3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66,+4.5 59,+5.5 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67114

yesterdays numbers:

AMPS 455.4
+3 367.2
+ 6 370.8
PMPS 455
+4 358.2


Rupert seems BEBT today and happy, CPC. However... his eyes both running a little red this morning. hmmm. lysine as per usual in his brekkie, seems alert and happy. sure hope this high run clears soon.... still can't seem to get any answers re the red runny eyes. Vet didn't even consider FHV. very odd. could just be allergies? he spent most of yesterday outside in the garden. Oh well. Was getting pretty happy there seeing him surf down to some yellow and blue, but now seem to be back to the old Rupie in the red...sigh.

hope he does something with this BG numbers today. this could still be a bounce.. but he used to clear his bounces way faster when we first started this and it's almost like he's getting more and more resistant to the insulin. sigh.

guess we'll see where today goes.

btb for me.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat

Hi guys .. bummer on this morning's number .. And sorry to hear his eyes are bothering him still .. mocha has allergies, but her eyes junk gunk up with clear gunk .. never seen red from her eyes. I'd probably freak to be honest! Anyways, let's see where rupert can take this today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat

thanx! only reason we don't freak is because he's ALWAYS had this red gunk from his eyes, ever since he moved in 7 or so years ago! it's very odd and two vets don't seem to have an answer. This last vet took xrays of his skull/sinus areas to make sure nothing scary in there.. nothing.

he looks good this morning though, went round the house and made all the wall corners, table legs and free standing stuff 'his' (rubbing his chin on them all), demanded some more breakfast (so that is usually a sign his numbers are coming down) and is now back in the 'primo' spot on the couch looking out the window, alert though, which is a lot better than before when he'd be there, but zonked out and sleeping.

hope you have a good day. I'm off down to the barn to feed the horsies, then Rupies +2.5 test and then off to work! ttyl!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat, but +2.5 322heading rt. way.

+2.5 and 322, low pink.. heading right way... and slower than before... hopeful for good number at lunchtime (+6)

off to work now, sigh. weekends never long enough!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat

Pip & Rupert said:
thanx! only reason we don't freak is because he's ALWAYS had this red gunk from his eyes, ever since he moved in 7 or so years ago! it's very odd and two vets don't seem to have an answer. This last vet took xrays of his skull/sinus areas to make sure nothing scary in there.. nothing.

It may be that you need to take Rupert to a specialist (ophthalmologist). When I got my foster cat, the general vet was not sure what was going on with her eyes and tried numerous a/b's and antivirals. She never gave a dx of herpes, let alone mention it. I think she thought it would just 'go away' if we eventually found the right medicine. She thought Tippie was blind in the one eye due to some infection. She was incorrect on all counts. The specialist took one look at her blind eye, and immediately said it was due to trauma (not infection). He was very clear about her having the herpes virus in the other eye.

To me, the most important thing about pushing to see the specialist was not the drainage, but the concern of her being in pain with either eye. Her blind eye was removed, and I was educated on how to best care for the other eye to prevent the herpes virus from causing complications and blindness.

Even if whatever is going on with his eye is not causing high BG's, it is worth getting an answer on this. Eyes are really not something to mess around with. Much better to be safe than sorry.

Would this place be reasonable to inquire with? Im not super familiar with Vancouver...but they say something about offering services on the island.
http://www.westcoastanimaleyes.com/
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat, but +2.5 322 heading rt. way.

he's only just now at 48 hrs from the 124 - it can take another day even for the bounce to clear.

it's always possible the eye problem is allergies. they do affect eyes. does he sneeze as well?

what is BEBT?
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat, but +2.5 322 heading rt. way.

tee hee. BEBT is 'bright eyed and bushy tailed'!

no on the sneezing.

cool re the eye clinic. Really, the eye thing doesn't seem to bother him one iota, it looks icky when it happens, and of course I know it can't be right... and if it wasn't for his BG levels and always looking for reasons I probably wouldn't even worry about it. His vision appears totally normal and he doesn't seem to be in any pain. i wondered if he had tear duct damage from a scrap (he was a bit scratched up when he first moved in and it looked like a claw had torn the very edge/corner of his eye). I've always thought it was as if the tear duct got clogged now and then, or healed too small. obviously something odd going on there. Interesting that the eye clinic comes over to the island.. will contact them soon. I'm trying to find a correlation between the appearance of the eye goop and his numbers... and it's a push to really say the two go together. HAVE noticed that they only weep right after he's eaten (not all the time, but when they DO go, it's after he's eaten.... head down? chewing action?). Vet checked his sinus's, skull cavity etc.etc. when he was in for his dental and could find nothing. He's a medical mystery!

Still can't believe how happy he looks at the moment though. normally i'd be stressing about this return to the red but HE is telling me he feels just fine (and is negative on the ketones test strips every day).. so either a bounce, a NDW or... spring fever?! hoping for a good number today at lunchtime.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 drat, but +2.5 322, +6.5 207

+6.5 and nicely in the yellow, 205. yay, Rupert, bounce clearing hopefully. HOpefully PMPS stays nice. He's had a bit of a snack of tuna but not a huge amount, seems quite happy, gone back outside to check stuff out.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +2.5 322 +6.5 207 yay for yellow

I've heard a bit about the eye clinic in New Westminster. My niece used to work there when she was going to university. I also know a couple of animals that have been there, including one from the local animal shelter. From what I heard, they are knowledgeable and pretty easy to work with. Good luck with Rupert and his eyes.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +2.5 322 +6.5 207 yay for yellow

Congrats on the yellow!

Racci gets red gook in the eyes also and used to get black gook in the nose. It's allergies. She also has asthma. It doesn't bother her at all. When she was a baby I used to have to clean out her tiny little nostrils so she could breathe well but she outgrew her black boogies. :lol: She still gets the gook in her eyes though at least a couple of times a week. I use Genteal eye drops for her like I do for myself. I have dry eye and the vet said she may have a form of it also. Genteal has no preservatives in the eye and is safe. I put it in from behind and the top of her head. She likes it. :razz: It does seem to help for a few days. I just use warm water on a tissue to clean the face and tissue, including the nose now.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5 124 YAY!

well well. Tonight could be interesting. he looked so perky, and hungry (but hasn't had any snacks yet) I did a 11.5+ test (haven't been bothering lately if he was super high at lunchtime, would just do the PMPS and go with it!).. and he threw this very nice 124 at me. I'm gonna test again right at 12+ and see what he gives me... I think this will be the lowest I've shot. I like how slowly he came down to this number today and am hoping it doesn't result in a megabounce again.. fingers crossed. Luckily we are home all night, I"m going to be watching the 2 hour Alcatraz season finale... hopefully I won't be up all night but if it means he surfs some greens I'm okay with that! I may repost for advice if his number is even lower before actual shot time but I think it might just be BOS time....I just feel like we are SO on the verge of getting a handle on this so I don't want to skip or shave unless someone more experienced says I should.....
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129,thoug

Waiting with baited breath! What a nice slide today!
Check back with you later,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129

so you shot the 129? that's great. that's not too low to shoot at all. you know what you're doing. maybe this is a break-through for rupert. wahoo!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129

ok! :o so I gave him his shot! nailbite_smile I know it's not that low a number to shoot, but it's the lowest I think I've done with him, especially at this dose! Hopefully it all works out well and I do manage to get some sleep tonight!!! He's had his dinner now (SurfNTurf) and I"ll be keeping a close eye on him. Have to dash down to the barn to feed the giant beasties, back in 20 mins. this is all quite exciting. It's funny.. you really pray for those lower numbers.. and then when they throw them at you right before their shot you are all like 'seriously?'... gah!!!!!!! I know it's all a good thing and a drastic improvement on just a couple of weeks ago. Stand by for panicky updates I"m sure!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129

no need to panic. he might just bounce and be high by night. or he might flatten out for you. that would be awesome.

whenever you shoot a number that's lower than you're used to, get a +1 and a +2 to see where it's going.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129

Yay for Rupert, what a nice slide down. I found with Vyktor that the longer he took to slide down there the longer he stayed there - you listening Rupert!!!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert AMPS 424 +6.5 207,+11.5, 124, PMPS 129

+1.5 and we have GREEN!! 82. Fed snack of Merrick SurfNTurf - he ate heartily, about 2 tablespoons. Is now preening on the couch. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

hoping that 47 points in 1.5 hours isn't too quick for him...... also hoping he levels out now and cruises!!! I may have to get the tea out and brewing to keep me awake tonight otherwise!!! Glad I did the shot... I think?!!! time will tell!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82

feeding him a little bit (teaspoon) of fancy feat turkey/gravy HC.... he was looking a little vacant/wobbly for a second. He's scarfing it down with one eye on me as if to say 'hey! does she KNOW I"m eating this... cool, better eat fast!" will check again at 2.5.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82

Pip & Rupert said:
feeding him a little bit (teaspoon) of fancy feat turkey/gravy HC.... he was looking a little vacant/wobbly for a second. He's scarfing it down with one eye on me as if to say 'hey! does she KNOW I"m eating this... cool, better eat fast!" will check again at 2.5.

Pip...you do not have to wait to do on the hour testing, especially if he is looking 'vacant/wobbly'.

My cat did not handle lower (but safe) numbers well at all....wobbly, howling, ravenous, and drank water like crazy. Still, it always worried me and I had to make sure she was not too low.

Please keep testing until you get past his nadir, or until you get 3 significant rises which are not HC induced.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82

I agree with Carolyn....if you think the low numbers are affecting him, you should test every 30 minutes.

But make sure you actually do see a change in his behavior because normally 82 is too high of a number to give HC.....but ECID.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82

will do. he's looking just fine.. was about to test him and he's asked to go out for a pee, he'll be back in a second. I"m not concerned, he's moving well, not acting weird at all now. I think it might just have been in 'my' head! He's been awake and lying on the back of the couch so far....and when I pat him now and then to see how he's doing he gives me that cat(2)_steam look as if to say 'SERIOUSLY WOMAN! leave me alone!'. he'll be back in a few....will test him and report back.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82

+3.5 66. He has had some dried chicken treats for his ear test, and is having a snack of his LC Merrick stuff now. Bright eyed, active, happy. Was sitting outside on 'his' cushion on top of the patio table.... we've had the furniture stored downstairs under the deck for the winter and this weekend it was so sunny and bright that Rupert was sitting out on the deck in his corner staring at us furiously! We had to go get his love seat and it's cushion and bring it up for him to sit in the sun! So, overnight the cushion is stored on top of the patio table pulled under the overhang on the deck. It's nice out there this evening so he was taking some 'fresh air' on his cushion. Haven't seen him this happy(other than being grumpy because I made him come in for his ear poke!), interested and active in quite some time. Hadn't realized how much he'd slowed down.

I guess I'm gonna be up for another couple of hours till he reaches his nadir. It's all good :mrgreen: Nice to see some green again after a run of pretty nasty high numbers. hoping he doesn't bounce too high from this one. I think it's been quite a nice slow drop though.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66

Looking great. Boy if you gave him HC it didn't pop him up....maybe just slowed his descent. Are you ok handling low numbers if he keeps coming down? The sticky for handling low numbers is linked in my signature. If he goes below 50, you want to give him LC and try to get him surfing in the 50s....but below 50 also earns a reduction.

Let me know if you'd like me to stay up and keep you company.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66

thank you, you are a sweetie. I've read all the stickies and think I have it figured. Am just about to test him again. I have HC and Karo available if necessary so I think we'll be okay.
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66,+4.5 59

Ok...I'll be up about 15 more minutes so I'll check in before I go to bed. Mlooking great Rupie!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66,+4.5 59

+4.5 and pretty much leveling at 59/60ish. will test at +5.5. from what I can see with his data, he tends to reach nadir right at the +6 mark. Hoping I see a little bit of a rise there... not too much of course, but enough that I can get some sleep!
 
Re: 3/26 Rupert PMPS 129,+1.5 82,+3.5 66,+4.5 59

Great....now surf Rupie surf. Great job, Pip.

I guess I'll head to bed then. Ni ni..and no bouncing!
 
+5.5 and sneaking up to 70. Nice green surf. will take one more test at +6/6.5 hopefully he doesn't bounce too much.. would be nice to see a high green number before heading to bed. At least he's on the rise a bit now. Wondering what AMPS will bring tomorrow!
 
+6, 91. yay. partly sad to see him coming up, but it's still a nice green number for him and it means he's going the right way... so I can go get some sleep!

NIghty night!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top