3/27 Frank AMPS 348 PM 366 / Q on skipping shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Active Member
A solid pink is definately better than a red. Unfortunately with Frank's past history I am not getting a warm fuzzy feeling that he is done bouncing... he has pretty much been bouncing since 3/7.
Finger's crossed for the minute chance that he's done bouncing....

Don't know why he is bouncing so terribly, before 3/7 it wasn't that bad. Only difference was the dosage..,maybe that's the key...
Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 3/27 Frank AMPS 348 Not getting warm fuzzys though

Looks to me like Frank was bouncing back in February. You just weren't testing as much! Some kitties are bouncy; some aren't. Gabby is. Sorry if Frank is in the club.
 
Re: 3/27 Frank AMPS 348 Not getting warm fuzzys though

Sienne and Gabby said:
Looks to me like Frank was bouncing back in February. You just weren't testing as much! Some kitties are bouncy; some aren't. Gabby is. Sorry if Frank is in the club.
Unfortunately, I think Frank is a lifelong member of the club. :cry:
I see that Gabby does bounce. But, Sienne, often she seems to be bouncing amongst lower BGs. I want those lower BGs too! Isn't there another Insulin, levimar?(sp). I've heard it's similar to lantus, but it isn't Lantus. Maybe our kitties would respond differently to it??
 
Re: 3/27 Frank AMPS 348 PM 366

I can't compare Levemir since I haven't used it. You haven't been on Lantus that long. Give it a chance. Both Lantus and Lev are long acting insulin and require patience. Also, try to not compare Frank to those kitties that are here for a couple of weeks and are OTJ. Remember, ECID. There are times when I find it very hard to see someone start in LL and is gone in 4 weeks while Gabby is still bouncing along. We don't direct the show. Our cats are in charge and leading the dance. You'll get to a dose that will get Frank's numbers to start moving and you'll get there safely.

Delma & Frank said:
I need to go out of town Monday night, so will need to shoot about 1 hr early. I have many questions about this.

Starting tomorrow AM, If I start to work back 15 minutes each shot, I will be shooting early on Monday PM. What's going to happen from doing this? Is this like a dose increase? Mostly likely Frank will bounce to the edge of the world from this I suppose.

Can anyone comment about this early shot I need to do?
You could easily move your shots 15 min early each cycle tomorrow and on Monday or possibly 30 min. one cycle and 15 min. the next two. With Frank's numbers in the pinks, this may be possible. Moving back in a smallish increment shouldn't have too big of an effect. If you're OK with the 15 min. shifts, that will be great and will have minimal effect. If you need to move the time in a larger block, I'd like to have some of the others comment.

maybe I should feed early(6PM) but shoot late at night when I get home(midnight)......
I'm not quite sure I understand this last thought. Are you saying you'd shoot approx. 6 hours late for the PM shot?
I guess you could do that but you'll then be on a 12/12 schedule. I seriously doubt you want to try to deal with a midnight shot time on a regular basis and to get it back to a 6/6 time, will be difficult. IMHO, you'd be better off shooting at your regular time and then skipping the PM shot vs. what your suggesting (providing I understood).
 
Need to shoot early Monday night, question

I need to go out of town Monday night, so will need to shoot about 1 hr early. I have many questions about this.

Starting tomorrow AM, If I start to work back 15 minutes each shot, I will be shooting early on Monday PM. What's going to happen from doing this? Is this like a dose increase? Mostly likely Frank will bounce to the edge of the world from this I suppose.

maybe I should feed early(6PM) but shoot late at night when I get home(midnight)......??

Can anyone comment about this?
 
Out of Town Monday, shoot or skip it?

I normally feed/shoot at 8PM. Even if I move back 30 minutes one cycle and 15 minutes the next 2 cycles, this will take me to 7PM BUT I need to leave/shoot at 6PM . Do you see my dilemma I am in?
Will I have to feed but skip the shot as opposed to feed/shooting 1 hour early?
I hope I am saying this clearly.





Sienne and Gabby said:
I can't compare Levemir since I haven't used it. You haven't been on Lantus that long. Give it a chance. Both Lantus and Lev are long acting insulin and require patience. Also, try to not compare Frank to those kitties that are here for a couple of weeks and are OTJ. Remember, ECID. There are times when I find it very hard to see someone start in LL and is gone in 4 weeks while Gabby is still bouncing along. We don't direct the show. Our cats are in charge and leading the dance. You'll get to a dose that will get Frank's numbers to start moving and you'll get there safely.

Delma & Frank said:
I need to go out of town Monday night, so will need to shoot about 1 hr early. I have many questions about this.

Starting tomorrow AM, If I start to work back 15 minutes each shot, I will be shooting early on Monday PM. What's going to happen from doing this? Is this like a dose increase? Mostly likely Frank will bounce to the edge of the world from this I suppose.

Can anyone comment about this early shot I need to do?
You could easily move your shots 15 min early each cycle tomorrow and on Monday or possibly 30 min. one cycle and 15 min. the next two. With Frank's numbers in the pinks, this may be possible. Moving back in a smallish increment shouldn't have too big of an effect. If you're OK with the 15 min. shifts, that will be great and will have minimal effect. If you need to move the time in a larger block, I'd like to have some of the others comment.

maybe I should feed early(6PM) but shoot late at night when I get home(midnight)......
I'm not quite sure I understand this last thought. Are you saying you'd shoot approx. 6 hours late for the PM shot?
I guess you could do that but you'll then be on a 12/12 schedule. I seriously doubt you want to try to deal with a midnight shot time on a regular basis and to get it back to a 6/6 time, will be difficult. IMHO, you'd be better off shooting at your regular time and then skipping the PM shot vs. what your suggesting (providing I understood).
 

Attachments

  • First day of Lantus .jpg
    First day of Lantus .jpg
    217.1 KB · Views: 79
  • Tail in the air Aug 06-.JPG
    Tail in the air Aug 06-.JPG
    194.4 KB · Views: 71
Now I'm really confused. It sounds like you need to move the shot time 2 hrs. earlier than your usual time by AMPS on Monday. Is that correct?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Now I'm really confused. It sounds like you need to move the shot time 2 hrs. earlier than your usual time by AMPS on Monday. Is that correct?

Hi Sienne. Sorry I confused you, I just wasn't able to spit this out clearly the first time around. But Yes, you got it now.

Last night I sent out an email to the one person I know who can give Frank shots.. If she can do it, great. But it will be a blind shot which I am not too happy about since I won't be able to test Frank until 4 hrs afterward. And now, this AM(3/28) his AMPS is 205 which makes me even more nervous about that blind shot. But I have a plan. Whether it's a good one or not I don't know. I will test him at +10 and make a decision whether she should come or not. A hi pink, she should come, if a yellow...probably just skip the shot. It's the best I can think to do.

If she can't come, since it is last minute notice, I am not sure what to do. At this point it seems like I would need to skip the shot. I don't know what else to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top