3/26 Noodle AMPS 169 +3 97 +5.25 44/50...+8 63 +9 127 PMPS 144 +2 258 +5 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
:cool:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-445-2-430-8-5-378-pmps-398-3-25-351.135130

Still being needs prodding, but she's eaten half of her breakfast so far. I wish I could just put down other foods, but with her reaction last time (diarrhea), I'm wary of changing anything without gradually mixing it in her old food and closely monitoring reactions. Great amps though! :cool:

Noodle's taking massage appointments all day. She prefers to be paid in tuna and Orijen treats. Serryn, I believe you have the first appointment. :cat:
 
What gives is that Noodle looks like her pancreas is healing and putting out some insulin too. Causing you to have to skip & reduce shots and to have her STILL need less insulin. Some cats go down the dosing scale in a crazy leap-frog still bouncing and still hitting lows fashion. That looks like it's Noodle's style too. :eek:

While she's making you crazy, it's also awesome at the same time.:D

I'd reduce her dose tonight to 0.75u.:)
 
Only have LC at +5.25 to see what she would eat (she ate some Daves Tuna + Chicken pate). Tested again at +5.5 and YIKES. Gave HC (naturally she loooovvees this). So much for getting to work soon. :banghead: I'm lucky I'm in outside sales (and that I sell wine... sure helps to keep my Bean Hypo Kit stocked).
 
Hmm, this is the first I've tested every 15 min in a low situation and I think Noodle needs a bit more than 15 min to let food work on her system. She also is not a fan of 4 tests in 60 minutes.
 
I found that it really took 30 minutes for the carbs to fully show up in punkin. I stopped ever testing in 15 minutes - the first couple of times I did and I way over-carbed him because of it.
 
I found that it really took 30 minutes for the carbs to fully show up in punkin. I stopped ever testing in 15 minutes - the first couple of times I did and I way over-carbed him because of it.
I think its the case here too. I want to get a +6.25 just to see what she looks like 30 min post Karo since I've never used it before.

+6.25 - 49

I'm clearly not using enough HC here. HC again + Karo.
 
Noodle, was that really necessary? 40's are just as good for getting out the message about your dose. :eek::D

I've used 20 minutes between tests if using karo - thankfully only a few times for the 30's. And as Julie said, 30 minutes after HC food.

Congrats on the reduction. Paws crossed she'll go a little slower down scale this time and hold the reduction.
 
Noodle, was that really necessary? 40's are just as good for getting out the message about your dose. :eek::D

I've used 20 minutes between tests if using karo - thankfully only a few times for the 30's. And as Julie said, 30 minutes after HC food.

Congrats on the reduction. Paws crossed she'll go a little slower down scale this time and hold the reduction.

Question you may be able to answer as a bean to a black and white kitty:
I've noticed the black patches of her fur are quite "rusty," I've read this is a sign of them not getting nutrients. Do you know about how long it would take to correct itself? It's been like this since her bout of diarrhea, but I really don't know if it's gotten any worse recently...
 
Wow, Noodle. Looks like she "might" finally give you a break. Congrats on the reduction. When Max was not holding them and bouncing it was suggested that I feed him to prevent reductions. I started giving him mc (9%) if he got into the 60's too early in the cycle. Just a thought.
 
Wow, Noodle. Looks like she "might" finally give you a break. Congrats on the reduction. When Max was not holding them and bouncing it was suggested that I feed him to prevent reductions. I started giving him mc (9%) if he got into the 60's too early in the cycle. Just a thought.
I've been thinking that myself. I'm going to do some research tonight on foods. I'd like to find a higher carb food that she tolerates.

It seems the Proplan she's been eating (and now rejecting) DOES have fish, so I don't think that's was issue that caused the diarrhea. I'm starting to wonder if its the addition of cranberries or blueberries you find in brands like Wellness, Merrick, and Natures Variety that caused issues before. Looks like I'll be spending a lot of quality time with Dr. Pierson's food charts and ingredient lists. :bookworm:

Then again, I wonder if her appy issues now are nausea or pain related and I'm just not seeing the signs. There are so many factors at play. She needs a dental that 1. I'm scared to do until she's a little more stable and 2. I can't afford until I pay off some more of her CareCredit bills, in the meantime I know she's resorbing teeth and that's serious! I'm definitely overwhelmed right now.
 
Last edited:
I have a tuxie boy that has a rusty look to his black sometimes. He's the picture of health, though - only 2 years old and has the sleekest hair you can imagine. I don't know if the rust means anything or not.

Yes, sometimes feeding to prevent a reduction can really help you get as much insulin as safely possible into a cat, and that can reduce the bouncing. It doesn't hurt to prevent a reduction like that, although if you get to the point where you're really having to work to keep a cat's blood sugar up, then that's a clear signal that the cat's dose needs reducing. Sometimes just being able to give a slightly higher dose for even a few cycles can bring down the highs in the rest of the cycle.

At this point, however, she's holding the dose reductions just fine. Some cats will bounce all the way to OTJ. Getting the entire cycle flattened out isn't always necessary and when she's giving you a test in the 30's, that's telling you the dose is definitely too high. I would take the reduction and see how she does with it.
 
Definitely took the reduction to .75u, especially without much of a bounce starting.

For dinner, I put out new food and old... and she's half a can into the old food she's been refusing... of course! o_O:rolleyes:
 
Bouncy, bouncy. She had a loose stool around +1, so no more Daves with tuna. She seems to be feeling pretty yucky tonight, though. Hiding under my bed, not coming out for treats. :(

I emailed her vet about getting some anti-nausea meds and maybe an appetite stimulant. Seems to me this is a little more than her just being picky about her food and I get so, so worried about her eating enough (like we all do). She's gone from 9oz a day, easily, to 5-6oz/day this week since Monday.
 
Do you have a scale so you can weigh her? You don't want her to lose weight, but as her blood sugar gets under control her appetite should decrease.
 
Do you have a scale so you can weigh her? You don't want her to lose weight, but as her blood sugar gets under control her appetite should decrease.
I have a human scale, but its not accurate enough to get a good reading of her weight. She's also not back at her "normal" weight yet, she was typically 9-10lbs, down to 6lbs at DX, then 8.1lbs at the vet on 3/9. I'll try to see what I get on my scale tonight, but it can vary as much as a pound.

I thought maybe it was just decreased from getting more regulated, but with the hiding tonight and her turning down treats, I'm convinced it's more than that right now. Or she could just be hiding and mad from all the tests today. I don't know! I'm fretting and worried, these low numbers are shaking me when I can't rely on her to eat herself out of it.
 
Question you may be able to answer as a bean to a black and white kitty:
I've noticed the black patches of her fur are quite "rusty," I've read this is a sign of them not getting nutrients. Do you know about how long it would take to correct itself? It's been like this since her bout of diarrhea, but I really don't know if it's gotten any worse recently...
Neko's hair can get rusty, but so does the civie who is also black and white. Neko's is worse on her "pants" or parts that don't get combed as much cause she complains. :oops: Her summer coat is also lighter than her winter coat and she spends a lot of time in the sun. Ask your vet if you are worried. There can be a deficiency in something that produces melamine, but before adding supplements you should talk to the vet.
 
Thanks, I'll talk to her vet about it specifically if it doesn't resolve soon.

The vet did respond to my email really promptly (I love that about her!) and wrote her scripts for cerenia and cypro that I can pick up at the clinic tomorrow. Noodle got cerenia in the ER successfully, so she decided to stick with that. I'm sure there will be dosing instructions, but since nausea is a bit of a guess here, what would a conservative starting dose be? How should I give them together? She responds really well to Cypro, so I almost want to wait until we see if the cerenia kicks in on its own first before I add it in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top