3/26 Jack AMPS 130; Need Dose Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Jack

Member Since 2012
Good morning. Jack's BG was "Hi" all day yesterday. I suspect he was rebounding from Saturday - I had to be gone Sat. afternoon so I don't have numbers but that seems to be the only thing that would explain him jumping up to the high 400s Sat night and then into "Hi" all day yesterday. He started a new diet (homemade) last Wed. and I suspect I didn't decrease his dose enough. Yesterday I gave him 1 unit in the AM and PM to help him through the rebound. This morning when he was down to an AMPS of 130 I was worried about sending him on another roller coaster so instead of dropping him to .5, I dropped him to a fat .25. His BG at +2 was 220 and at +3 203. I'll keep testing him through the day. Should I hold him at .25 for the 5-7 days or try .5 if his PMPS is on the high side?
Thanks,
Lisa
 
There are a couple of explanations for Jack's numbers. First, while pre-shot numbers are given consideration for safety reasons, dosing is based on the nadir. Because Lantus is a long-acting insulin, each dose needs time to settle. Every time you change a dose, especially if you have changes that are close together, it can cause wonky numbers. Further, shooting early or late functions as a dose change. Shooting early is like a dose increase; shooting late is like a reduction. In effect, you've changed doses and/or skipped a shot 9 times out of the last 13 possible shots. It's not surprising that Jack's numbers are looking very different than when you were sticking more closely to the protocol.

You're right in that Jack is bouncing from the 38 on 3/23. However, I don't know that I would have increased his dose yesterday. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. I'm also not clear why you dropped his dose even more this morning. You've shot lower numbers with more insulin. With Lantus, you want to hold your dose until the bounce clears (and if a dose reduction is warranted, it's fine to take the reduction). I'm not sure where you may have come across information suggesting that you reduce the insulin dose to compensate for a bounce. At least with Lantus, all that strategy will do is result in really bad numbers.

At this point, if this were my cat, I would hold his dose at 0.75u.
 
Hi guys .. Forgive me if I'm wrong, but I don't think I've been in Jack's condo before, so welcome from us! No dosing advice from me, but I hope jack surfs the day away for you .. this amps is really nice! Have a great day!
 
Hi Lisa

I haven't been on Jack's condo yet either but I agree with Sienne. You could have shot through the bounce once on the night of the 23rd and then taken the reduction and waited for the bounce
to clear. Hopping his dose up and down can add to confusion.....it's best to be consistent.

One thing that would help us with your SS is if you always put the number you shot in the AMPS/PMPS column even if you stalled. So, if at +12, you got a number too low to shoot you would put that in the +11 column and then keep adding them in that column until you could shoot. So the +11 column on 3/19 would have been "51 @ 12, 62 @ 14 and then in the PMPS column you put "81 @ 15". Then we know you stalled and shot at +15.

Hoping the bounce clears soon :-D

Could you please do a profile for Jack for us? We like all kitties to have them....it helps us when we are giving you suggestions so we know if there are any special issues Jack has that we need
to be aware of. Because we have so many kitties in LL, sometimes we need a refresher until we get to know the kitty/bean a little bit better and the profile is a quick way to do it. If you have
any problems doing it, please PM me and I can help you. It looks like a lot of steps but it's pretty easy.

Creating a Profile

Thanks and have a great day!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
One thing that would help us with your SS is if you always put the number you shot in the AMPS/PMPS column even if you stalled. So, if at +12, you got a number too low to shoot you would put that in the +11 column and then keep adding them in that column until you could shoot. So the +11 column on 3/19 would have been "51 @ 12, 62 @ 14 and then in the PMPS column you put "81 @ 15". Then we know you stalled and shot at +15.

Thanks. I asked and received a different answer re: how to record stalled shots - I'll go in and modify his chart. I just created a profile for Jack. I appreciate your response. And, thank you for doing it in an encouraging and thoughtful way that didn't imply I was an idiot or a bad cat mom.
 
Lisa

Thank you so much for doing the profile...nice job!

You're welcome on the SS. You are absolutely NOT an idiot or bad mom and I hope no one else implied that! While the SS is somewhat stylistic, stacking the numbers like that gives us a lot of info in one place about how long you stalled and the numbers you got. Thanks so much for helping us out. :-D
 
i'm just stopping by to say hi to you and jack, lisa!

he's doing great - and what a super number to start the day with!

there's no stupid questions here - no worries! ask away and we'll do our best to answer! i'm chuckling at the Jack & Jill sibling names - that's very cute.

on his profile it says he was diagnosed in 2003. is that right or a typo?
 
julie & punkin said:
i'm just stopping by to say hi to you and jack, lisa!

he's doing great - and what a super number to start the day with!

there's no stupid questions here - no worries! ask away and we'll do our best to answer! i'm chuckling at the Jack & Jill sibling names - that's very cute.

on his profile it says he was diagnosed in 2003. is that right or a typo?
Thanks for the hello! Jack was diagnosed in 2003 so we've been dealing with diabetes for a long time. I've just started the tight regulation protocol, though. Despite the seemingly thousands of times I've googled feline diabetes, I didn't find out about it until a few weeks ago. Jack has taken a turn for the worse - trouble getting regulated, losing weight, kidney issues, etc so out of desperation I googled again and here I am. I've had an Alpha Trak for awhile but had trouble getting a big enough sample consistently (and w/o completely irritating Jack) so I used it mostly when he didn't seem to be feeling well. I've switched to the Relion and it's much easier so now I'm monitoring multiple times a day. I've even tested Jill a few times to see what a non-diabetic cat's BG is. She is not as patient as Jack. :smile:
 
julie & punkin said:
i'm just stopping by to say hi to you and jack, lisa!

he's doing great - and what a super number to start the day with!

there's no stupid questions here - no worries! ask away and we'll do our best to answer! i'm chuckling at the Jack & Jill sibling names - that's very cute.

on his profile it says he was diagnosed in 2003. is that right or a typo?
Thanks for the hello! Jack was diagnosed in 2003 so we've been dealing with diabetes for a long time. I've just started the tight regulation protocol, though. Despite the seemingly thousands of times I've googled feline diabetes, I didn't find out about it until a few weeks ago. Jack has taken a turn for the worse - trouble getting regulated, losing weight, kidney issues, etc so out of desperation I googled again and here I am. I've had an Alpha Trak for awhile but had trouble getting a big enough sample consistently (and w/o completely irritating Jack) so I used it mostly when he didn't seem to be feeling well. I've switched to the Relion and it's much easier so now I'm monitoring multiple times a day. I've even tested Jill a few times to see what a non-diabetic cat's BG is. She is not as patient as Jack. :smile:
 
if he lost regulation, have you had him checked over to see if he's got any other health things going on? you mentioned kidney issues & losing weight.

has he had a dental recently or ever? we often see cats losing regulation or if they were diet-controlled, needing insulin again if they have an infection, including any dental problems. if there is gingivitis or bad teeth, it can be very hard to get their BG controlled.

it's a great site. i know i felt a lot of relief when i found it. people here know so much about feline diabetes and someone has experience with just about every health concern a cat can have. it's pretty amazing. i've had so much help for my cat here - and i no longer wake up every morning and wonder if he's still alive.

glad you found it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top