadvertantly fattened. And there was room to shave the dose and still shoot today. So that's what we did.
So here we are knocking on that door unexpectedly fast. Scary & Exciting. Any words of wisdom as we head toward the path?
We need and appreciate it.
B&H
middle of the night PM +7- 61 he jumped out of bed and yowled, i jumped and fed instictively w/out thinking THEN tested. So food moments before.
AMPS- 87
Dosecrease- drop / 0+ skinny of whatever we were doing.
We had an unexpected freaky friday after a couple of easy days. He threw me for a loop with his low pre-bed number of 49. Fed LC w/ HC gravy- 1st time we had to do that. HE LOVED it.
Hence the decrease. Today I reviewed the Protocol. We COULD try OTJ, but having barely been at the previoulsy reduced dose for a couple days, I decided on giving him tad more support & time to ween and to skinny the dose up for now. It may be semantics, if our .25 really was or not, same w/ .o1..?? I just made it skinnier still today and hope he got a drop. So we took the next step down..for time being.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
This has been so swift & caught us off guard so don't know really what to watch for. He did drop below the 50, but only 1 point. He's been climbing down so fast w/ hardly a chance to ever level out at any point. I guess if this repeats itself there is a story being told. Let's see what numbers he gives me. I'll be watching closely.
I've been reading some of the recently OTJ kitties condo's and spreadsheets this morning trying to learn what I can.
Several of them (donovan/mj, tasha, spot) ..really went off in fractions of fractions over quite a period of time. Lots of 0's and 0+, 0++, drop 2 drops, etc..
trying to figure out the path. how did they know when it was time?
This has come so abruptly & i am not versed in what to do here. It is really scary, isn't that crazy? You are crushed having to start this for them...but stopping seems just as nerve-wracking.
What are the rules for segueing? I just want to go smoothly with the best chance of it sticking for Hank?
His numbers have been great these last few days, but isn't that due to the insulin? ..even the tiny amount? At the least it is supplementing what he is doing on his own. You hate to pull that support prematurely.
Anyway, we were up late,late, w/this going on, then again middle of the night, so got up late and had to make a snap decision w/ only minutes to spare and this was it. I feel comfortable with it, more than I would having pulled the juice cold turkey. There was the chance that last night's dose got inadvertantly fattened. And there was room to shave the dose and still shoot today. So that's what we did.
So here we are knocking on that door unexpectedly fast. Scary & Exciting. Any words of wisdom as we head toward the path?
We need and appreciate it.
B&H
