3/26 Niko AMPS 52/70, +2 148 - dosing question

Niko's Mom

Member
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...15-8-95-numbers-question.299439/#post-3256863

Hello! Niko woke us up with a pleasant surprise this morning. One meter gave me a 52, the other gave me a 70 (we have two for times like this....). I opted to skip his dose because he has been trending down all night.

Moving forward, if he rises again for his PMPS, do we reduce to 2.00? If he keeps giving me blue and green PS's, do we still give the 2.00 or make further reductions?

This is exciting stuff, this is the lowest we have caught him EVER!

Also, unrelated, as he has been getting better and more regulated, he has become more chaotic -- keeps stalking me and chasing me (playfully but I fear for my life). Is that normal? lol
 
Prev: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...15-8-95-numbers-question.299439/#post-3256863

Hello! Niko woke us up with a pleasant surprise this morning. One meter gave me a 52, the other gave me a 70 (we have two for times like this....). I opted to skip his dose because he has been trending down all night.

Moving forward, if he rises again for his PMPS, do we reduce to 2.00? If he keeps giving me blue and green PS's, do we still give the 2.00 or make further reductions?

This is exciting stuff, this is the lowest we have caught him EVER!

Also, unrelated, as he has been getting better and more regulated, he has become more chaotic -- keeps stalking me and chasing me (playfully but I fear for my life). Is that normal? lol
@Bandit's Mom
I tagged Bhooma for you as I have seen she has helped you on some of your previous posts
I don't give dosing advice but this is what TR says

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I see that Niko is still newly diagnosed since it's not a year yet


Try putting a ? In front of the date in your title
Tap on the word Thread Tools to the right then tap on Edit Title and add the? then tap save
 
Last edited:
If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 50 when following TR. It can be pretty scarry to shoot lower numbers at first, but you'll find that Lantus gives you flatter cycles when you shoot low. A preshot is not always an indication of how a cycle will play out. You can have a 300+ preshot and drop to the greens and vice versa.

Sorry no-one responded earlier, but the next time you encounter a lower preshot, post here for help. Put something like "Help! Stalling Shot" in your condo title to get more eyes on it.

He hasn't earned a reduction and you would continue with 2.25U.

Also, unrelated, as he has been getting better and more regulated, he has become more chaotic -- keeps stalking me and chasing me (playfully but I fear for my life). Is that normal? lol
He's just enjoying being in lower numbers. It's so good to see that! :smuggrin:
 
If you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 50 when following TR. It can be pretty scarry to shoot lower numbers at first, but you'll find that Lantus gives you flatter cycles when you shoot low. A preshot is not always an indication of how a cycle will play out. You can have a 300+ preshot and drop to the greens and vice versa.

Sorry no-one responded earlier, but the next time you encounter a lower preshot, post here for help. Put something like "Help! Stalling Shot" in your condo title to get more eyes on it.

He hasn't earned a reduction and you would continue with 2.25U.


He's just enjoying being in lower numbers. It's so good to see that! :smuggrin:

perfect, sound advice considering he’s jumping up to a 300 currently :) I panicked thinking he was at hypo level at pre shot and just skipped entirely.. we will dose at 2.25 tonight!
If he does throw another curve ball and has a green PS but we aren’t home to monitor cuz work etc, I am a little worried to give the full 2.25 because I know sometimes he can do a big drop right away. It seems he drops like 100 points by +2 then drops steadily throughout his cycle afterwards.

so if we aren’t around to monitor do we still do 2.25…? That freaks me out lol
 
If he does throw another curve ball and has a green PS but we aren’t home to monitor cuz work etc, I am a little worried to give the full 2.25 because I know sometimes he can do a big drop right away. It seems he drops like 100 points by +2 then drops steadily throughout his cycle afterwards.

so if we aren’t around to monitor do we still do 2.25…? That freaks me out lol
Are you usually at home till +2? What does he do for food when you're at work? Do you have a timed autofeeder that he eats from?
 
Are you usually at home till +2? What does he do for food when you're at work? Do you have a timed autofeeder that he eats from?

yes! Usually I can be around for at least +2 or +3. Most days I am working from home but there are a few days throughout the week I need to be away after +2/3.

he has an automatic wet food feeder that dispenses some pate every 3 ish hours
 
yes! Usually I can be around for at least +2 or +3. Most days I am working from home but there are a few days throughout the week I need to be away after +2/3.

he has an automatic wet food feeder that dispenses some pate every 3 ish hours
That's great! Then whenever you shoot a lower preshot, you can get a test at +2 and see if you need to feed higher carbs then (and also load higher carbs in the autofeeder) to keep his numbers flat. It's a little scary at first, but I can't tell you how many people (including me) have been where you are now and then gotten used to shooting greens without even thinking about it! :-)
 
That's great! Then whenever you shoot a lower preshot, you can get a test at +2 and see if you need to feed higher carbs then (and also load higher carbs in the autofeeder) to keep his numbers flat. It's a little scary at first, but I can't tell you how many people (including me) have been where you are now and then gotten used to shooting greens without even thinking about it! :)

perfect thank you! This helps calm me down lol, I’ve looked at a lot of other kitty sheets to see that it’s okay to shoot larger doses at smaller numbers and be a bit more confident when it comes up for him again!
 
The size of the dose does not matter/affect your shooting decision if it's a good dose for the cat.
Makes sense! I think it’s hard for my brain to equate that “big dose” doesn’t mean “big drop”.

I have a quick question. I’ve been reading all the documents but still a bit confused.

with TR - Niko would only earn a reduction if we get below 50, correct? Is the “goal” for a cat to get regulated on a dose (let’s say 2 units) and then walk them down by .25 unit increments until an OTJ trial? Or how would we go about walking down his dose to see if his pancreas is ready to do more work over time?
 
Back
Top