3/26 Shoes AMPS 492 +4.5 533 +6 524 +9.75 472 PMPS 479 +2 588 +4 532

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does it ever stop?
YES! It does stop....I know exactly how you feel:banghead:
When Shoes body starts accepting a normal threshold for BG the bouncing will stop. If she has been in high numbers for some time her body has become used to it and feels it is "normal"-- when she gets to normal numbers her liver is saying "OMG what is happening I must spill out sugar/glycogen!"
The liver will accept normal numbers when it is ready... until then ......
Patience pants:bighug:
This is nothing to do with you and is not your fault.... cats are usually the boss:cat:
 
It does look like a bounce. Most cats eventually stop bouncing once their bodies get used to the lower (normal numbers). Right now Shoes is used to the higher numbers and his body reacts when he gets into normal numbers and sends him back up high. Once he spends more time in the normal numbers the bouncing should settle down. It is a normal part of the process.
 
YES! It does stop....I know exactly how you feel:banghead:
When Shoes body starts accepting a normal threshold for BG the bouncing will stop. If she has been in high numbers for some time her body has become used to it and feels it is "normal"-- when she gets to normal numbers her liver is saying "OMG what is happening I must spill out sugar/glycogen!"
The liver will accept normal numbers when it is ready... until then ......
Patience pants:bighug:
This is nothing to do with you and is not your fault.... cats are usually the boss:cat:

The only thing that makes me feel better is that it seems like the bounces are getting a little bit shorter and finding out from our vet visit Thursday that the Alpha Trak 2 meter is higher than the actual numbers from the Vet's lab. Patience has never been my strong suit but I am trying hard to be patient with this. I am learning.......
 
It does look like a bounce. Most cats eventually stop bouncing once their bodies get used to the lower (normal numbers). Right now Shoes is used to the higher numbers and his body reacts when he gets into normal numbers and sends him back up high. Once he spends more time in the normal numbers the bouncing should settle down. It is a normal part of the process.

With how things have been going, I am afraid that Shoes is going to be one of those that bounces always.
 
Nothing like taking care of a sugar cat to teach a bean some patience. ;):cat::eek:

I think there's nothing more frustrating and exhausting than this constant up and up and down and not knowing why something is happening. I have to keep telling myself to be patient... but it sure is hard sometimes.
 
I hope that this won't be misinterpreted because I know that everyone here has their own issues and things that make taking care of their furbabies tough, but it's especially nerve wracking for me because I do have to work M-F, 7:30 am - 4:30 pm. So far, I have been able to get a +1.75 check before leaving for work, then on my morning break, getting at least a +3 check and on my lunch hour, getting a +6 check. And my coworkers and supervisor have been very patient and understanding with me over this, but I don't know exactly how long they will continue, so not being able to be home all of the day increases the level of worry for me. If I had more than one furbaby, I probably couldn't deal with it.
 
It is hard. When Furball was on insulin, I had to try and learn her patterns and leave extra food out for her if it seemed like she was going to drop because I could not go home and test while I was at work. I work too far away to go home at lunch. You're lucky you can go home and test during the day. Hopefully they will continue to let you.
 
Yes the bouncing will eventually stop. Have a look at Max's oldest ss. He was a king of bouncing and never held reductions. Fast forward to the next and see the change. For him it took feeding to prevent reductions but I had the luxury of being able to test often. Most bouncers stop way sooner than he did.
 
Okay, it's +4 hours after shot and he has only eaten about 1/4 of food. I found in LB some loose stool and mucous. I don't know what to do about this. Would appreciate your suggestions very much!
 
You can add canned pumpkin (not pie filling) or squash baby food to Shoe's food or get a probiotic which will help to firm things up. This may be nothing more than a short-lived GI upset. When you fed higher carb food, was it gravy based? Some cats are very sensitive to gluten and it can cause GI upsets. (Gabby would vomit or get diarrhea from food with gluten.) Many cats are also allergic to fish and beef.

You may want to look over the sticky note on working if you are following TR. I worked full time throughout Gabby's FD. Most of the time, I couldn't come home during the day. Getting that "out the door" test was very important. If you don't have a timed feeder, that may be a good addition to keeping Shoes safe while you're at work.
 
You can add canned pumpkin (not pie filling) or squash baby food to Shoe's food or get a probiotic which will help to firm things up. This may be nothing more than a short-lived GI upset. When you fed higher carb food, was it gravy based? Some cats are very sensitive to gluten and it can cause GI upsets. (Gabby would vomit or get diarrhea from food with gluten.) Many cats are also allergic to fish and beef.

You may want to look over the sticky note on working if you are following TR. I worked full time throughout Gabby's FD. Most of the time, I couldn't come home during the day. Getting that "out the door" test was very important. If you don't have a timed feeder, that may be a good addition to keeping Shoes safe while you're at work.
Thank you. No the higher carb was an 8% carb Friskies Pate. This morning and yesterday's pm food was Beef Wellington by Purrfectly Bistro. He eats other beef food so I don't know if he has an allergy to this one.

Should I try to feed something else, like plain chicken now? How much pumpkin would I add?
 
When I've added pumpkin to Furball's food, I just mixed in a teaspoon in the morning and a teaspoon in the evening until her loose stool cleared up. If he's not interested in eating his normal food right now, you can try some chicken and see if he'll eat it so he'll get something in him.
 
When you change food brands it can cause a little GI upset even up irs the same protein. Other ingredients can cause it. When I add a food I give a very small amount over several days to try and avoid gi issues.
 
When you change food brands it can cause a little GI upset even up irs the same protein. Other ingredients can cause it. When I add a food I give a very small amount over several days to try and avoid gi issues.
I only gave 2 measured teaspoons so am surprised that this little may have caused it.
 
Tested negative for ketones. He's lying in my bed resting. Will try to give him a little baked chicken. I have some Pepcid a/c. should I give him some?

Gave him 1 tablespoon diced baked chicken. He ate up the chicken.
 
Last edited:
Check to see if there's gluten in the new food. I never fed either of the brands you noted. Elise is also on point -- any change in food can be a reason for an upset.

Pepsi would be more if Shoes were nauseated (more stomach) vs bowel. I'd hold off on any medication. Much of the time, a GI upset will clear up in 24 hrs. If it gets worse, call your vet.

I'd also go online and make sure there's not a recall out for the food. I haven't heard of anything but I'm not checking regularly.



 
Sending feel good vines to Shoes. Hugs to you.:bighug::bighug::bighug: It's so hard not to stress out when you have to be at work. Always worrying if they are dropping too low.
 
I'm glad to see that Shoes ate some chicken. I'm having similar problems getting Cinco to eat and I just broke down and gave him some Mirtazapine. I hate to do it, but they have to eat.

Have you tried baby food (the meat flavors with nothing else in them)? That's the one thing that Cinco has been eating consistently during his ordeal. It doesn't have enough nutrients for long term feeding, but it's perfect for getting them through a rough patch.

Sending truck loads of good poo and good appy vines!
 
I'm glad to see that Shoes ate some chicken. I'm having similar problems getting Cinco to eat and I just broke down and gave him some Mirtazapine. I hate to do it, but they have to eat.

Have you tried baby food (the meat flavors with nothing else in them)? That's the one thing that Cinco has been eating consistently during his ordeal. It doesn't have enough nutrients for long term feeding, but it's perfect for getting them through a rough patch.

Sending truck loads of good poo and good appy vines!
Thanks Tricia! I have some baby food that I just bought yesterday in case I needed it. Just forgot about it until you mentioned it! What is Mirtazapine and what is it used for?
Shoes scarfed down the same food last night as fast as I could put his plate down so maybe the 2 teaspoons of the 8% carb Friskies Mixed Grill that I gave him @ +3 to slow his drop last night may have upset his stomach. I just don't have a clue. So will try a different food tonight to see if he will eat. Up until Shoes was diagnosed with diabetes in Sept. 2015 he has never missed a meal for me. I have had him 4.5 years so I am going to hope he just didn't like the food this am. Hope both our fur kids eat better now.
 
Mirtazapine is an appetite stimulant. I prefer Cyproheptadine, as it has fewer side effects, but it also doesn't work for all cats, and Cinco seems to be one of those. :( The side effects of Mirtz are hyperactivity, racing heart and lots of vocalizing. But it usually will get them eating. I don't think Shoes is to that point yet. Other tricks I use (which you may have already tried) include sprinkling Forti Flora on top of the food (some kitties love it, others don't care for it - I have one of each), crushing some freeze-dried treats on the top, warming the food slightly, and adding shredded cheese or Parmesean to the top.

I doubt it was the Friskies that upset Shoes' tummy. Had he had that flavor before?
 
The only thing that makes me feel better is that it seems like the bounces are getting a little bit shorter and finding out from our vet visit Thursday that the Alpha Trak 2 meter is higher than the actual numbers from the Vet's lab. Patience has never been my strong suit but I am trying hard to be patient with this. I am learning.......
Guess what, I still get impatient sometimes. Okay..... a lot. There I said it. ;)
 
Mirtazapine is an appetite stimulant. I prefer Cyproheptadine, as it has fewer side effects, but it also doesn't work for all cats, and Cinco seems to be one of those. :( The side effects of Mirtz are hyperactivity, racing heart and lots of vocalizing. But it usually will get them eating. I don't think Shoes is to that point yet. Other tricks I use (which you may have already tried) include sprinkling Forti Flora on top of the food (some kitties love it, others don't care for it - I have one of each), crushing some freeze-dried treats on the top, warming the food slightly, and adding shredded cheese or Parmesean to the top.

I doubt it was the Friskies that upset Shoes' tummy. Had he had that flavor before?
Have not used that flavor before. I have only given him some Friskies one other time when he started dropping too fast to slow it down. It was a different flavor. I have added tuna juice, clam juice to his food before when he was not eating all at the same time, but have discovered that he's more of a grazer these days. I will keep the name of the appetite stimulant for the future. I don't think he is at that point yet either.
 
At least he has dropped 52 points. He went to his leftover food to eat but I pulled it up because it is 2 hours prior to his PMPS.
 
It will get better Sandi.... I know right now it doesn't seem that way but try to remember that Shoes probably had FD well before was dx and it will take some time. Shoes body has to get used to being in a different/healthy state of being again. You will get there and your doing a awesome job! You are testing more than many people and making sure shoes is safe. I can feel how much you love your little Shoes:cat:

And you don't ever need to apologize for being frustrated and thinking of the "what ifs" we all have done this and still feel that way at times. This is 1 of the things that makes this forum so special:bighug: 1 day at a time:bighug:
 
Sandi

I understand how difficult it is to care for FD kitty and maintain normal life. When Gus was bouncing and had unpredictable big drops we had to make temporary camp in my car and took him with us to keep an eye on him. As crazy as it sounds he really did OK.

Sending vines and prayers.
 
It will get better Sandi.... I know right now it doesn't seem that way but try to remember that Shoes probably had FD well before was dx and it will take some time. Shoes body has to get used to being in a different/healthy state of being again. You will get there and your doing a awesome job! You are testing more than many people and making sure shoes is safe. I can feel how much you love your little Shoes:cat:

And you don't ever need to apologize for being frustrated and thinking of the "what ifs" we all have done this and still feel that way at times. This is 1 of the things that makes this forum so special:bighug: 1 day at a time:bighug:
Thank you so much!
 
Sandi

I understand how difficult it is to care for FD kitty and maintain normal life. When Gus was bouncing and had unpredictable big drops we had to make temporary camp in my car and took him with us to keep an eye on him. As crazy as it sounds he really did OK.

Sending vines and prayers.
Thank you!
 
I think that I can safely go to bed a couple of hours early tonight. I want to thank everyone here for being there and picking me up when I really need it! And I want to say Thank You for caring. Wishing everyone good health and vines and prayers for all in need and safe surfing tonight!
 
Everyone has challenges with an FD kitty - they vary, but we all get that it can be very stressful. I found a timed feeder helped immensely, and at some point after Punkin was gone I learned that Molly had 2 timed feeders with Skooter. If a cat's blood sugar drops, you feed them to bring it up. So if you can train Shoes to eat from your timed feeder, that will give you a little back-up for when you're gone to work. With the Petsafe 5 Compartment feeder, we had 4 covered compartments that could open. With 2 feeders, you could have 8 openings.

We made a judgement call by the amps number on whether or not punkin would need extra intervention that cycle, and we decided from that if we should put high carb in some compartments, and when to set it for. We always fed him at +3 from his feeder so that he was used to eating from it, and we knew that punkin would reliably eat from the feeder when it opened. That's important to get figured out before you just depend on it.

Some people also shoot earlier so they can get a +2 before they leave - which can be helpful in some cats. Shooting early can also help in the pm, because if you have to stay up with low numbers it's nice to have it not be the middle of the night!

You'd be surprised how many people work full-time even with their FD kitties. These kinds of little tricks help make it a little easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top