3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, PMPS=255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
+4=286
+8=255
AMPS=481 ~ 1.0u Lev
Yesterday's Condo

Shadow had "burped a solid" on my throw rug sometime between +8 and AMPS. Ah, the green green grass of home! :lol: That's all it was --green grass... (Notice I am using my new vocabulary? :lol: )
How about those AMPS, huh? :shock: Well, I am going to have to have a talk with my boy....the highest number does NOT win in this game. How could he have misunderstood that simple fact?
I am really so unhappy about this today.
Actually, I am hyperventilating (control self please Pat). What can I do? He seems great in every other respect. He even let me check out his mouth--a little--I mean, he didn't flinch at all. He got tired of that game and began pursing his lips so I couldn't see too much, but the gums by his canine teeth looked good. (are they called 'canine teeth" in kitties? :lol: Eye teeth?) In Shadow's case it's "Fangs"

He had a 44 two days ago so I guess raising the insulin is not what I should do, right? Logically speaking, he has had some lower numbers which were ok. But he has also had higher numbers which is troubling.

If he was consistently high, I would suspect an infection.
He ate his entire breffis. He is not hiding or acting strange. He is grooming nicely.

He came right up to my face this morning when I began moving way before the alarm sounded. He must wait to see if I will get up. Or, maybe like Putty did, he was staring at me from afar, willing me to wake up earlier than the alarm. :lol: He trotted to the testing towel and was acting so purry and sweet until the number beeped. :shock: Holy scissors! The Red Uglies are here again. Dammit.

I have no doubt that he will bring it down but WHY is this happening? Can someone smack me or tell me what to do?

Now, we are off to Donovan's party...ya know what? Shadow should stay there and enjoy himself. I am not good company for him today....oops...he's out the door without even waiting for Raja. Now she is running to catch up to him. :lol:
Hope you all have a nice Friday...the wonderful last day of the week...hope you all have a great day! :razz:
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Oh my goodness Pat. YOu sound like I did yesterday, only funnier. I must say, you have a much better attitude than I do. I had shaved Check's dose a bit, due to a 44, and then screwed it all up with a 'possible' fur shot.
So Shadow thinks he wins the prize for showing a higher number, does he? :lol:
What's up with the weird numbers? Is there a full moon out there? I always thought that was an 'old wives tale', but my DD, who is an RN, said that patients really are affected by a full moon.....and not in a nice way!

Maybe Shadow will dance his numbers down, at Donovan's party. :-D
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Is it possible that Shadow is getting into some secret carb stash in the evenings? All his high numbers in the last few days are happening there...

:lol: about the canines/eye teeth/fangs! My 2.5yo daughter still doesn't have hers, and it always feels weird to call them canines for her as well!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Barb...Shadow IS a Moon kitty...I call him the Moon King. However, the full moon is not until the 30th, this coming Tuesday. (as noted on my SS :lol: I always keep track of the new moon and the full moon on my SS) It's a little early for him to be showing his Reds due to that...I have thought about it myself and realized that we have a few days till it arrives... fll_moon Party maybe?
Yeah, that's the ticket!!!
I will start planning another party...just what we need around here.
Open House again for the Full Moon fll_moon Party at Raja & Shadow's place.....all are welcome to attend!
Please spread the word for all who would like to come...
Well, for the lack of any other reason, I will look to blame the full moon.... :lol:
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Nothing screams out at me on the spreadsheet except you take really good care of Shadow. Come on down Shadow.
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Ouch, ugly AMPS, Shadow! If you want another party, this is not the way to go about it! Hope he comes down nicely, Pat, and gives you better numbers!

Logan is looking forward to the party, especially since he's been feeling so frisky! He's been downright feisty with his testing! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Shad-O, Shad-O!! I'd like to keep you company, but I could only manage 311 this morning! Man, you're way ahead. I ate brown weed (much better than that green grass, IMHO) and deposited a great hairball on Ella's afghan that her Grandma made. She wasn't too happy about that! What do you say that we meet at Donovan's party and wow them all? Hi-rollers are coming to party!

Stu
P.s. I'll be at your place for the Full Moon. Tell Raja!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Oh, Shad-O whatta doing there?? What's with this nasty red this morning? Who's up on that fourth floor that you want to spend time with??? You got a new friend up there???? If so, how bout we talk to said friend and let them know there really is a much better view on the LOWER floors, kay!!
Pat, I took a look-see at Shadow's ss and nothing is jumping out at me either. There are a few things that MIGHT (a big might) be happening here, but they are only guesses....one is that maybe, just maybe Shadow went pretty low last night (don't see any sleep tests after pmps) and he's bouncing OR he got into some unauthorized kitty crack when no one was looking OR a small infection (uti) OR the deposit on the floor could have happened right before AMPS OR it was a bad test strip (did you retest?). But whatever it was/is, I'm really sorry. I know how heart broken/frustrated you are. I know my tummy always dropped to my feet when I saw numbers like this...and especially after seeing those greens, it's like...WTH. I certainly hope that Shadow comes down from there to a much much nicer number...maybe after getting his party on, he'll feel better.
Hope you have a wonderful Friday regardless!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

What's up with this Shadow??? Moonie tried to join you today, but could only manage a 254 :lol: :lol:
Hope this scary number goes away as quickly as it came!! You look so much better in green & Blues!!
Sometimes the yucks make them nervous so we'll give this number the old Heave Ho, by tonite--RIGHT SHADOW??? :evil:
:evil: Have a great Friday!!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Deb & Spot wrote "maybe Shadow went pretty low last night (don't see any sleep tests after pmps) "
Uh...maybe that is because his Mama Bean forgot to update the darn SS...
His night time numbers at +4 and +8 were horrible. And I doubt he could have gotten any greens in between those...
+4=286
+8=355
(his nadir is around +8)

He got much nicer numbers when he was getting 1.25u

Oh well...I have to admit right here and now...I am green with envy. All you guys who are getting such wonderful greens with your kitties and going OTJ and leaving us in the dust....even Raja deserted us back in December. I am HAPPY for YOUS, don't get me wrong. but it still leaves me with the nagging scream "What about US?" :sad: I want to roll on the floor, kicking and screaming and wailing.
Whew.
that feels good. thank you. I fell much better now. :mrgreen: (HA. Even the smiley man is GREEN!)
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Pat I don't know what could be causing such an ugly number (a blip :? ) lets hope it resolves quickly. We have had such nice weather here for the past few days I have been going crazy with gardening. Tonite it's all going to end and the weekend will be colder and rainy :cry: I took Spooky out on the leash for a few minutes and of course he ate some grass (weed @-) ) prmptly came in the house and ran for the carpet and began heaving, he left a nice pile under the coffee table. I guess it upset him because as sson as it shot out of him onto the floor he jumped backwards away from it and made a big arc away from the pile as he left the scene and went to the kitchen to beg for food. Now he's all set to go party.
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Pat, I like Monique's description. "A blip"
Really hoping that's all it is.

Honestly, you have to put Raja and Shadow in a room tgether, lock the door
and have Raja explain to Shadow how the numbers game work.
After all, this is not Vegas!!!

Shadow - mama is planning a full moon party for you and if you want to help decorate
you got to get back into the blues and greens. If not, Raja is going to run the show.

Hope he comes down soon.
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Shadow - your mamabean is pulling out her hair with this number. Shape up buster or she might increase your dose again!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

sometimes there aren't any answers or explanations. sometimes it just is...I tell this to Caryl (Alex) all the time because if you look over there, you will see that she gets crazy numbers too and there is no explanation for it - at least none that we can figure out.

So, in my non-technical speak (no I won't say nah nah poo poo or blip or burp) - let's see what the day brings and if Raja can party himself down to a lower number.

I left Maui having breakfast in bed, think she wanted to get her rest before partying hearty today!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

I want to toss out an idea out in the wind.. see what people think.. maybe it's not a great idea.. and I know I'm not an old pro around here.. so I hesitate saying anything because I don't want to step on any toes.. but I think it busts us all up to see Pat and Shadow struggling given how absolutely amazing this bean is!.. so I'll toss it out there.. maybe it'll spur some conversation that could help them out..

I look at Shadows SS.. and he's been on lev for 6 months..and never really made a whole lot of sense.. my question is.. is it time to try a new insulin?

My type 1 human friend.. his specialist really wanted him on lev.. but it just didn't work for him.. and his doctors have no idea why.. but it was a total gong show.. he switched to Lantus.. and his baseline (he uses fast acting on top of it of course) shaped right up..

Not that I know what insulin might work for Shadow.. maybe he needs a low dose long acting and some fast acting throughout the day.. Pat certainly pays enough attention to him that it could work.. seems like the type of insulin is something that in the grand scheme of things (considering the time Pat takes with Shadow as it is) isn't that big of a deal to rule out..
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

(((Pat+Raja+Shadow)))
It is Furbaby Friday Shadow.. So come on down & play! cat_pet_icon
You know you look good regardless..but in Red? Really? How about you show us just how colorful you can be today & give us some yellows.. Blues & even greens!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

+4=354

Thank you Dawn for your thoughts....Shadow actually started on Vetsulin which was a 6 week disaster...
He has been on Levemir since mid September...5 months or so.

He had the symptoms PU/PD for awhile before we actually got the dx formally. My bad. I think he was diabetic much longer than his sister, Raja. She was never on more than .6u Vetsulin and then Lev...going down to a very small dose and then going OTJ Dec 5th.
Not to sure that changing to Lantus would be the thing to do...(my stash of new Levemir pens notwithstanding...LOL)
He IS only on 1 unit after all. There really isn't room there for a fast-acting insulin along with the Lev at such small doses. But, like yourself, I am not an expert at all in this.
It is interesting that you have that information about the man who didn't do well on Levemir...that is very interesting and I have no such personal knowledge myself like that.

Now, maybe someone who really knows about the two insulins might add their thoughts here. I never even gave that a thought in the past. I suppose I was happy with the action of the Lev and just felt that it is a problem within Shadow himself. His pancreas is really sputtering but it fluctuates a lot. Hmmmmm...
(I chose Levemir after comparing it with Lantus....and must admit that the fact that it did not sting as Lantus is know to do swayed me in the decision. That is important with higher doses...which Shadow is not into at all.)
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate the new topic to mull over.... :razz:
Anyone else have any thoughts about this?
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

I would agree Pat, at a dose of 1U (and I think the highest was just 2U) and the fact that Shadow does get a lot of greens (and sometimes reds too!) there is no need for a fast acting (bolus) insulin. Some cats just take longer and don't follow the rules (they are cats afterall) Spooky was on Levemir for about 6-7 months and had lot's of ups and downs, he really only got steady at the very end. The difference between Lantus and Levemir is neglegable and as well as it is working for him (he is spending a lot of time in "good" numbers dispite the outlyers, I don't see that any other insulin (PZI etc.) would be an advantage for him and IMO is taking a step backwards. If you needed to purchase new insulin in the near future it wouldn't be unthinkable to try Lantus (given the fact there is a recent savings coupon in circulation) but when you don't need a new package it's a waste of money.

Shadow is doing just fine, he is doing much better on the "german plan" which I suggested because Shadow has a hard time maintaining his reductions and likes to bounce a bit cat(2)_steam Some cats just prefer to "take the short bus" to the Falls. This is a marathon not a sprint, and Pat knows (as was with Raja) you can still reach the finish line even when somebody moves 50 meters further. Afterall when your running 10 kilometers who notices? :lol:
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Well, you know I have a diabetic friend who uses Lantus and she watched me get BigMac healthy with Levemir and she asked her doctor about Lev. She wanted to give it a try. She did use it for quite a while but eventually felt Lantus worked better for her.

The two insulins have almost identical actions but work slightly differently in the body (others can explain better, I'm no scientist :-D ) and sometimes one might be a better 'fit'.... who knows why?

Maybe it is something to think about. Pat you work so hard, monitor so well, try everything to help your sweet Shadow from changing feedings, changing syringes, letting him have parties... (oh wait, maybe that shouldn't be included on the 'good' list - too much craziness.)
Yes, it is good to be patient and Pat certainly is... but who knows what can make a tiny difference? These are CATS!

I dunno'. Like Monique mentioned, maybe not experiment until it is time to purchase another cartridge?

Has anyone here gone from Levemir to Lantus? I know some have done the reverse. More opinions would be nice to hear.

Good question Dawn, even if you aren't a morning person!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Hi Pat,
Hugs to Shadow and Raja from Maggie. Yes, Maggie sure is mixed up with her time and alarm, as you mentioned on my condo.
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Aside from the "lantus stings more than lev" issue. My main understanding of the difference between lantus and lev is the manufacturer. I'm sure there are proprietary ingredients in each that the scientists will tell you makes one "better" than the other - they are competitive products, but for the lay person using or deciding which to use - I think it really comes down to cost, ease of supply and what they're vet may know about and write a script for.

I chose Lantus, because my mom said, use it. I didn't know anything a year ago. So, I parroted my mom and the board and well, that's what I used.

Good question and please don't ever feel silly or embarrassed about bringing up an idea. It's how we all learn.

I just wanted to add, that I think there are a few people on the board that switched from one L to the other L because they thought it would work better for the cat, or the cat had a bad reaction to the one (like an allergic reaction).
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Ok I am coming over to your condo to give you a talking to, like you did for me this morning!!!! Hhahah!!!!!!! :-D I am the queen of woe is me, why me? LOL! But......we are all doing such great jobs for our kitties!!!!! Who knows, maybe the moon is coming into effect early or maybe this mean lower numbers are to come??? Anyway, try to stay positive, you have one kitty otj so that is awesome!!!!!! Hugs! Scrabble is confusing the hell out of me this morning, if you saw after I posted my woe is me why did I give a fur shot speech I took a +8 and he was 56? I am like what???? Oh well! These cats keep us on our toes, try to have a better day, I will too, thanks for giving me a talking to this morning, I needed it!!!!!!! Take care!
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Oh well...I have to admit right here and now...I am green with envy. All you guys who are getting such wonderful greens with your kitties and going OTJ and leaving us in the dust....even Raja deserted us back in December. I am HAPPY for YOUS, don't get me wrong. but it still leaves me with the nagging scream "What about US?" :sad: I want to roll on the floor, kicking and screaming and wailing.
Whew.
that feels good. thank you. I fell much better now. :mrgreen: (HA. Even the smiley man is GREEN!)

I heard there was a pity party here. I LOVE a good pity party. I am actually thinking of going into the pity party arranging business. I have been a little MIA, so not entirely up to date with all of Shadow's issues, but did I see quite a bit of upchucking and picky appetite? Any chance of pancreatitis? There, have I cheered you up?

(((Pat)))
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Linda and Bear Man said:
I heard there was a pity party here. I LOVE a good pity party. I am actually thinking of going into the pity party arranging business. I have been a little MIA, so not entirely up to date with all of Shadow's issues, but did I see quite a bit of upchucking and picky appetite? Any chance of pancreatitis? There, have I cheered you up?
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Hillary & Maui said:
but for the lay person using or deciding which to use - I think it really comes down to cost, ease of supply and what they're vet may know about and write a script for.

Yeah that's basically how I ended up on Lantus.. because I have a type 1 buddy on it.. it's easy for me to get single pens instead of having to buy 5 packs.. which is what won me over..

Without that.. I probably would have gone with Lev.. which one is better? I don't know.. there's a lot of human diabetes research (pancreatic replacement, or whatever it's called) in the city I live in.. and the doctors involved (one of them is my buddys specialist).. seem to feel that Lev is better.. but that Lantus is a very close second..

I don't have stock in Lantus or anything... just had been crawling in my brain that with all the variables Pat has played with to rule things out.. this one might be one to consider too (when the timing is better with carts).. my BRAIN thinks that managing with only short acting would be the most telling.. rule out any sensitivities to long acting delivery methods.. but that of course is very difficult, and not so great on the cat or the mom.. that's the only reason I suggested some small (like a token dose) dose and fast acting.. give Shadow some sort of baseline so the handsome fella doesn't starve.. and see if he reacts to insulin straight up, consistently or not.

But it's a matter of the heart as well.. and the brain alone should not make decisions like that! :).
 
Re: 3/26 Shadow AMPS=481, +4=354

Sign me up for the pity party. In fact Linda I will be your business partner. Imagine all the whining and wallowing we could do.

Pat I hear you with the envy. As Jojo once said, "some kitties come in the front door and go right out the back." Putty and I have been hanging around in the foyer for a long time. Don't take me wrong I am very, very happy for all the OTJ and regulated ones. It would be nice to just have regulation right now.

So Shadow how about you come down from those not so nice numbers and show something in a light blue or bright green. :mrgreen:
 
AMPS=....oh I don't even want to write it down...oh golly...sheeeeesh...it was 481
+4=354 ohmygod_smile
+8=318 ohmygod_smile
PMPS=255
smiley24.gif


I'll take it. Sunshiney Yellow...blech...
BUT, it's better than you-know-what!!! grr_red

So kids...The Bean went to Petsmart to check out their food. I bought 3 cans of SophistaCat Surpreme...
I have never served that before so I thought i would try it out.

Tonight's Special on the menu was Supreme Mixed Grill. This delectable dish is made with a mixture of canned mixed grill, lovingly stirred with homemade turkey feline's future raw tartare...and topped with a generous sprinkling of freshly grated freeze-dried chicken flakes. Served with a side of all-you-can-eat organically grown kitty grass, authentically served in a terracotta earthen pot on the floor in the corner.

B*st*ards left no tip as usual. :roll:
But they DID clean their plates. Typical. They sucked me right into it....false sense of security as I hightail it to Petsmart tomorrow to stock up on that brand. They emailed some really great coupons so will take advantage of it since these two did not gag when I served the above. As soon as I get a supply of it, they will probably balk at it. But if they aren't really eating the FF with relish right now, I figured i would switch off to another brand. I am trying to keep down the fat content too....it's quite a feat to figure out which brand to get. Thank goodness for the Janet & Binky Chart, eh??? I finally printed it out and look very official as I go through the aisles. WEIRDO. ohmygod_smile

I don;t want to sound like Negative Nancy...but I will report if there are total loose bowls in the LB tomorrow as a reaction to the new brand. It's always something, eh?? :lol:
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Tonight's Special on the menu was Supreme Mixed Grill. This delectable dish is made with a mixture of canned mixed grill, lovingly stirred with homemade turkey feline's future raw tartare...and topped with a generous sprinkling of freshly grated freeze-dried chicken flakes. Served with a side of all-you-can-eat organically grown kitty grass, authentically served in a terracotta earthen pot on the floor in the corner.

But they DID clean their plates. Typical. They sucked me right into it....false sense of security as I hightail it to Petsmart tomorrow to stock up on that brand.

Dang you make it sound so good that if I hadn't already smelled it before.. *I* would want to eat some... My cats pulled the same bs on me with every sophisticat flavour I tried.. inhaled it like it was the best thing ever once or twice.. now I've got a dozen cans of it sitting in the cupboard that will soon be in the donation bin for the animal shelter.
 
Seriously Dawn? They liked it at first and then they didn't want it anymore? Oh..well, thanks for that.
ECID of course, but i will go easy on it and mix it up with other stuff too so they might be fooled. I guess they all get tired of the same old stuff,no? I haven't heard anyone say they only feed their kitties one thing all the time forever and a day. Maybe there are people who are lucky that way.
I think variety is important in diets....and well, I worry about what really goes into this food. I guess I am a conspiracy nut type of person... :lol: So, the more I think about it, the more I want to very it.
I did try the Feline Future powder stuff which I basically think is the best way ~~raw ~~ but they aren't used to it so I mix it in and they eat it.

When I think back on all the years I put out the dry food and fed them a can in the AM and in the PM...well, I could kick myself...
 
ECID is right.. yours will probably absolutely love it.. IF you hesitate to go pick up more ;). If you go buy a case tomorrow, you know you are screwed :). I think my cats looked at the receipt and turned up their nose..what? it's cheaper then FF? BLEAH! Though I think thats the brand that has a Tuna and Egg something-or-other that's not too bad ingredients wise.. I can sometimes convince them that's a treat.
 
The SophistaCat Supreme is $.48 each and that is the same price as the FF in Walmart...but FF is $.50 in Petsmart...
Here I am, a walking expert on the prices of cat food....ugh...my Life...what has become of me? :lol:
 
Well it was cheaper at the petsmart here to buy the 5.5oz sophisticat by volume compare to the 3oz FF (they don't have the 5.5oz FF where I live that I can find).. but prices are probably different in Canada..

Walmart may have better prices.. but they've really turned those stores into cattle hearding grounds up here.. all the convenience in one place.. if you don't mind standing in line at the checkout for 45+ minutes no matter what time of day you go.. it's like the phone recording "we are currently experiencing higher then normal call volumes".. when I hear that message every time I call, no matter what time.. that business stops getting my money. It can't ALWAYS be higher then normal.. because then that makes the high volume the new normal!!! Blarg..

Breath Dawn.. breath.. it's ok everyone.. I'm ok! :)
 
Just popping in to say hi. I think you could start selling tickets to your condo cause it's so entertaining. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top