3/26 - Gen, AMPS 373, PMPS >400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Last post (Monday)

Hey friends. I hope you've all been having a lovely, calm week. Safe surfs to your kitties today!

So I've been really grumpy and busy with work, and trying to grit my teeth and get through holding this dose for a bit. After all the lost data on Monday's AM cycle, and the green PM nadir, I thought I should, but we're on the 10th cycle now and things are not looking great. Can I get some thoughts on whether to increase, please?

(Oh, in re: grumpiness! So after the saga with trying to get Gen a new sensor on Monday, the Libre I had "successfully" installed--the second of three that I bought--never properly came online. After several hours of errors it quit, and I had to install the third Libre around midnight. 😭 Thankfully, it's been working fine.)

Lest this all be too much of a tale of woe ... Gen still seems to be feeling pretty good, and I found five kinds of flower blooming in my neighborhood on a walk yesterday. Spring is starting to take hold!
 
A very sweet and snuggly Gen from the other night.

PXL_20260324_022404533.jpg
 
I think he's good for an increase. It's been 10 cycles on this dose and he saw greens only in 1 cycle. However, you might want to wait till tomorrow morning to increase, just in case he decides to clear any bounce today. Tonight will be the 6th cycle from those greens. You don't want to increase in a bounce clearing cycle.
Thank you; that's very sensible. My only concern about increasing tomorrow morning is that I have an important work meeting in the early afternoon (right around what is often his nadir, though it's not super consistent) and won't be able to run home if he starts dropping too low. Increasing on a PM cycle would at least mean that I'd be home.
 
Gen has decided to hang out in a room where his phone can't connect to his sensor, so I'm not getting realtime updates. Should be able to get backdated data when I get home, though. And he might decide to go curl up in his bed later, so I might not have to wait until work is over ... we'll see. 🤞 I wish there were a way around this that didn't involve forcing him to stay in one small area (which I'm only willing to do if I have reason to be extra concerned about low numbers ... may have to do it tomorrow).

Today, he's eating well and looking happy based on my camera views!
 
No advice, but glad to see you! <3 Was wondering how Gen was doing. Glad he is eating well and is happy. <3

We have also been having Libre drama. It can be the best or worst device. When it is working, fantastic! When it doesn't....then I want to curse it! Think Indy agrees with me.
 
Last post (Monday)

Hey friends. I hope you've all been having a lovely, calm week. Safe surfs to your kitties today!

So I've been really grumpy and busy with work, and trying to grit my teeth and get through holding this dose for a bit. After all the lost data on Monday's AM cycle, and the green PM nadir, I thought I should, but we're on the 10th cycle now and things are not looking great. Can I get some thoughts on whether to increase, please?

(Oh, in re: grumpiness! So after the saga with trying to get Gen a new sensor on Monday, the Libre I had "successfully" installed--the second of three that I bought--never properly came online. After several hours of errors it quit, and I had to install the third Libre around midnight. 😭 Thankfully, it's been working fine.)

Lest this all be too much of a tale of woe ... Gen still seems to be feeling pretty good, and I found five kinds of flower blooming in my neighborhood on a walk yesterday. Spring is starting to take hold!
Oh my on the Libre drama. Do you know what happened? Such a pain in the A$$ when it does awful things!

Good luck with the increase when you give it, Allie. I hope it's a good dose and Gen stays near his phone so you can get live data.

I know there are systems that are extenders for the sensors (nightrider?.....the Facebook group has info on it) but it's nothing I have ever researched heavily.

Gen looks absolutely adorably snuggly, sending major chin scritches for your boy! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Oh my on the Libre drama. Do you know what happened? Such a pain in the A$$ when it does awful things!
I know the first one failed because Gen tried to bolt just as I was about to apply it, and managed to knock the applicator into deploying into thin air. (The fact that you can't reset them makes me so mad, it's such a waste of everything.) No idea what went wrong the second time. Maybe the filament didn't go in properly, or the placement was a little off. I don't think it was his BG - it gave me a "check again in 10 minutes" warning the whole time before it decided to shut off altogether, and I did a blood test in the middle of waiting and got 101.

ETA: I submitted my request for two replacements and Abbott has already confirmed, so there's that at least. I've only ever made my requests online, and never once been given any trouble or asked to send in the sensors, so thank goodness for small favors.

Good luck with the increase when you give it, Allie. I hope it's a good dose and Gen stays near his phone so you can get live data.

I know there are systems that are extenders for the sensors (nightrider?.....the Facebook group has info on it) but it's nothing I have ever researched heavily.

Gen looks absolutely adorably snuggly, sending major chin scritches for your boy! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
I might look into extenders, but honestly this is manageable and I don't want to throw a whole lot more money around in areas where I don't absolutely need to. Thanks for the tip, though - and all the good thoughts, as ever. ❤️
 
Last edited:
Well, given that today's cycle was even steeper than it has been (more a "v" shape than a "u"), and didn't quite make it down to green, I have elected for a PM increase. Fingers crossed that it doesn't get too exciting!

I also finally set up the PetLibro feeder today. I'm hoping that the 4-hour window for meals will work okay for Gen, and help with those post-nadir rocket rides. We'll see!
 
Back
Top