3/27 Darcy Starting Levemir tonight PMPS 287, +2 323, +4 424

It’s shot time. I’m going with 29 units. 70 percent of 41 units, which is what he’s currently getting, is 28.7 so I am rounding up to 29.
 
Well, I hope it’s a good insulin for Darcy since we have been through Vetsulin, ProZinc, Lantus and now Levemir. We like to check all the boxes! We have nowhere else to go!
 
Good luck!! Minnie would be serenading him with "You are my sunshine" if she was at the karaoke party. And after Mr Sunshine we are aiming for Mr Blue Britches.
 
I’d start with a +4, which is around when typical onset is. Some cats react strongly to the change, some don’t.

Caninsulin, Lantus, then Lev and side helpings of R for Neko.
 
I'm around. Keep in mind lantus will be active a few cycles yet.
Yes! I was just thinking about this tonight. The Lantus depot will have to drain off and the Lev depot will have to build up. I have no idea how this will all play out though. I got a 424 on him unfortunately tonight at +4. Hopefully, in the morning I'll see a lower number since usually the pre-shots are the lower numbers in a cycle.
 
Can you get a +6 tonight? Hard to tell if he's onset yet, or bouncing, or ?
Yes. I've set an alarm. It's not that much longer, but I will probably fall asleeep and have to get up early (what am I saying... I get up at 5-5:30 every morning anyway...) but yes. I wasn't that happy with the red number at +4, but this is all so new I am sure there are going to be some wonky days. I just want to watch him carefully. Ketones only .2 this morning. I checked because he threw up a little white foam first thing. If it were any of my other cats I would say... oh well, no big deal... but since it's him... I get nervous. It was nothing. He ate some food and was fine all day long and had a good yellow day. I waited on the Cabergoline because i was afraid he'd throw it up. Gave it to him later with no problems. Long story short... I'm going to get a +6 to see if anything's happening. Thanks!
 
Howie’s nadir is anywhere (normally) +10 to PS. So if I’m home, I may test a couple times during the day starting after +4, but concentrate more tests to the end of the cycle. After PMPS, I usually do a +3 and that is when I go to bed unless I’ve given him R and then will do a +4. Im not an early riser, so I literally hop out of bed right when it’s time for AMPS. I hope Darcy responds to the Levemir. I really like it and its flatness compared to ProZinc that he was on previously. Paws crossed!
 
Darcy certainly doesn't do easy or by the book does he.

Just a reminder when you have time. Can you put cabergoline in your signature?
No. Darcy is just the sweetest guy but when it comes to his glucose numbers, he is just the most intransigent cat! As my vet says, he never read the manual on feline diabetes. Oh and I updated my signature. Thanks for the reminder.
 
Back
Top