3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 PMPS 83 +3 50 drop experiment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's I Hate Commuting Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 92
+2.75 81
+3.5 117
+6.5 70
+8 <----- start driving
+10 387 <------ stop to test :: cry ::
+11.5 <--- arrival
PMPS 341 <--- :: cry even more ::
+2.6 270 <--- not eating
+6 53 <---- seriously?
+7 48
+8.5 56
+11.5 70
AMPS

Good morning LL. Today's Condo takes a nod from my Chinese food menu: "Thank You Served Two Ways"

Thank you for your travel vines and support
Yesterday was an absolute rollercoaster for both of us. After 18 days at home, entering "Regulation Land" and 12 days of blues/greens, I started our trip with a heavy and very stressed out heart. It was a hard commute - snow, rain, bad viz, stressful windshield wipers for the guy. 2 hours in, Leo was 387 and I just started to cry. I was very bummed all night until bedtime. Then I woke up nadir to a 53/48. :shock: Dafuq? Thankfully I didn't blow off the bounce. He has a tendency to refuse food on arrival and then tank. Today should be interesting since I'm having trouble measuring his new dose anyway. It may be a tad under.

Leo arrived stressed and out of sorts, as usual. Refused 3 types of food - he'd go up and sniff it like he was hungry but couldn't bring himself to eat it. Nausea? I scratched him and rubbed him, and eventually got him to play laser and chase my finger around the back of the chair. We also got to resume the fun game of Got Your Tail under the corner of my bed (I shove my hand under and grab whatever random cat part I can find, rough it up, and yell Got Your Tail when I find his tail). He is much more restrained with his claws - he really understands this one is a game and he's the one who initiates it by looking at me expectantly when I walk into the room, and then zipping part way under the bed with his tail exposed. He played and purred after a while. Peed in the LB but poo'd in the car (he squatted in the front seat and I was able to emergency pull over, grab him and lift him into the box JUST IN TIME. He's lost interest in trying to get to the litterbox himself.

Thank you for your Dosing by Drops wealth of information
I asked about how to dose counting drops and many of you gave your expertise and insight, and answered some questions that had been lingering even after I read many other saved bookmarks on the topic. The biggest misconception for me was that a "drop" is what rolls off the end of a needle. I'd read elsewhere about drop size, roundness, etc., and I was guessing and trying to be consistent with something less than "one drop." But another :?: - is it when the syringe is held horizontally or vertically? It seems it is different. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and my bad eyesight. I'm bookmarking my own condo :-D

Wendy, Rhiannon - I'm sorry I didn't reply last night - I was quite in a funk - thank you for visiting. Back to long days at work for me, with runs home to test at lunch.

Everyone have a great day.
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

(((Lisa and Leo))) glad you arrived safely with those weather conditions. What a nice AMPS this morning. How many drops are you doing now? I hope Leo settles down now that he's home. Sending Leo lots of hugs and scritches for a good day and you, too.
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

Awww.... What a sweetie! Leo was just trying to cheer you up with green numbers.

I'm glad you arrived safely. It sounds like it was a miserable drive.
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

What a trip! But now you are there and all can settle down again. Leo is doing his part!

I had always heard that you should keep the syringe vertical until the drop slides down the needle.

Have a good day (as good as can be expected!),

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

Hi Ann - I have no idea how many drops I am giving! :lol: :lol: :lol: I started at 0.25u with my calipers and squeezed out what is probably at least half a "real" drop, so perhaps he's at 0.20u? Not sure, but I've tried to be consistent the last 3 shots. I will practice tonight but in the mean time I will continue what I'm doing. I know there is slop, especially with the rubber plunger being lopsided in a majority of the syringes. Thanks for the hugs and scritches!

Hi Sienne - Leo is a lover boy. I have exercises for PT and he helped me with them this morning! Have a good day.
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

Lisa, I just read Leo's profile. What a great love story on how you saved your little feral kitty, Leo. ♡♡♡
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 Thank you

Hi Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good morning to you. I am so glad you and Leo arrived safely. What a stressful trip.... I can so relate to the emotional roller coaster. It is never fun. we try so hard with our furkids, and sometimes what happens is so out of our control. We just keep on trying. Scritches to Leo, and hugs for you.

He is off to a good start this morning. I hope he surfs well. :mrgreen: Major good vines on the dosing.

Good luck with your return to TBP, I hope work goes well.
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 Thank you

Poor Leo. He hates riding so much. cat_pet_icon
Poor Lisa. She hates the ride.
drive.gif


Hope Leo feels like eating and surfs....


The syringe should be vertical ... to count drops.... and it helps to twist the plunger... slowly ... you can see the drop form and then fall..
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 Thank you

Hi Ella - Leo is doing is part ... I had to come home twice. Well, I was out with coworkers for lunch so I just stopped home before and after. He would NOT EAT today at 50's so I ended up giving him some Temptations to get back to work. This CANNOT be a habit! Vertical ok ... that makes sense.

Hi CD - thank you. He sure came into our hearts cat_pet_icon What a sweet little guy!

Hi Michelle - Yeah, you understand. So stressful ... and the roller coaster - emotionally, physically and glucose-ly! :lol: Thank you for the hugs and scritches ... I will give them to Leo for his next test. As you can see, he dipped while I was at work ... little fart! He needs to EAT!

Hi Rhiannon - lol poor us! Good graphics ... and so true! Ok, syringe vertical and twist.

So... I did the syringe drop experiment and I get two results. If I go reallllly slowlyyyyy (the first time because I didn't know what to expect) I got a little over 7 drops per unit. Then I did it three more times a little faster (but not blasting, but maybe 4 seconds to get each drop) and got 6 drops each time for 1 unit. So that would be 0.13 units per drop or 0.17 units per drop.

When I use the calipers to measure 0.25u (Leo's old dose) I can squeeze out just barely 2 drops ... so 1 drop is about 0.13u. I'm not sure what to do. I wish there was a way to suck IN drops!
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 +10 74 drop experiment

yup, those drops are tricky!
I got to the point of wondering if I was giving Honey anything as I really had to push the syringe right in to get anything out - wasn't sure if I was doing that with the syringe actually in the cat :-D

Hopefully, he won't be on any drops for long :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 PMPS 83 drop experiment

PMPS 83

After more experimenting, I've concluded that 1 drop is 0.17u. He got a dose reduction yesterday morning, and the closest I can figure, the dose is about 1.3 drops (more than 1, probably less than 1.5 drops). And to measure, I'm starting at 0.5u (.75mm) and then subtracting drops from there. I'll start doing this tomorrow, hoping that a decrease will come along soon so I can go straight to 1 drop to get rid of the 0.3! (Okay, I mostly just wrote all that down for my own reference :-D )

Whew.

HI Denise - I was wondering the same thing! To get that last full drop during my "testing", I'm really cramming the plunger in. It sure would be hard to make sure you got the last little bit in of the cat jerks just a little! But lucky for you, you don't have that problem anymore!!!
 
Re: 3/26 Leo AMPS 71 +4 52 PMPS 83 drop experiment

It's nice to see Leo got right back to his nice greens after your trip yesterday. Good luck with the drop counting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top