3/26 Mego PMPS +7 60 +8 70 +11 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

First ~O) ~O) ~O) STAT! Ok, today is going to require a lot of deep breaths, faith and a stiff backbone on my part. It's first day back to work since Mego has been diagnosed and started treatment. I wonder if he knows how much his momma is going to worry about him today? If not, he'll be able to tell when I get home because I'm quite sure there will be a few gray hairs sprouted today as well. nailbite_smile

I'm going to try to draw from the strength of all of you today and please send good wishes for a solo Mego today.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 3/25 +17 94 +23 152

Not bad for a cycle without insulin! Be good Mego, your momma and all of LL are worrying about you today. Sending tons of good wishes your way Katie. I'm sure Mego will be pleased to have some extra cat foodcicles today.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162

Thanks Wendy! Yeah, leaving out catsicles will make me feel better about leaving him alone and Mego will just think he's hit the jackpot! :lol: I'm going to try and test him just before I leave so I can see if any adjustments need to be made.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162

I'm sure Mego will love finding the foodcicles today. It will get easier as you go along. The more data you have the better you will be able to tell what Mego is doing during the day. I have to leave food out for Furball when I go to work. I don't work close enough to come home at lunch and check on her. Sending Mego safe surf vines for today.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162

Good morning, just wanted to wish you a great day. That first time you have to leave to go to work is tough, and we do worry... We've all been there, but it does get easier with every test you get. :smile:

Pretty blue this morning, Mego.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162

We don't get lunch hours, so no coming home checks for us. I leave out a bunch of food. Some here and some there and wherever J.D. hangs out, plus some in his timed feeder. Lots of dishes to wash each day :lol: And if I'm real worried, I can leave out a little MC food, either out for him in one of his bowls or in his timed feeder depending upon the circumstances. It helps me to worry less.

I hope you have a good day and the time goes by quickly for you at work. I know not quick enough :-| .
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162

Good luck today and nice AMPS Mego - surf nicely! Mamabean is so worried so be a good kitteh.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162

Thanks everyone for the good wishes; it means so much to know you're all in our corner. I brought my laptop to work just so I could at least stay connected. I spoke with one of my other managers today and he is letting me take an hour lunch so I can go home to test/check on him. I think it's more for me than Mego. Doing this today will at least let me see mid cycle how he's adjusting to the new dose and make other adjustments as needed.

I hope everyone is having a good day.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162

Thats awesome that they are letting you leave to check on Mego today! Megos numbers look great this morning. Have a good day and try not to worry too much!
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162 + 5.75 152

All right, great news! I just got back from checking on Mego and his +5.75 is 152. I'll take it. I feel much better now that I checked in on him. He had eaten almost all of his catsicles and there was just a little left over. I could tell he had been sleeping when I got home. He had "bed face" where the one side of his face was flat from being pressed on the couch or floor. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Let's hope the rest of the day goes smoothly and we'll see where he is when I get home later this afternoon.

Thanks everyone for your wonderful thoughts - I'm pretty sure the good karma helped a lot!
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162 + 5.75 152

Hi Katie! Glad you got to check in on him and alleviate some of that worry. :lol: on the bed face. Hope you're having a great first day back :-D
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162 + 5.75 152 + 10 96

MOMMY IS HOME! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D I don't know if I've ever been happier to see his little face at the door when I came home.

So, is Mego pulling another late in the day green surf? :mrgreen: I'll guess we'll find out which way he's going at +11. So far, I'm ok with these numbers on my first day away. I wonder how he'll adjust to this reduced dose.

Thanks again everyone for your well wishes today.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS 162 +.75 162 + 5.75 152 +10 96

Glad everything went well with you and Mego on your first day back to work. :mrgreen: I hope Mego keeps surfing for you.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego AMPS +10 96 +11 80 - Another low pre shot comi

I know it's too early to tell, but it looks like we have another lower pre-shot coming. If Mego is even lower at PMPS than he is at +11, according to the shooting low numbers, I should stall again like I did yesterday. I know I'll have to get used to shooting at this BG level and I don't want to keep skipping shots because I'm worried all the time. I guess I just didn't think this is where he'd be after a dose reduction, but then again I've come to expect anything and everything from dear Mr. Mego.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 - Stall or Shoot? Only 2nd low preshot

Well, well, well... looks like someone might be one of those late cycle nadir-ers? I'm not sure if I should stall. In 30 min, we'll be at 11.5 hrs to next shot in morning. I can tell you that I'm nervous to shoot because I've got nothing left in the gas tank after today to stay up and test him. Would it be insane to feed his normal meal with a little HC gravy and bring his numbers up and then shoot the .75 units. I would then have to leave food out for him overnight to snack on. Once again, I don't know what to do here. :shock:
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 - Stall or Shoot? Only 2nd low preshot

It looks like he's surfing and not dropping.
If you want, you can shoot a reduced dose of 0.50 or 0.25 tonight, and see how he is in the morning. I'm afraid, you'll still have to get some tests in this evening cycle. What do you think? If you're going to shoot, I would make a decision and do it so that you don't have to shoot too much earlier than +11.75 tomorrow morning.
I'm just not a stalling kind of person.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 - 2nd low preshot #?

I like your plan Dyana. I just know I don't have the energy today to be up very late with continuous testing. I'm going with a .5 unit and will test +1 & +2 at the least.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 - 2nd low preshot #?

Dyana, if I would give him the .75 unit, I would think I will need to get comfortable eventually giving full dose at a low PMPS if that's what his trend is going to be. Even though I'm scared shitless, I would just have to test, test, test tonight is that right? I mean, I can't let fear stop me from doing this.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63

Ok, Mego has been fed his normal LC food, didn't eat much and shot given about 20 minutes ago. We are now down to 63. Do I just keep testing every 15-20 min? At what point do I give him some HC gravy or drop of Karo?
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63

Please remember what Jill posted last night -- that there may be times when you'll need to skip or give a BCS ("big chicken sh*t" aka reduced dose) in order to keep Mego safe and you sane.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63

Okay. Sometimes food takes about 20 minutes or so to affect the BGs. Did he eat well at dinnertime?
I'm not saying to give him a ton more food, because again, you don't want to fill him up, in case you need him to eat later.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69

Oh, I'm glad he's coming up a bit. Did you give him only LC?
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69

Okay. I would try to get him to eat a bit more, and test again at +1.5.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60

+1.5 60 - so we've gone down again. Do I give more LC food? He has a bit left in the bowl.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60

PMPS - 80 PM LC meal given
+.5 63
+.75 tiny drop of karo given
+1 69 small amount of LC food given
+1.5 60 2 tsp HC gravy given
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60

I think, give him a little bit of HC. About 2 teaspoons. He will probably like that. Let us know if he does and if he eats it. Test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63

Updated:
PMPS - 80 PM LC meal given
+.5 63
+.75 tiny drop of karo given
+1 69 small amount of LC food given
+1.5 60 2 tsp HC gravy given
+2 63

Continue testing in 30 min intervals, more if felt necessary, yes?
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63

Hi Katie! It looks like Mego is making up his own rules. :smile:

I would test each 30 minutes for a little while, at least until you're pretty sure he's surfing and not dropping. He doesn't need to drop low this cycle, especially since you already reduced the dose, so feeding little bits of gravy food along the way won't hurt anything.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63

Tell me about it! He must have learned it from his momma. :lol: I just did a +2.25 and we're up to 77. I think I'm going to wait until +3 to test again. Mego seems to be doing fine and I'm pretty sure he is, once again, in food coma. He's curled up in the recliner just like the old man he is. :lol:

I'll post his updated progress:
Updated:
PMPS - 80 PM LC meal given
+.5 63
+.75 tiny drop of karo given
+1 69 small amount of LC food given
+1.5 60 2 tsp HC gravy given
+2 63
+2.25 77 - now sleeping like a fat n' happy little baby

I think my concern continues to be WHEN to dose a low number. I think I'm starting to feel comfortable about putting the brakes on when he starts dropping but I also want to be careful that I don't carb him up that it covers up a potential dose reduction. I guess this is where the "practice makes perfect" idiom comes in. Anybody know where the fast-forward button is? :lol: But I guess I have to earn my stripes just like everyone else. ;-)
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63 +2.25 77

truthfully, with the way Mego has been responding to the insulin so far, I wouldn't hesitate to skip shots if Mego is lower and you won't be home. Trust me, I would be the first one to yell SHOOOOOOOOOOT!!!! if I think you should (I love yelling that!), but my gut says he'll be fine if you skip a shot every now and then. His numbers barely suffered at all after you skipped last night, so play it safe.

Let's see how tonight's cycle goes, but I'm thinking that you might want to just keep this lower dose instead of going back up to 0.75u tomorrow. I say that because he raced back to lower numbers so easily after a skipped shot and a reduction.

Good that he's snoozing happily. :smile:

eta: and also because our intention was to let Mego run a bit higher than other cats to accommodate your need to shoot early sometimes. Mego seems to have other ideas about running higher, though... LOL!
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63 +2.25 77

Katie

Good shooting tonight! It's still early in the cycle and the HC gravy from +1.5 is going to wear off so I wouldn't get too comfortable about that 77 :-D I wouldn't wait more than an hour to see if he's coming back down.

If you don't feel comfortable because you will not be there to monitor or you have to get rest for work, then skip.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63 +2.25 77

Mego is looking great and you're doing a great job! I love Mego's "bed face" when you came home to test! :lol: :lol: :lol: I love that slightly stoned look in their eyes when you wake them up.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS 80 +.5 63 +1 69 +1.5 60 +2 63 +2.25 77

Updated:

PMPS - 80 PM LC meal given
+.5 63
+.75 tiny drop of karo given
+1 69 small amount of LC food given
+1.5 60 2 tsp HC gravy given
+2 63
+2.25 77 - now sleeping like a fat n' happy little baby
+3 60

Oh Marje, if I had a dollar for every time you were right, I could buy an infinite amount of test strips! :lol:
I'm going to wait and test again in 30 and see where we are. I really debated about shooting and as much as I was tired, I am home and can test - so I might as well get my PhD in data collecting as fast as I can. It's worth it.
 
Re: 3/26 Mego PMPS +3 60 +3.5 68

Updated:

PMPS - 80 PM LC meal given
+.5 63
+.75 tiny drop of karo given
+1 69 small amount of LC food given
+1.5 60 2 tsp HC gravy given
+2 63
+2.25 77 - now sleeping like a fat n' happy little baby
+3 60 1 tsp LC & 1 tsp HC gravy
+3.5 68

I'm going to test until at least +6 (3 hrs beyond last food admin) and I will not give any more food unless I have to. I would like to see if the numbers will continue to go up without food. I will probably leave out some catsicles for him overnight as well in case his numbers aren't coming up to where I'd like to see them. I will also get up early and get a +11 if I can just to see if he will be rising or falling at AMPS tomorrow. I will be interested to see where his AMPS will be tomorrow considering another reduced dose tonight. Sound good?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top