3/26 Bagheera AMPS 202, +6 179, PMPS 289, +4 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
My human is happy. There are some nice blue numbers there today.

He's held the dosing levels steady at 5.5 units. He's pretty sure that my depot is built up now, and it looks like things are getting better. He really didn't want to hit me with 5.5 units this morning, but it didn't seem to do much.

Purrs and head bonks to you kind humans for helping.
 
Looking interesting indeed. I'll see if I can round up some gurus to take a look. :cool:

Questions/comments for your human:

About how much dry food are you still eating?

Are the current numbers all still AlphaTrac 2?

The numbers will be lower by about 30 points when your human starts using the Arkray GlucoCard 01 Mini.

So that will need to be noted on the spreadsheet, the change of glucometers.
 
I get most of my food from the wet food now. My human gives me about a third of a can in the morning and in the evening, and I consume most of it. Poor Jacey only gets the leftovers, but that's why she's a skinny little girl at nine pounds and I'm a big boy at 17 pounds.

Then between the two of us, we share about six ounces of dry food. It's mostly Jacey eating it. I probably only eat about two ounces of it.

He is thinking that he might go up to a half can of wet food at feeding time, since Jacey is starting to eat it now. Then he will drop the dry food down to maybe four ounces each time.

The current numbers are from the AlphaTrak 2. The Arkray meter has not shown up yet.

My human doesn't know the exact reading from this morning but it was over 300.
 
Hopefully some gurus will be by here soon. If not sooner or later.



...to give a better feel for the life of the slinky temptress fending for crumbs cast off by an ever hulking hungry panther. ;-)

Those wanting to read more about the irresistibly charming couple can follow the signature links above.
 

Attachments

  • bagheera-jacey-.jpg
    bagheera-jacey-.jpg
    53 KB · Views: 362
  • bj_n.jpg
    bj_n.jpg
    17 KB · Views: 364
Welcome back! I missed your return last week; I'm thinking that because the last two posts were so late at night the more experienced eyes might be missing your thread. @-)

Will you have an upcoming day and/or night where you'll be able to play "find the nadir" by running a curve? Since Bagheera isn't minding testing so much now, this will be easier than you can imagine and it also has the benefit of getting Bagheera even more comfortable with testing. I'm betting those treats help a lot. :lol:

And I just want to say, "Neener-neener! :razz: I told you so!" about the wet food. :lol: ;-)
 
I see. What I will do is post something Saturday or Sunday afternoon. That way they will see it.

I post right after I get the last reading of the evening, but that's fairly late even for Pacific time and I'm sure everyone sane is asleep if they live in the Eastern time zone.
 
What a lot of us do is post the first test in the morning and then edit the original post throughout the day with the additional tests we get, if that helps?

And I've never use the mini, but I love the ReliOn micro, so I'm sure you're gonna love the arkray version of the mini.

(Please excuse my brevity and any typos; I got switched from a blackberry to an iPhone and I hate typing on it because i'm dyslexic and I type by feel, not by sight!)
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...I post right after I get the last reading of the evening, but that's fairly late even for Pacific time and I'm sure everyone sane is asleep if they live in the Eastern time zone.
Why not have your human date that late report with the next days date? Be a day ahead instead of a dollar short? :lol:

And the one condo per cat per day just means don't post in the previous thread once the new one is started, instead quote and use a link to the old one. It doesn't mean you have to start a new thread every single day. The current condo is still valid until such time as you start a new one. So keep posting in the current condo as long as you need to.

I'm not able to start a new thread everyday, and until I do start the new one, the current discussion should still be perfectly valid.
redface.gif
 
KPassa said:
...And I've never use the mini, but I love the ReliOn micro, so I'm sure you're gonna love the arkray version of the mini.
I believe the Mini and Micro are exact clones so all should be good. :cool:

It's the Arkray Vital and Relion Prime which are essentially the same technology in different physical packages, including perhaps some firmware differences.

The gurus seem to be tied up with urgent matters, hopefully they can weigh in later. But in the mean time we should be able to manage for now with plenty of continued spot checks. nailbite_smile
 
Tony

I'm sorry it has taken a bit to get to your condo. I saw it early yesterday but was on my way to work and I wasn't on the board long last night. my apologies. I'd like to take a look at Bagheeras SS and I will be right back with some thoughts.
 
Tony

First of all, you are doing a better job at getting more tests so thank you for that.

I'd like to show you some cycles where even just a couple additional tests would have put the pieces together a little better.

If you look at the a.m. Cycle of 3/21, he started to clear a bounce. Great that you caught that midcycle test that day which shows us he was continuing to clear. But what happened between that test and his +12 of 86? We don't know if he went lower or if the 86 was on the way back up. Under the TR protocol, an 86 on an Alpha Trak is very close to the reduction number of 80 for a newly dx cat (newly dx is one that has been dx less than a year and his dx was last summer). However, because Bagheera is still getting dry food, the TR protocol is not appropriate for him. It might be more warranted to reduce him when he goes below 120 on your AT.

What we do know is he got low enough for his liver to not like it and between that and the skipped shot the night of 3/21, his BG skyrocketed. Your response was to dose on the preshot and raise the dose considerably. When we raise the dose, quite often the response in the first 2-3 days is higher numbers which we refer to as New Dose Wonkiness. So Bagheera has three things attributing to his high numbers after 3/22: bounce, skipped shot, NDW.

Now compare the a.m. Cycles of 3/10 and 3/25. Look how far down he came on 3/10....296 to 121. From that we know he is capable of Dropping that much in a cycle. It's possible he dropped down again on 3/25 OR he could have stayed flat and come up a bit. The point here is that even when he's high, your mid cycle testing gives us a great clue as to his patterns.

It's important to note that while we may not see clinical signs of a hypo when our kitties are in really low numbers, we actually have no idea the extent to which those low numbers affect them physically because they are not connected to any heart or brain monitors. That's why when I catch my Gracie low, I get her up as fast as possible. I don't know what any residual effects might occur from allowing her to stay low. If you aren't catching those lows and bringing them up, then you don't know what residual effects they could be causing Bagheera.

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, we'd still like to see you reduce the dose...even if you could reduce to 3u and give him some time, it would tell us more. Think of dose changes as a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel but it takes quite a bit of time to actually see the course change.

And if you still don't want to reduce his dose, I have to ask you to please stop dosing on the preshot numbers. You can get him seriously overdosed by doing that and at some point, his numbers will take a definitive crash which could cause a clinical hypo. The other thing Id like to ask is that when his numbers are coming down as they did on 3/21, please continue to grab a spot check until you see the numbers rise. That allows us to tell how low he is going and when he starts back up.

Please let me know if you have questions. I will check beck in later today and I will be up late tonight as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top