3/26 Ivy Amps 200, +1.75 135, +3 53, +6 48, +9 281, Pmps 400, +3 144, +4 92, +5 68 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
3/25/24
Amps 199
Good morning,
Yesterday Ivy had a bit of an active morning with bg in the 80s on the handheld Contour meter. Then she spiked up later in am cycle and a pretty flat night.

As for my research on options for treating the hyperthyroidism that’s pretty tricky. I did call two local facilities who do the I131 procedure. University of Pennsylvania said they wouldn’t treat her due to her diabetes and fractious nature. They don’t want to be having to give insulin and trying to intervene (feeding) if she’s not eating.
The second clinic is where I use an internal medicine specialist, at Blue Pearl in Levittown. They are checking what my options are, but it’s not looking great.

I have a call into Hypurrcat in New York City and I’m waiting for a callback from them.

From what I understand cats with CKD can also be a problem as the treatment can be very hard on kidneys and we’re not quite sure what her actual stage is at the moment, as It’s clearly being masked by the hyperthyroid values.

I’m looking into treating her with transdermal methimazole and have been advised to go with as low as possible possibly, .625 mg applied to the ear.
I haven’t even discussed yet with my primary vet, I’m waiting for a call hopefully today from her to see if we can come up with a strategy.
Very stressful situation. Still not sleeping well since I can’t turn my brain off while trying to sleep.
Wishing you all a boring and safe day for all :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Thanks for sharing the update. I'm sure it's overwhelming right now with all kinds of information coming from all over the places.
You are doing your very best and I admire your dedication and care for sweet Ivy.
I have no doubt that you will find an option that will give the best QOL for your sweet girl.
But please please please, you will need to sleep. If you go down, it'll be tougher for everyone, so please take good care of your self.
Things will fall into right places. They will, Staci - you will make that happen.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Thanks for sharing the update. I'm sure it's overwhelming right now with all kinds of information coming from all over the places.
You are doing your very best and I admire your dedication and care for sweet Ivy.
I have no doubt that you will find an option that will give the best QOL for your sweet girl.
But please please please, you will need to sleep. If you go down, it'll be tougher for everyone, so please take good care of your self.
Things will fall into right places. They will, Staci - you will make that happen.
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Morning, Kit. I know I need sleep but just can’t manage to stay asleep for very long. Not ideal. I even took some Rescue Remedy (sleep melts) at bedtime last night. That usually helps me when I can’t sleep on occasion.
But I still woke up. I’m trying,.. and I know you’re right. I’m her only caregiver so I’m essential to her. It’s so hard.
Hoping things will fall into place soon and maybe then I will feel a little more hopeful and calmer.
This really sucks.
I hope you are all doing well. And I really appreciate your support. Sending love and hugs back :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci. I’m sorry you didn’t get more definitive information yesterday. I am very familiar with Blue Pearl as we used them for our little one that had cancer. I cannot say enough good things about the folks in the oncology dept there. They treated Mo like she was their own baby. I hope you can find this level of care available for your Ivy!
Sending prayers and positive vibes your way. Please take care of yourself and try to get some sleep, Ivy needs you at your best now. I know it’s overwhelming right now but hopefully it will fall into place soon.
 
Thanks for the update, Staci. I'm looking forward to hearing what your vet has in mind and also feedback from Hypurrcat.

Thinking of you, sending positive energy!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I wonder if you suggested to them that they just give her a smaller dose but only once a day in the morning if they would go for it? Even if you just gave her 3u, she could get by on that once a day if it’s just for a few days.
 
3/25/24
Amps 199
Good morning,
Yesterday Ivy had a bit of an active morning with bg in the 80s on the handheld Contour meter. Then she spiked up later in am cycle and a pretty flat night.

As for my research on options for treating the hyperthyroidism that’s pretty tricky. I did call two local facilities who do the I131 procedure. University of Pennsylvania said they wouldn’t treat her due to her diabetes and fractious nature. They don’t want to be having to give insulin and trying to intervene (feeding) if she’s not eating.
The second clinic is where I use an internal medicine specialist, at Blue Pearl in Levittown. They are checking what my options are, but it’s not looking great.

I have a call into Hypurrcat in New York City and I’m waiting for a callback from them.

From what I understand cats with CKD can also be a problem as the treatment can be very hard on kidneys and we’re not quite sure what her actual stage is at the moment, as It’s clearly being masked by the hyperthyroid values.

I’m looking into treating her with transdermal methimazole and have been advised to go with as low as possible possibly, .625 mg applied to the ear.
I haven’t even discussed yet with my primary vet, I’m waiting for a call hopefully today from her to see if we can come up with a strategy.
Very stressful situation. Still not sleeping well since I can’t turn my brain off while trying to sleep.
Wishing you all a boring and safe day for all :bighug::bighug::bighug:
A note on the Hypurrcat in NYC- please stress to Dr Peterson that you do NOT want Ivy on any levothyroxin after her procedure. I had a bad experience with him and the first cat I treated with the I-131, turns out he was doing a 'study' on I-131 and levothyroxin and I was not told, poor cat took supplements she did NOT need for months! Long story, but you can PM me if you want. I'll send you a PM with the name of the radiologist I use, and the vet clinic I have found to be the best in the area. Please do take time for yourself, this is very overwhelming and Ivy is such a special case. Sending many HUGS and much love....:bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Thank you for all the updates so far. I know it's not the answers you want or need but I truly believe it will work out in the end. You're such a beautiful human and wonderful mama to Ivy. She's very lucky to have you. That being said I will repeat what other members are already saying. You have to take care of yourself too because Ivy does need you. And to take care of her, you need to take care of yourself first ❤️. I know it's easier said than done and aside from sleep medication you can also try sleep apps, meditation or even yoga before bed to switch off your mind and relax.
Once again me and my boys are sending PAWsitive vibes, thoughts and purrrrayers.

upload_2024-3-26_10-52-59.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-26_10-52-59.png
    upload_2024-3-26_10-52-59.png
    209.3 KB · Views: 245
I wonder if you suggested to them that they just give her a smaller dose but only once a day in the morning if they would go for it? Even if you just gave her 3u, she could get by on that once a day if it’s just for a few days.
Good idea, looks like that's what Sue (and Luci) did, once a day from what I can tell. But they would need to handle her for injection and not sure anyone but me can do that...although they managed when she was in hospital last year for broken leg (and reported she wasn't eating great)...

But the eating is a big issue (and the 3 mini meals I give in first 3 hours after shot...can't imagine they would do that to keep her from diving).
....so much to consider...but still searching. Waiting to hear from Hypurrcat...will call the place Christine used, not far from me either.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci. I’m sorry you didn’t get more definitive information yesterday. I am very familiar with Blue Pearl as we used them for our little one that had cancer. I cannot say enough good things about the folks in the oncology dept there. They treated Mo like she was their own baby. I hope you can find this level of care available for your Ivy!
Sending prayers and positive vibes your way. Please take care of yourself and try to get some sleep, Ivy needs you at your best now. I know it’s overwhelming right now but hopefully it will fall into place soon.
HI Deb, I'm so glad you had great care for your Mo. It's so important. I really appreciate your caring wishes. I hope you and Tiger are doing well!:bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for the update, Staci. I'm looking forward to hearing what your vet has in mind and also feedback from Hypurrcat.

Thinking of you, sending positive energy!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Jason! I really appreciate the good wishes and energy, we need it! I am still waiting to hear from my vet and I got an email from Hypurrcat about a consultation...wanted a call to discuss with them, but not sure if they will even call me back. Guess they are so busy they don't "need" my business.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
A note on the Hypurrcat in NYC- please stress to Dr Peterson that you do NOT want Ivy on any levothyroxin after her procedure. I had a bad experience with him and the first cat I treated with the I-131, turns out he was doing a 'study' on I-131 and levothyroxin and I was not told, poor cat took supplements she did NOT need for months! Long story, but you can PM me if you want. I'll send you a PM with the name of the radiologist I use, and the vet clinic I have found to be the best in the area. Please do take time for yourself, this is very overwhelming and Ivy is such a special case. Sending many HUGS and much love....:bighug:
Thanks for that information, Christine. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. That must have been awful to find out you weren't told about the study you were apparently put into (or signed forms for but weren't really made aware in all of the being overwhelmed). Sucks.
Thanks for the info you sent me. I already called them to inquire.
Much love back to you and the gang :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Thank you for all the updates so far. I know it's not the answers you want or need but I truly believe it will work out in the end. You're such a beautiful human and wonderful mama to Ivy. She's very lucky to have you. That being said I will repeat what other members are already saying. You have to take care of yourself too because Ivy does need you. And to take care of her, you need to take care of yourself first ❤️. I know it's easier said than done and aside from sleep medication you can also try sleep apps, meditation or even yoga before bed to switch off your mind and relax.
Once again me and my boys are sending PAWsitive vibes, thoughts and purrrrayers.

View attachment 69645
Hi Karolina, love the kitty and flowers! So beautiful!!
I really appreciate the pawsitive vibes and purrrayers...we need all of them!! I'm trying....this is sooo hard and stressful. One day at a time. Just wish I could get some answers and a plan from my vet so I could at least get her medicated (which I hate the thought of doing anyway)...
I hope you are all doing well, love and hugs to Peanut and Nestle boy:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm sorry you're having to deal with all that.:( When we had a hyperthyroid kitty, her kidney disease was too advanced to do the radiation therapy so we just did transdermal methamizole. It worked and was easy to do.
I was actually hyperthyroid myself and had methamizole for awhile before I had surgery to remove the benign nodule. As I had previously had radiation for cancer, it was recommended not to do radioactive iodine. The methamizole never caused me any issues and it never seemed to bother my kitty either.
I hope you get good answers soon. Purrayers for you and Ivy.
 
I'm sorry you're having to deal with all that.:( When we had a hyperthyroid kitty, her kidney disease was too advanced to do the radiation therapy so we just did transdermal methamizole. It worked and was easy to do.
I was actually hyperthyroid myself and had methamizole for awhile before I had surgery to remove the benign nodule. As I had previously had radiation for cancer, it was recommended not to do radioactive iodine. The methamizole never caused me any issues and it never seemed to bother my kitty either.
I hope you get good answers soon. Purrayers for you and Ivy.
Thank you so much. I really appreciate your insight and experience! :bighug::bighug:
 
PmPS is 400 pm Libre. Why the heck are all her pmps red for that last 5 days??? I know she’s going under 100 in the am cycle on that Contour when tested on all of those 5 days. Is it just a bounce each day? :arghh::banghead:
 
A note on the Hypurrcat in NYC- please stress to Dr Peterson that you do NOT want Ivy on any levothyroxin after her procedure. I had a bad experience with him and the first cat I treated with the I-131, turns out he was doing a 'study' on I-131 and levothyroxin and I was not told, poor cat took supplements she did NOT need for months! Long story, but you can PM me if you want. I'll send you a PM with the name of the radiologist I use, and the vet clinic I have found to be the best in the area. Please do take time for yourself, this is very overwhelming and Ivy is such a special case. Sending many HUGS and much love....:bighug:
I’ve had two cats who had I131 and levothyroxine saved their lives as they both became hypothyroid. One of them, it took a couple months to know for certain; the other one was so severely hypoT that we started levothyroxine immediately and then added liothyronine (T3). Neither cat ever had any issue with it. It would surprise me that Dr. Peterson would put a cat on levothyroxine that was not hypoT; I also know that he is very cautious about doing it immediately as many cats may appear to be hypoT immediately after the procedure but become euthyroid on their own within a couple months. The other thing that is vital to consider is if a cat has CKD and it is allowed to be hypoT for any time period, it can cause the kidneys to worsen.

My point here is not to paint every situation the same. It’s not really clear what Dr. P did for your kitty and why without knowing what your cat’s thyroid values were post I131 and how long they were like that.
 
I’ve had two cats who had I131 and levothyroxine saved their lives as they both became hypothyroid. One of them, it took a couple months to know for certain; the other one was so severely hypoT that we started levothyroxine immediately and then added liothyronine (T3). Neither cat ever had any issue with it. It would surprise me that Dr. Peterson would put a cat on levothyroxine that was not hypoT; I also know that he is very cautious about doing it immediately as many cats may appear to be hypoT immediately after the procedure but become euthyroid on their own within a couple months. The other thing that is vital to consider is if a cat has CKD and it is allowed to be hypoT for any time period, it can cause the kidneys to worsen.

My point here is not to paint every situation the same. It’s not really clear what Dr. P did for your kitty and why without knowing what your cat’s thyroid values were post I131 and how long they were like that.
Absolutely every cat and situation needs to be individually evaluated. Tig's numbers were low post I-131 but there was no waiting period to see if they would come back on their own, which is the typical protocol I found out later. She was given the levothyroxin immediately. It's my understanding from several vets that hyperT often times masks the severity of the CKD, so medical history is important. @Marje and Gracie I'm glad you had such a vastly different experience with your cats, and that both were ok after treatment. The levothyroxine never bothered Tigeress, it just seemed unnecessary and questionable timing for the 'study' for her particular situation. @Staci & Ivy needs to evaluate Ivy's specific situation, and will undoubtedly make the best decision for her. HUGS to all the kitties! :bighug::bighug:
 
Absolutely every cat and situation needs to be individually evaluated. Tig's numbers were low post I-131 but there was no waiting period to see if they would come back on their own, which is the typical protocol I found out later. She was given the levothyroxin immediately. It's my understanding from several vets that hyperT often times masks the severity of the CKD, so medical history is important. @Marje and Gracie I'm glad you had such a vastly different experience with your cats, and that both were ok after treatment. The levothyroxine never bothered Tigeress, it just seemed unnecessary and questionable timing for the 'study' for her particular situation. @Staci & Ivy needs to evaluate Ivy's specific situation, and will undoubtedly make the best decision for her. HUGS to all the kitties! :bighug::bighug:
The pre and post protocols for I131 have changed alot over the years.

My first hyperT cat, the thinking was that the I131 was damaging the kitties and so all hyperT kitties had to be on a trial of methimazole and be euthyroid for at least three months so the vets could see if the kitty had CKD that was masked by the hyperT. If the kitty’s kidney values were normal, then they proceeded with the I131 and monitored the thyroid and the kidneys post treatment. Then they realized it wasn’t the I131 causing the issue so they went through a phase where they didn’t do a methimazole trial but if the kitty became hypoT after I131, they would start them on levothyroxine so if the kitty did have CKD, the kidneys wouldn’t be impacted by the low thyroid levels. Now it seems whether they do a trial or not depends on what the kidneys look like at the time of diagnosis.

As an example, my Tobey, to whom I referred above, had been toying with hyperT for a year going up and down but no symptoms at all and no tumor could be palpated. His kidney values stayed as they had always been. But as soon as he tipped over into hyperT, showed symptoms (drinking water, early morning spit up), and they felt a tiny tumor, they immediately did I131 without any trial. However, because he was so severely hypoT post treatment, they immediately started him on a low dose of levothyroxine. His creatinine levels had really increased because he wasn’t perfusing much blood through his kidneys at all.

As a scientist, I will say no reputable scientist or vet would enroll a cat in a study or give unwarranted meds to support a study without discussing it with the caregiver. Dr. Peterson is the leading authority on feline hyperthyroidism. If he felt Tigress needed levothyroxine, he wouldn’t have given it just to support his study without discussing it with you. He would not sacrifice his reputation.

I’m glad all is well with your kitties.
 
The pre and post protocols for I131 have changed alot over the years.

My first hyperT cat, the thinking was that the I131 was damaging the kitties and so all hyperT kitties had to be on a trial of methimazole and be euthyroid for at least three months so the vets could see if the kitty had CKD that was masked by the hyperT. If the kitty’s kidney values were normal, then they proceeded with the I131 and monitored the thyroid and the kidneys post treatment. Then they realized it wasn’t the I131 causing the issue so they went through a phase where they didn’t do a methimazole trial but if the kitty became hypoT after I131, they would start them on levothyroxine so if the kitty did have CKD, the kidneys wouldn’t be impacted by the low thyroid levels. Now it seems whether they do a trial or not depends on what the kidneys look like at the time of diagnosis.

As an example, my Tobey, to whom I referred above, had been toying with hyperT for a year going up and down but no symptoms at all and no tumor could be palpated. His kidney values stayed as they had always been. But as soon as he tipped over into hyperT, showed symptoms (drinking water, early morning spit up), and they felt a tiny tumor, they immediately did I131 without any trial. However, because he was so severely hypoT post treatment, they immediately started him on a low dose of levothyroxine. His creatinine levels had really increased because he wasn’t perfusing much blood through his kidneys at all.

As a scientist, I will say no reputable scientist or vet would enroll a cat in a study or give unwarranted meds to support a study without discussing it with the caregiver. Dr. Peterson is the leading authority on feline hyperthyroidism. If he felt Tigress needed levothyroxine, he wouldn’t have given it just to support his study without discussing it with you. He would not sacrifice his reputation.

I’m glad all is well with your kitties.
I agree that no reputable scientist would do what Peterson did, but I know what we went through, and why we went through it with him. Let's agree to disagree on his character; he's not worried about his reputation at this point- he's done whatever he felt he needed to to get himself to where he is now. Our experiences with him were vastly different and have formed our opinions of him which won't change. The important thing is all kitties came out ok in the end, and now Staci has more info and stories than she knows what to do with..LOL! Wishing all love and peace, and keeping all the kitties in my prayers.:bighug:
 
Back
Top