3/27 Cinco PMPS 203 +3 188 +6 195

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/26 Recap:
No insulin due to surgery
AMBG: 259
PMBG: 372
PM+5: 396

Yesterday's Condo

I managed to get Cinco to eat about a third of a jar of baby food last night around 12:30. :-D I left some more of that, plus his regular dinner, out all night, and someone ate some of it, but I can't be sure who. I did get his AB in him last night, but attempts to give him his pain killer, in pill form, failed miserably. He did surprise me around 1:00 am by finding his way across the room to his lb and climbing in to urinate. That was a big relief to me (and I'm sure to him :lol: ). This morning he was much more alert and steady on his feet. I was pleasantly surprised by his AMBG and very happy when the food I put under his nose started to disappear. He ate about half his usual breakfast, which I felt was a good start, considering I don't want to upset an empty tummy with too much too fast. I will offer him more in about a half hour. I got him to drink a little water, too. The shot went well, except I shot the right side and DH has been doing left in the am. :roll: I gave him some liquid Bupe I had left over from Harvey's last dental. That worked much better than the pill. I may ask the OV for a script for more of that. Cinco likes to sit at the open slider and sniff the fresh air, so I wanted to give him a chance to do that, forgetting to disarm the alarm system first. :o :shock: :o Ooops! Sorry, neighbors! Silly, sleepy bean! ohmygod_smile After all that, he walked right past it and didn't stop!. :lol:

I am going to have to experiment with plates for Cinco. His usual style doesn't work well with the e-collar. It's been quite some time since one of my kitties was wearing one, and I'd forgotten how hard it is for them to eat with it on - then add that he's blind and it puts a whole 'nother spin on things. Does anyone have suggestions for the best arrangement to help him get to his food? I'm open to ideas.

After his shot and breakfast, I let him find his own way back to his normal domain, the living room, and he did pretty well - only slightly more bumps and wrong turns than usual. It will definitely take him some time to get used to that collar. So far, Harvey has just watched him, trying to figure out what the heck he's doing with that party hat on! Harvey did go up for a face-to-face sniff yesterday evening, and I held my breath, but he simply sniffed and walked away. I'm not sure Cinco even realized he was there - he was still pretty out of it.

Sasha is being a little princess this morning and snubbing her food. I don't think it has anything to do with the cold, which is definitely better. I think she's just trying to get some more attention, since I've been so focused on Cinco. :roll:

I am contemplating going btb. I usually don't have any success doing that - once I'm up, I'm up, but I've had less than 5 hours of sleep on each of the past three or four nights and I'm pretty groggy right now, so maybe I can get an hour nap. I'll set an alarm, just in case I'm more successful than I expect to be! I-) I-) I-)

Mark called around 12:30 last night to say they'd stopped for the night (not sure what time they left our house, but that's at least 8-9 hours of driving, after the in-laws drove 7 hours to get here. I'm sure Mark did most of the the driving last night. They have another 4 or 5 hours to go today, I think. He said they'd run into some weather (it's been raining here), including hail at one point. I'll be happy when they get where they're going safely. One less thing to mark off my worry list.

Thanks again for all the prayers and vines. Please keep them coming, as we have a ways to go here.

Sending healing vines to all in need (especially Betty and Hank), and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268

That's great that Cinco is eating something - better to ease into and keep it down. :-D Can you take the collar off for him to eat? Big hugs to you. Safe travels to DH.
Liz
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268

((((Tricia)))) You have so much on your plate. Thinking of you and sending lots of healing and comfort vines your way.
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268

Hi Tricia! Aww, poor Cinco and his collar. That must be so confusing, it's a good thing he has a great bean to watch over him :-D . I don't know on the fuds dish suggestion since we've never used one but it is a good question...I'm glad he's slurping up his fuds for you, and drinking, and finding the LB, what a good boy cat_pet_icon . Good thing you had the liquid bupe, I didn't know there was a pill, the vet gave me the liquid syringes for Chyna when she had her dental. I hope Harvey will leave him alone :? .

I laughed at the mama bean opening the slider so Cinco could sniff and him ignoring it, after waking up the neighbors to do so :lol: . I'm glad Sasha is better, even if she is being a princess ;-) . I hope your honey will have a safe trip and get there soon so you can stop worrying! I'm still sending many vines and thoughts your way. Happy Fursday! :-D
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268

Just catching up - sounds like Cinco is on the way to recovery. I hope the results come back clean and clear. Safe travels for your DH. I hate when my DH goes on long road trips. My imagination always gets the best of me. Not such a bad start to the day - hope it's a good one with lots of rest for everyone!
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Thanks for the visits, Liz, Melissa, Rachel and Tara.

I did go btb and actually slept, on and off, almost two hours! I feel sooooo much better. Sasha decided I'd had enough sleep and parked next to my pillow, tapping my face with her paw. Get up Mama! I don't likes the fuds you give me. Git me somethin else! :roll:

I gave Cinco the rest of his breakfast, and he ate it enthusiastically. I used a smaller plate and held it at an angle. I'm thinking something with a base under it would be good - the collar is a little too big for him in depth, because he has a big neck and the smaller size wouldn't fit. I gave him some water, which he also seemed happy to have. Then, he moved his head and the collar upended the bowl! :o :YMSIGH: :roll: Glad it was just water! :lol:

Rachel, the OV put, on the release instructions, in all caps and bolded: DO NOT REMOVE OR ALTER THE RIGID PLASTIC PROTECTIVE E COLLAR!, so I'm guessing the answer to your question is no! :-| BTW, the pain pill isn't Bupe. I forgot to ask about that. They gave me Tramadol. I figured getting something in him was better than nothing. I expect them to call any time now, so I'll ask about that.

I warmed up Sasha's breakfast and sprinkled some Forti Flora on it, and she actually tasted it, but then walked away. I think she's holding out for baby food. It remains to be seen who will crack first (anyone want to start a pool? I'll take 50 cents on the bean).
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Oh good, it's nice to see Cinco sliding down a bit too :-D . Sorry, I misunderstood about the pain meds, I hope you can get some bupe when they call! But I didn't ask the question, Liz did ;-) . Although it's interesting to know the answer...I saw a picture of a cat who put his cone around a raised dish to eat on my day by day LOL cats calendar the other day. I'd post it but I threw it out...how long does he wear it for?

I'm glad you got some zzzz's. I hope that you are feeling refreshed now :-D . Hey Sasha, eat your fuds!

PS I found a picture that looks interesting for cone eating (maybe it wouldn't work for blind kitties?)...and one for laughs ;-)
 

Attachments

  • FQX6710HLZREU8R.MEDIUM.jpg
    FQX6710HLZREU8R.MEDIUM.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 326
  • images.jpg
    images.jpg
    9.8 KB · Views: 325
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Oops, sorry Rachel. Guess I'm not quite as refreshed as I thought I was! :oops:

Loved the pictures - the first one is a hoot! :lol: Harvey hasn't rubbed up against Cinco, but he keeps looking at him like he can't figure out what's going on. The second one is ingenious. Too bad the DH isn't here to build something like that. It looks as though they have the dish tacked down with something, which is a great idea. I've had them flip the contents all over before by hooking it with the collar, like Cinco did with the water this morning. I'm going to put my thinking cap on and see what I can come up with till Mark gets home.

The OV's office just called. She said no Bupe because he's wearing a pain med patch and the Bupe doesn't go well with it! :shock: OOOOps! I hope I didn't hurt him by giving him some this am! He seems fine. It's been almost six hours since I gave it to him and I'd think he'd have already reacted if he was going to. Gulp! She said to try dissolving the tablet in water and syringing it into him if he seemed to need it, but she didn't think he'd need it beyond tonight. :YMSIGH: Trust me to screw it up. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Hi Tricia,
Far from having screwed up, I think you and Cinco are doing a wonderful job. We are sending lots and lots of strong healing vines for his fast recovery. How long does he have to wear the cone?

Hugs and scritches for all. I hope your DH is having a safe trip.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I just saw your question about Rusty's "lung treat". Rusty has chronic congestion and Marje suggested we try Standard Process Allerplex. We mix the contents of 1 capsule into a little Beechnut Stage 1 turkey baby food and serve it as a "treat". He loves it.
https://www.standardprocess.com/Sta...brary/Product-Detail-Sheets/allerplex0975.pdf
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Thanks, Ella. I see. I do have the Allerplex, but only Minka will eat it in her food. I was giving it to Sasha in capsules, but lately she hasn't been eating the pill pockets. I guess I could shoot them down her throat like I do the AB, but the cat sized capsules are so small it takes five to hold a full dose! I don't think she'd put up with that. I'll keep working on it.

Cinco has to wear the collar for two weeks, until the sutures come out. He is very aggravated by it. Just now I heard him banging around, and when I went to check on him, he was trying to get out of the lb. He holds his head so low he was banging the cone on the sides and thought they were walls, so he kept turning and turning, trying to find his way out. I finally lifted his head over the edge and he was able to get out. Poor thing. There is one thing he likes about the collar - it makes it VERY hard for me to poke his ears! :lol:
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

Hang in there Tricia. You're doing great with Cinco. It's good that he's eating and drinking and using the lb. When I've used the collar, I've taken it off for the kitty to eat. Since you can't do that, I'm not sure what to suggest. I'm glad Sasha is feeling better. Sending safe travel prayers for your DH.
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco AMPS 268 +3.5 218

You are one day close to being out of that collar, CIinco!! I'm glad he's already feeling much better. Whoops on the bupe...it sounds like he's fine, and he was probably exceptionally happy for a while there!

Sending continued healing prayers for Cinco!!
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco PMPS 203

Thanks, Amy and Carla. Cinco did much better finding his way back to the living room after his shot and dinner tonight. I guess it helps that he's not drugged up! :lol: Fortunately, there don't seem to be any ill effects from the bupe mistake. He slept all day, but that's not too unusual. I think I have a temporary solution to the eating problem. I put a small saucer on top of a small bowl, and he can get to it, as long as I guide him. See below:
 

Attachments

  • Cinco eating in party hat.jpg
    Cinco eating in party hat.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 289
Re: 3/27 Cinco PMPS 203

Poor Cinco. I'm sending tons of thoughts and prayers for Cinco, Sasha, you...the whole crew! I have lots of them, so if you need some more, just let me know. :YMHUG:

I'm glad you were able to get btb this morning. It's really important to take care of you during all of this, too!

Too funny on the alarm...we accidentally set ours off one day - we didn't see any of the cats for the rest of the day! :lol:

Have a great - and hopefully restful - night!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/27 Cinco PMPS 203 +3 188

Thanks, Shelly. It's certainly not the first time I've set off the alarm, but I hadn't done it in quite some time, and never that early in the morning (because I'm usually safe in my bed at that hour! I-) ). Fortunately, most of the people around us work during the week, so they were probably all up, anyway! The cats didn't react as much as you'd think. They just kind of looked around, like. "what's that?".

Yes, Marje, I'm very happy with his numbers so far, all things considered. It's like he picked up right where he left off the day before surgery. He's a tough little bugger! Unfortunately, no soft collar. The main purpose of it is to protect the incision site from anything hitting or rubbing it, so the collar has to be rigid. Dr. Canton even put that on the form! Guess it's been a question before. The problem comes from his big, thick neck. The next size down would be right for him, except for that. We're managing, though. I just gave him some baby food as a treat, and I put it in a small bowl that I held at an angle for him. He didn't miss a drop! :-D

Oh, and Ella, if you see this, I tried your 'lung treat". I put Allerplex in some beef baby food, and only Cinco and Minka liked it (Cinco only got it because Sasha wouldn't eat hers and I didn't want to waste it - his bowl was just plain.). Minka needs it, so I'm glad she ate it, but Sasha is being a difficult little cat. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top