3/26-Struggling-please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone
sorry I have been so absent, things are just nuts
and Shakes is not doing well and I dont know what to do
my vet is saying we should switch insulins but he has done best , I thought on PZI,
but I dont know anymore
If you can please take a look at his SS
it is now up to date
any input would be greatly appreciated
 
I can't pull the SS up at work, so I am no immediate help with that. But, I am sorry Shakes is not doing well.

Hang in There!
 
Shakes...come on guy! You aren't suppose to be doing this.

I looked at the SS. I can't help with dosing because I have my own problems with that.
You were treating for crystals? What is the current status on that? Do you have follow up visit with the vet?
So if that is the case take into consideration the numbers will be a little high.
You testing for ketones now? You have some really high numbers. So go ahead & start testing.
The 500 PS are a little concerning. It looks like with a dose increase you really didn't get any better numbers. You have a couple of blues, but should see more with a increase.

Maybe once you get the cystitus squared away maybe see about decreasing the insulin. Maybe the dosage is to high. Lu & Grayson said this the other day...a reboot. Maybe Shakes needs a reboot.

How much ProZinc do you have left? Just asking because maybe you want to finish the bottle out &'then think about switching. If there is just a little left then maybe think about switching. Is there any way the bottle could be bad?

Sorry some of this sounds random...just thinking out loud & throwing some ideas out there.

Come on Shakes we are all rooting for you! :RAHCAT
 
Hi Denise,

I'm so sorry Shakes isn't doing well. I know you started with Lantus so the only other insulin would be Lev. I think Barbara & Thumper just switched from Lantus to Lev or is about to. Maybe pm her and get her thoughts on it.

The only other thing is that since your dose is getting up there maybe have him tested for Acro to rule it in or out. They have a whole different protocol to follow if he is.
 
These doses are giving him a decent drop. I don't understand why the preshots keep rising....
How is Shakes acting?
Carl
 
I think the cycstitus has cleared up
He is acting ok during the day, but once he skyrockets up
he acts like he doesnt feel good
I am think of lowering because since the increase his preshots are in the 500's
and I jsut cant do that...
dont know what else to do
 
Denise,
It looks to me that the blues are causing the bounces into the blacks. If you are going to reduce, maybe do something radical like go all the way down to 3.00 for a couple days to see if that gets his attention? Sort of a reversed bam dose?

Carl
 
You know I'm still almost clueless about dosing - I ask y'all! I'm sorry Shakes into doing well, sounds like you've already gotten some things to think about/try - I hope you find the right combination SOON and those PS's come down!!!

:RAHCAT C'mon, SHAKES!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Hiya Denise and Shakes baby!

While I'm no dosing expert...I'm with Carl on this. It sure seems Shakes is bouncing around and has been for about a month. I'd lower the dose.
 
Denise,

I'm so sorry to hear Shakes is doing poorly. You must be so worried. Sid does the same thing with rising up at pre shot time though lately his numbers have improved. I have no idea why they have improved. I wish I did so I could share it with you.
 
Hey Momma:

I too am very sorry to hear Shakes is having problems. We are trying a sliding scale now with Asher to try and stop the bounce. Maybe lowering the dose or a sliding scale would help you guys too.

I think we knew what worked (past tense) for our dudes, but it may be different now.

Sending you all the best Denise. I know it’s stressful for you. Hoping you can get to the bottom of the mystery of these high numbers.

(((((hugs))))) :YMHUG:
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
I think Barbara & Thumper just switched from Lantus to Lev or is about to. Maybe pm her and get her thoughts on it.

I didn't switch since the vet discovered how bad off her hip is. I think a lot of her troubles are due to being in pain most of the time.

I don't have any answers for you either. I think if I were you I would consider switching to Lev if lowering the dose doesn't work. :YMHUG:
 
dmartini4 said:
Hi Everyone
sorry I have been so absent, things are just nuts
and Shakes is not doing well and I dont know what to do
my vet is saying we should switch insulins but he has done best , I thought on PZI,
but I dont know anymore
If you can please take a look at his SS
it is now up to date
any input would be greatly appreciated

I am also sorry you are not having much luck with PZI. It does look like the dose may be a bit too high, but also, it could be not quite lasting long enough to the next shot.
There have been many who have been switching over to Levemir when having problems regulating and I can't recall anyone having worse numbers.
Levemir is a longer lasting insulin and quite gentle; it has also been found to be better for some cats than Lantus - my Shadoe was a good example where she did better on Levemir than she did on Lantus.

If lowering the dose does not seem to work, switching to Lev would be at 50% of the current PZI dose.
Good luck with whatever you decide.
 
I'm so sorry that Shakes is not responding well in his ps's. I know that has to be frustrating. I praying for you both!! Hope you get some ideas and results soon!!!
 
You're getting about a 150 - 200 point drop from his 350-500 preshots. That's close to the 50%, but the pinks & reds seem to be the concern. I've gotten to the point where I've started shooting the number. Not sticking to the 12/12 so much, as trying to prevent the reds from happening in the first place. This might ultimately get us to TID - I'm not sure, but if I can keep Grayson's baseline below, say, 350, then any drop will be lower. The scary thing is that it works differently on different cats.

Although I've thought about reducing and rebooting, the other side of me agrees w/ the vet, and others here who've done well w/ high dose cats. Kim said that when she finally hit 4.5u that something clicked, and Kitty started dropping. Finally. I'm hoping to see that w/ Grayson, but so far we're only dropping about 100 points, then surfing for hours if we don't start climbing right away.

When Grayson was marathoning, everyone said the dose was too high. Now that he's staying at the IHOP, I hear it's not enough. So I'm inclined to think maybe Shakes needs a little more. Maybe you'll see that "click" and he'll find his "curve". That's my hope - but again, my concern is pumping that much into him at once... which is why the TID is appealing. Likewise, while the numbers are high, I would hold the higher dose to minimize risk of ketones. We don't want to be fighting too many battles at once!

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top