3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+4 207/+6-253 increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91790

I have increased Jupiter's dose as FDMB members have recommended. For the PM dose tonight he was given 1.25U - I have his SS up to date.

I am wondering how frequently I should test him with this increased dose??? I am really nervous about this!
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

start with the +2 and see from there. A good size drop from pmps to +2 can indicate an active cycle that needs more monitoring.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

I'm a big fan of a +2 or a +3. With an "ideal" curve, the +2 number should be pretty close to your pre-shot test number. If it's appreciably lower, then you may be looking at a more active than usual cycle. It's for that reason I like a +2.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

His dose was given 7 minutes late. So 2 hours after would be in about 1 hr and 15 mins. I will post his BG as soon as I test. Thanks for the replies!!
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

Don't worry about 7 minutes. When we were new, I would sit and hold Gracie with syringe in hand and Mike would say NOW exactly at her shot time :lol: :lol: Now...as long as I'm within 30 minutes, it's not an issue although I usually shoot within ten minutes either way of her shot time.

If you normally shoot at 7 and you shot at 7:07, just count 9 as his +2. You're good!
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

Since his numbers have been so high do you think I have to worry about his BG going too low?

Since his diet is currently a 50/50 mix of the pate and shreds (we are still trying to get him transitioned to the pate) will HC food help in the event that his Bg would go too low?
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS 330 increased dose & questions

At some point, he's going to hit his fitting dose and his numbers will come down. Will they come down too low? It depends on what you define as "too low". For you, right now, "too low" might be 70 whereas I'd be thinking as 40s as too low.

I'd encourage you to look around at other condos and SSs and get a feel for the numbers other members see.

HC gravy/karo usually do help with lower numbers but some cats don't need that. I only use LC food to steer Gracie and if she gets really low...low 30s, I add a drop of karo just to get her up FAST. The LC will get her up but not as fast as I'd like. Every Cat is Different (ECID) on how they respond to carbs. Some need more to manage numbers but many respond very well to LC.

Try not to worry. Typically someone will be around to help you when you see those first lower numbers. Please be sure you print off "Handling Low Numbers" and "Dealing with Low Preshots" that are linked in my signature block, read them several times, and have them handy.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287 incr. dose-when should I te

When do you usually go to bed (in +time)?

Your +2 is roughly the same as your PMPS. (There's about 20% that's attributable to meter variance.) I'd probably check at +4.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287 incr. dose-when should I te

I normally go to bed whenever I am tired, I am tired now so I will lay down and set an alarm for +4. I wake up a lot during the night regularly and have a hard time sleeping so I dont mind waking up every so often to check his levels. If you can just let me know how often to check during the night tonight, I will wake up, check him and post his BG. If his BG keeps decreasing I will stay on the forum to make sure I know what to do.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287 incr. dose-when should I te

I also leave food out at all times - hes not currently on a feeding schedule. Just figure I may want to add that
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287 incr. dose-when should I te

If Jupiter's +4 is in the mid-200s, you're probably fine to let him be. If you're up, get a +6.

Also, I would not feed him past nadir. There's less insulin available after nadir to offset the effect of food and it may result in higher pre-shot numbers at the next shot time.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287 increased dose

Hi Jamie, I don't think we've visited your condo before. Just wanted to say "hi" and welcome to LL! Best of luck with the dosecrease :)
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

+4 was 207. is this number okay? should I stay awake to keep an eye on him? or should I just test at +6?
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

I'd set an alarm and test at +6. He's plenty safe right now. He may very well get into some blue numbers tonight.

Let me see if anyone is going to be up to check on you. Normally I would be but I work only in Wednesdays and so go to bed a little earlier. I will post here and let you know who will be here to help you. But I'd set an alarm and try to get a couple hours of sleep and then test, post, and let someone advise you, k?
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

ok thanks! i have alarm set for 1 hr 45 mins from now so i can get his +6. will post as soon as I test.

Thanks you very much for your help
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

You're welcome. Someone...maybe me, will be here. I can set my phone alarm and pop on real quick, too.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

I know you're nervous Jamie - I was/am right there with you. The ladies are steering you in the right directions. Jupiter will be safe and just remember to stay calm. I'm rooting for you and Jupe and I hope you have a good night. I can't wait to see Jupiter's numbers tomorrow when I get up. And don't forget, it's ok to look like this :shock: and this nailbite_smile and this :o ... it's how we learn and eventually feel comfortable with what we are doing. You've got my support all the way! :-D
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

Hi Jamie, I'm a late night west coaster who will be up for a little bit yet. I'll be waiting for your +6 post.
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+4 207/+6 253 increased dose

+6 was 253. His food will be left out tonight - we will work on a feeding schedule later. When should I test him next? Thanks everyone!!
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

Dane will be waking up for work in 4 hours - is it okay to wait til then to test again?
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

Hi Jamie, looks like his nadir has come and gone for the night. If you want, you could get a +11 so you know what direction he is going for AMPS, but he's high enough you're probably OK to call it a night.

Good luck with the new dose and have a great sleep. Ni ni!
 
Re: 3/26 Jupiter PMPS-330/+2-287/+4 207 increased dose

Thanks so much Wendy!! Thank you to everyone who has helped me tonight!! I appreciate you all being here for me so so much!! Goodnight - be back in a few hours!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top