You're getting about a 150 - 200 point drop from his 350-500 preshots. That's close to the 50%, but the pinks & reds seem to be the concern. I've gotten to the point where I've started shooting the number. Not sticking to the 12/12 so much, as trying to prevent the reds from happening in the first place. This might ultimately get us to TID - I'm not sure, but if I can keep Grayson's baseline below, say, 350, then any drop will be lower. The scary thing is that it works differently on different cats.
Although I've thought about reducing and rebooting, the other side of me agrees w/ the vet, and others here who've done well w/ high dose cats. Kim said that when she finally hit 4.5u that something clicked, and Kitty started dropping. Finally. I'm hoping to see that w/ Grayson, but so far we're only dropping about 100 points, then surfing for hours if we don't start climbing right away.
When Grayson was marathoning, everyone said the dose was too high. Now that he's staying at the IHOP, I hear it's not enough. So I'm inclined to think maybe Shakes needs a little more. Maybe you'll see that "click" and he'll find his "curve". That's my hope - but again, my concern is pumping that much into him at once... which is why the TID is appealing. Likewise, while the numbers are high, I would hold the higher dose to minimize risk of ketones. We don't want to be fighting too many battles at once!
Lu-Ann