3/27 Darcy Starting Levemir tonight PMPS 287, +2 323, +4 424

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Suzanne & Darcy, Mar 27, 2021.

  1. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Last edited: May 13, 2021
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  2. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    We are going to call Mr. Darcy Mr. Sunshine from now on!!:cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It’s shot time. I’m going with 29 units. 70 percent of 41 units, which is what he’s currently getting, is 28.7 so I am rounding up to 29.
     
  4. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Good Luck!!:cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thanks. I like that! Much better than Mr. Pink Pancake or Mr Pink Pants.
     
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  6. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    :p:p:bighug::bighug:
     
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Good luck. Let's see what happens.
     
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thanks, Paula. I have been wondering about you because I haven’t seen you around the board lately! Are you well? All warmed up?
     
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good luck with the Lev.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well, I hope it’s a good insulin for Darcy since we have been through Vetsulin, ProZinc, Lantus and now Levemir. We like to check all the boxes! We have nowhere else to go!
     
  11. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Good luck to you and Darcy. I really hope his little body works well with the Levemir! :bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Should I check him more frequently to make sure I know what the Levemir is doing?
     
  13. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    THat is OK Amethyst started with ProZinc,than Lantus, the Lev has been great!!!:cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  14. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    I would Maybe ask @Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA)?
     
  15. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Good luck!! Minnie would be serenading him with "You are my sunshine" if she was at the karaoke party. And after Mr Sunshine we are aiming for Mr Blue Britches.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You test enough now...you really don't need any more tests.

    Make sure you make a line on your spreadsheet saying Levemir...Good luck!!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I’d start with a +4, which is around when typical onset is. Some cats react strongly to the change, some don’t.

    Caninsulin, Lantus, then Lev and side helpings of R for Neko.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Best of luck with the Levemir!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That’s true, Chris. I can sometimes get a little obsessive with tests. Thank you!
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Minnie wants to get back into Karaoke form, I am sure!
     
    Liz & Minnie likes this.
  21. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That’s encouraging. Thank you, Pamela!
     
  22. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thanks, Lyla.
     
  23. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thank you, Mariette!
     
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thank you, Carla!
     
  25. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I'm around. Keep in mind lantus will be active a few cycles yet.
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes! I was just thinking about this tonight. The Lantus depot will have to drain off and the Lev depot will have to build up. I have no idea how this will all play out though. I got a 424 on him unfortunately tonight at +4. Hopefully, in the morning I'll see a lower number since usually the pre-shots are the lower numbers in a cycle.
     
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Can you get a +6 tonight? Hard to tell if he's onset yet, or bouncing, or ?
     
  28. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    You will figure it out.
     
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. I've set an alarm. It's not that much longer, but I will probably fall asleeep and have to get up early (what am I saying... I get up at 5-5:30 every morning anyway...) but yes. I wasn't that happy with the red number at +4, but this is all so new I am sure there are going to be some wonky days. I just want to watch him carefully. Ketones only .2 this morning. I checked because he threw up a little white foam first thing. If it were any of my other cats I would say... oh well, no big deal... but since it's him... I get nervous. It was nothing. He ate some food and was fine all day long and had a good yellow day. I waited on the Cabergoline because i was afraid he'd throw it up. Gave it to him later with no problems. Long story short... I'm going to get a +6 to see if anything's happening. Thanks!
     
  30. Howiesmom

    Howiesmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Howie’s nadir is anywhere (normally) +10 to PS. So if I’m home, I may test a couple times during the day starting after +4, but concentrate more tests to the end of the cycle. After PMPS, I usually do a +3 and that is when I go to bed unless I’ve given him R and then will do a +4. Im not an early riser, so I literally hop out of bed right when it’s time for AMPS. I hope Darcy responds to the Levemir. I really like it and its flatness compared to ProZinc that he was on previously. Paws crossed!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  31. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It’s 407 at 6.75 (almost didn’t wake up)
     
  32. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    When can I consider adding back in some R? I hate seeing him going into the reds again.
     
  33. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If he’s above 300 tomorrow morning, do some R. If it’s obvious this is too small a dose, we may fast track him back up.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Over 400 this morning. Gave R about 5:30 a.m.
     
  35. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Darcy certainly doesn't do easy or by the book does he.

    Just a reminder when you have time. Can you put cabergoline in your signature?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  36. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    No. Darcy is just the sweetest guy but when it comes to his glucose numbers, he is just the most intransigent cat! As my vet says, he never read the manual on feline diabetes. Oh and I updated my signature. Thanks for the reminder.
     

Share This Page