3/26 RosyPMPS 439/+5 121/+9 43

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMBG 311 Dose reduction?

She is over 300 so shoot through the bounce for this cycle at her old dose of 1.25. Tonight start with her reduced dose.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMBG 311 Dose reduction?

You have a choice. Since Rosy is bouncing, you can shoot your previous dose of 1.25u to help her clear the bounce. Or, you can take the dose reduction and shoot 1.0u and ostensibly, take the reduction at your PMPS.

If you are going to be home and can monitor, it would be fine to shoot the old dose through the bounce.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMBG 311 Dose reduction?

i think you got everyone's attention with the 911. you can take it off now.

you must be so tired. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMBG 311 Dose reduction?

Thankyou Julia, Sienne!

I'll reduce her dose to 1u starting this PM shot. She was on 1.25 for over 18 cycles already, I think I might have missed a few opportunity to down her dose due to the lack of testing figures. So, there you go Rosy!
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMBG 311 Dose reduction?

you are going to give her insulin this morning, though, right? if you want to take the reduction tonight, give her the 1.25 this morning.

i'm just asking because your subject line says AMBG . . .
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311

Tks Julia!

Rosy's AMPS 311 gave canned & 1.25u Will give her the reduction to 1u in the PM shot.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383

AM+4 383 Obviously Rosy is having a bounce from yesterday's green. Hope she doesn't go to the red floor later...

:?: I am poking Rosy's ear by free hand using a 22G needle. Is the needle too thick? Although usually I manage to get blood from the prick, Rosy always scratches her ear as if it's itchy after my poke. Now Im using an antiseptic wash to clean her ear afterwards & apply a bit of aloe vera gel. Anybody had used tea tree oil to address wound? I cannot find the Neosporin in drug store here.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 Antiseptic for ear wound?

the point of the neosporin is not to prevent an infection, or really even to treat the wound. the point is the pain relief formula that numbs the pokey spot.

i wouldn't use an antiseptic on the poked spot. i think that would really sting. if you can't find the neosporin with pain relief, i think i'd let it go entirely. the only other thing i can think of, and i have absolutely no idea if it would be ok or not, but would be the ointments for teething babies.

julie
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383

tortie58 said:
AM+4 383 Obviously Rosy is having a bounce from yesterday's green. Hope she doesn't go to the red floor later...

:?: I am poking Rosy's ear by free hand using a 22G needle. Is the needle too thick? Although usually I manage to get blood from the prick, Rosy always scratches her ear as if it's itchy after my poke. Now Im using an antiseptic wash to clean her ear afterwards & apply a bit of aloe vera gel. Anybody had used tea tree oil to address wound? I cannot find the Neosporin in drug store here.
We can't get Neosporin in Canada either.
I use Polysporin with pain relief. I don't know if you can get that either.
The pharmacist here says they are both the same.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 Antiseptic for ear wound?

I wouldn't use tea tree on an open wound that will hurt big time!!! I think you can use a smaller gauge needle my pokie needles are 28 (the higher the number the smaller the gauge).

ETA: NO TEA TREE OIL FOR ROSY http://www.messybeast.com/teatree.htm
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 PMPS 439 go ahead?

Rosy's PMPS 439 a big bounce from last night. Finally entered the red zone.
Gave her the steamed chicken & the reduced dose of 1u

Rosy has been having the 1.25u for 19 cycles already. In Chinese "nineteen" means "must be enough"!
Hope she'll have a great start with the 1u!


Thanks Serryn for the "poking tips"! I'll try a thinner needle for the poking. So far the aloe vera is good but do I have to apply everytime? I tried to apply when Rosy's ear got the chance to "rest a few hours"
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
tortie58 said:
AM+4 383 Obviously Rosy is having a bounce from yesterday's green. Hope she doesn't go to the red floor later...

:?: I am poking Rosy's ear by free hand using a 22G needle. Is the needle too thick? Although usually I manage to get blood from the prick, Rosy always scratches her ear as if it's itchy after my poke. Now Im using an antiseptic wash to clean her ear afterwards & apply a bit of aloe vera gel. Anybody had used tea tree oil to address wound? I cannot find the Neosporin in drug store here.
We can't get Neosporin in Canada either.
I use Polysporin with pain relief. I don't know if you can get that either.
The pharmacist here says they are both the same.


Tks Noreen, I'll check it out at our pharmacist tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 PMPS 439

Hi guys .. congrats on the dose reduction! I hope that rosy comes down off these higher floors for you though .. Good luck in finding polysporin for rosy ..
 
Re: 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 PMPS 439 go ahead?

tortie58 said:
Rosy has been having the 1.25u for 19 cycles already. In Chinese "nineteen" means "must be enough"!
Hope she'll have a great start with the 1u!

That is hilarious how is her timing for her reduction :lol: :lol:

I haven't had to use anything on Vyktor's ears but I don't think you need to put it on after every poke, in fact I wouldn't put it straight after the poke while the skin is broken. Maybe apply 2 or 3 times per day.

ETA: It is not a disinfectant or anything it is to soothe and heal the skin but discontinue if she or any of your other furbabies are licking it off, there is some debate about whether ingesting is toxic to cats.
 
Re: /+5 3/26 Rosy AMPS 311/+4 383 PMPS 439/+5 121

PM +5 121 What a nice drop from the red to the blue! Gave her canned food.

Hope Rosy has settled from the bounce. Will check at +9
 
Re: /+5 3/26 RosyPMPS 439/+5 121/+9 49 ?

+9 49 I did not expect Rocy's BG to fall to 49 at +9. What a funny cat! Gave her a bit of food as she seems hungry ( when was rosy not hungry? :lol: )

:?: Should I be worried about her falling so quickly? Has she earned another reduction? Will she go into a hypo if I was not there to test her & give her food?
Her AM shot will be due in 3 hrs time, isnt the effect of the last PM shot gone already? :roll: :roll:
 
Re: /+5 3/26 RosyPMPS 439/+5 121/+9 49 ? QUESTIONS

The bounce is clearing. What you're also seeing with Rosy's numbers is the effect of her shed still being a bit too full. While you reduced the dose at your PMPS, the insulin depot hasn't quite caught up with your reduced dose -- it's still a little bit too full. What this means is that you don't want to reduce the dose again. If you were to reduce, the two reductions would be very close together and there's a good chance the second reduction wouldn't hold.

You want to "feed the 40s" so giving Rosy a little bit of LC food was the right thing to do. I'd also get another test to see where her numbers are going.
 
Re: /+5 3/26 RosyPMPS 439/+5 121/+9 49 ? QUESTIONS

your spreadsheet says 43, i think for the same test you are saying is 49 . . . can you double check and get the right number in both spots?

usually when a cat goes below 50 on a cycle that's just had a reduction, we assume that it's just left-over shed action. in other words, it is still action from the 1.25 dose this morning. i think you would hold the 1.0 dose for tomorrow morning as well. if she goes below 50 in the next cycle, let us know. otherwise i would assume you would stay at 1.0 unit for the time being.
 
:lol: :-x My apology! That +9 should be a 43!

Julie, you are good! You must be a school teacher!

Remember when your mind think this & you hand put down something else or another thing come out from your mouth? :lol: I'm getting old! :mrgreen:

Yes, Rosy will stay with that 1u. Her mummy wanted to cheat for reduction... :oops: Patience Helen! Where's your patience?


:?: when a +9 is 43, I gave her a bit of food But not supposed to keep giving food because it might affect the pre shot number, right? Supposed to remove food 2 hrs before shot, correct? Of couse unless it's a hypo?
 
I wouldn't worry if it's past +10. If you have a number in the 40s, you still want to give a small amount (like about a teaspoon) of LC food. If numbers keep going down, then you can use a higher carb food but use LC first.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I wouldn't worry if it's past +10. If you have a number in the 40s, you still want to give a small amount (like about a teaspoon) of LC food. If numbers keep going down, then you can use a higher carb food but use LC first.


Thanks Sienne! You're our angel! I got to keep this info into my poor congested brain! :mrgreen:

helen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top