3/27 Arya: AMPS 277, +2 225, +6 103

KatieBDZ

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

I know I haven't posted in a while, it's been crazy here with everything that's been going on but I've continued to keep up with my spreadsheet. I was hoping someone could take a look and let me know how I'm doing?? Today was Aryas first low number at +6, 103! I have her on 4 units right now and she's still on the same diet for now (Orijen fit and trim dry) because of stomach issues when I try to switch her. Thanks for any help and hope everyone here is doing well and staying healthy ❤️

-Katie
 
Hi Katie, good to hear from you, Hope you are over that flu. :bighug: How is Arya doing? Are you testing for ketones regularly? Here's your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-12-arya-amps-411-2-336-3-5u-increase.226917/

That 103 is awesome news. :cool: I'd get another test in an hour or so , to make sure she's not still going lower. If no lower, it means you'll hang onto the 4 units for another week. You want her nadirs to be between 90 and 149. Any chance you can get some spot check tests before bed in the PM cycle? I wonder if you are missing some lower numbers at night, which is when most cats go lower.

Take care of you two.
 
Hi Katie, good to hear from you, Hope you are over that flu. :bighug: How is Arya doing? Are you testing for ketones regularly? Here's your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-12-arya-amps-411-2-336-3-5u-increase.226917/

That 103 is awesome news. :cool: I'd get another test in an hour or so , to make sure she's not still going lower. If no lower, it means you'll hang onto the 4 units for another week. You want her nadirs to be between 90 and 149. Any chance you can get some spot check tests before bed in the PM cycle? I wonder if you are missing some lower numbers at night, which is when most cats go lower.

Take care of you two.
Thank you I'm feeling much better - actually think I may have had covid19 but totally recovered now. Hope you're doing well and staying healthy! I had to go out to care for my horse so I didn't get another test in but I'll try to get a +2 in tonight and tomorrow I'll be able to get a +8 too. Im happy she seems like she's responding but also nervous for her to get too low too.
 
I haven't been doing ketones test lately since her numbers have been pretty good - should I still be doing that?
 
Hi Katie, good to see you. I was only wondering about you and Arya yesterday. I'm glad you are feeling better.
What are you feeding Arya now?. Have you swapped over to a low carb diet?
Yes I would still be testing for ketones at least a couple of times a week. More often if any at all appear.
 
Hi Katie, good to see you. I was only wondering about you and Arya yesterday. I'm glad you are feeling better.
What are you feeding Arya now?. Have you swapped over to a low carb diet?
Yes I would still be testing for ketones at least a couple of times a week. More often if any at all appear.
Hi thank you!! And ok I will start testing for the ketones again. She is still on Orijen fit and trim - I tried more wet food and she got sick again even with just a tablespoon. I actually just got ziwi peak air dried lamb so I'm going to try to slowly intoduce that and see how she does. It's sad because she's very eager to eat all the new foods she just keeps throwing up after for some reason :(
 
Hi thank you!! And ok I will start testing for the ketones again. She is still on Orijen fit and trim - I tried more wet food and she got sick again even with just a tablespoon. I actually just got ziwi peak air dried lamb so I'm going to try to slowly intoduce that and see how she does. It's sad because she's very eager to eat all the new foods she just keeps throwing up after for some reason :(
Oh poor girl. Have you tried different foods? Maybe try one that has a protein she hadn't eaten before?
I hope she can eat the air dried food.
It's a bit hard getting new foods at the moment with all the restrictions on movements etc.
 
Oh poor girl. Have you tried different foods? Maybe try one that has a protein she hadn't eaten before?
I hope she can eat the air dried food.
It's a bit hard getting new foods at the moment with all the restrictions on movements etc.
Yes I ordered from chewy but it was very delayed because of everyone ordering a lot at once! My local pet store is open you just have to wait at the front of the store and they'll bring you what you need but at least it's open. Hope you're doing well!
 
Yes I ordered from chewy but it was very delayed because of everyone ordering a lot at once! My local pet store is open you just have to wait at the front of the store and they'll bring you what you need but at least it's open. Hope you're doing well!
Thank goodness pet stores are open!
Thanks, we are fine. Self isolating. And ordering our food online?
 
Pet supply stores are considered an essential service here. :) Like Bron though, I am moving more to ordering online.

I am glad Bron cleared up the ketones testing. It's good practice if numbers are higher, especially with a history like Arya's.
 
Back
Top