3/26 Frosty amps 312, was conservative with am dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ana & Frosty (GA)

Member Since 2018
yesterday’s post

So because today’s pre shot was so much lower than all the others lately (although by no means is it actually low, I realize this), I was nervous and only gave 1.5 units. I won’t be home today to test during the day, and since he went down to 105 on this dose before with a pre shot in 300s, I didn’t wanna risk a low when I’m not there.

Feedback on this is appreciated.
 
So because today’s pre shot was so much lower than all the others lately (although by no means is it actually low, I realize this), I was nervous and only gave 1.5 units. I won’t be home today to test during the day, and since he went down to 105 on this dose before with a pre shot in 300s, I didn’t wanna risk a low when I’m not there.
You have to do whatever makes you comfortable.

Leaving food out for kitty to graze on during the day gives some peace of mind when faced with this kind of decision. Kitties will usually self-feed when they feel their glucose levels dropping.
 
It's a hard situation when you can't test during the day at all. What I would think about doing would be to get an auto feeder like the PetSafe 5 so that you can have it open up strategically through the day so that you could shoot and have some peace of mind to know if he were to start dropping he'd have some food. Depending on the pre shot number you would know whether to leave regular LC food or higher carb .

The 105 you got with this dose previously was at +9 when the insulin is losing it strength and kitties are usually on an upward rise from there, so that needs to be considered and that the 105 wasn't a fast drop early in the cycle from a 333 pre shot.

I might have asked you this all ready if you can change your shot times at all so that you could get a + 1 or +2 before you leave. I think I remember you having a long day which I can only imagine is really rough and trying to manage FD and get him regulated. Maybe some others will have some suggestions to help you.
 
You have to do whatever makes you comfortable.

Leaving food out for kitty to graze on during the day gives some peace of mind when faced with this kind of decision. Kitties will usually self-feed when they feel their glucose levels dropping.
Yeah. Unfortunately that’s not an option with Frosty because he will eat whatever is put in front of him. We are considering self feeders, but we would need the ones that only open for 1 pet because we have 2 other cats and a dog. And I don’t think those come with multiple feeding times, i think they just open up whenever the pet goes up to it.
It's a hard situation when you can't test during the day at all. What I would think about doing would be to get an auto feeder like the PetSafe 5 so that you can have it open up strategically through the day so that you could shoot and have some peace of mind to know if he were to start dropping he'd have some food. Depending on the pre shot number you would know whether to leave regular LC food or higher carb .

The 105 you got with this dose previously was at +9 when the insulin is losing it strength and kitties are usually on an upward rise from there, so that needs to be considered and that the 105 wasn't a fast drop early in the cycle from a 333 pre shot.

I might have asked you this all ready if you can change your shot times at all so that you could get a + 1 or +2 before you leave. I think I remember you having a long day which I can only imagine is really rough and trying to manage FD and get him regulated. Maybe some others will have some suggestions to help you.
Unfortunately I leave at 6:30 and come home at 6 so I feed and give insulin at 6 o’clock. (I work 7:30-5 and commute is about an hour). SOMETIMES i get up at 5 to work out, so i could potentially get a +11 but i wouldn’t be able to shoot at 5 bc no way will i be home by 5. At least it’s not guaranteed.

Maybe TR isn’t a good plan for us now that my boyfriend is back to work during the week. We took advantage of him being off with all the snow and tried to get Frosty out of those awfully high numbers, so maybe we should go back to SLGS where most of the curves and changed are made on the weekend..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top