3/26 AMPS 311, +6 263, PMPS 415

Usually at higher dose of stings. It didn't bother Ollie until we got 7 units. I guess it can for some at lower dose. One of those ECID things.
 
Ok, thanks. Will likely be increasing to .75 tomorrow, was going to this morning, but her AMPS was lower, so thought I would give her one more day and see what her +6 looks like today. I am a scaredy cat mom sometimes.

I may try going back to original injection spot on her side and see if that is any better, that worked well for about a week and a half, then I switched to behind her head just below shoulder blades when she was not liking the side anymore and her teeth could reach my hand from that angle, lol. :nailbiting: Also seems I can grab more skin from her back area when she is sitting up, so I kind of like that spot until she started complaining about that one.
 
It does sting at high doses but I dont think with such a low dose it would
Now that I am thinking about it I usually get insulin ready, then test, so insulin sits out at room temp for about 10-15 minutes before injection, today I drew insulin after test and put in the cat immediately as time was ticking, just insulin being a little colder, might have been why the reaction. I am hoping that is what it was.
 
Ravan was on Lantus for nearly 6 months when he started reacting to the shot. His skin would quiver & he's jerk away. Lantus is acidic, & like the others said it can affect some kitties even at low doses.
I read about Levemir being "neutral",so it doesn't sting like Lantus. Ravan was also a big Bouncer & some people told me after a while their cat stopped bouncing on Levemir.

I switched to Levemir & I'm glad I did. It's taken a while but he's now doing a lot better & the shots don't bother him at all. I've also read that keeping the needles "COLD" helps it NOT sting? So I guess there are different opinions on that.
I found this on a medical web site " It may be worthwhile to explore using cold needles as an analgesic with more painful injections. "
Sunny day.gif
 
Back
Top