3/26/14 Prince AMPS-481!! +3-358, PMPS-192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116087

Good Morning-

I'm getting really nervous for Prince-after a day in the 300's, he spiked up to 421 at +3. This morning's AMPS was 481!!

Julie asked if there was any chance that he has been getting into the dry food, but he has not had an ounce since the other night, where he may or may not have had a little. I try to never give dry to my cats any more (and absolutely none for Prince), but my tiny girl misses it so much and gets so happy when she gets a little. I gave her some the other night and thought she had finished it, but there is a chance Prince got up there because the next morning, he was up on the counter sniffing around. He may have just been smelling the crumbs, or he may have been looking for more.

This morning, I have also noticed that Prince has been drinking from his water bowl. Since I switched to all wet food in the house, all of the cats have pretty much stopped drinking from their water bowl. It was unusual to see Prince drink from it twice.

Anyone have any ideas about what is going on? Doesn't look like a bounce to me, but again, I'm still new at this. I just want Prince to be happy and healthy-do you think he is going to be able to get regulated? A lot of the other spreadsheets I have looked at don't look as "rainbow" as Prince's does. I feel like his numbers are so unpredictable.

Right now he is eating the Wellness Grain-Free Turkey and Salmon wet food formula, sometimes a snack of Trader Joes Turkey and Giblets wet food. Maybe I should switch his food again?

Any help appreciated!!
 
Re: 3/26/14 Prince AMPS-481!! +3-358

Hi guys .. ouch, what are you doing way up there prince? You know, sometimes kitties come to this board and are regulated right away with a little insulin and the right diet .. and some kitties come here and take longer to get regulated .. and some kitties just keep moving all over the place .. Don't beat yourself up if your kitty isn't one that becomes regulated right away .. You are doing everything you can for Prince and sometimes you just have to leave it up to his little innards working their magic :-D
 
Re: 3/26/14 Prince AMPS-481!! +3-358

Hi Emily,

Take a look at Jersey's SS - she definitely has a rainbow of colors! I know that doesn't make you feel any better about Prince's numbers; I know you're still worried.

I had asked about bounces and high numbers in one of my previous posts. Marje had told me that sometimes, before a bounce breaks, the numbers will go up.

Any time numbers start to come down like on the a.m. Cycle of 2/28 then jersey could potentially be clearing a bounce. Sometimes they start down and then go back up for a bit but they don't usually have a fast, high rise.

I know that Julie had mentioned this didn't look like a bounce, so I'm not sure any of this information is relevant to your current situation. I just wanted to throw this information out there in case it does help in any way.

Shelly
 
Re: 3/26/14 Prince AMPS-481!! +3-358

bounces can be tricky to identify. if this is a bounce, which it could be, it *should* clear by pmps. when a bounce clears you see the same kind of numbers you were getting before.

what i'm looking at are the blue numbers on 3/22 and 3/23. if this is a bounce, we generally say they will resolve by about 3 days, so i count forward from the pmps on 3/23 and think by tonight Prince *ought* to be back in blue numbers. the thing is that cats don't read our manuals, so they sometimes do something a little different. occasionally a cat will take a little more than 3 days (like another 1/2 day or so is the most i, personally, have seen) to clear. I'd say if you don't see him back at least in blues by tonight, i'd increase his dose by 0.25u in the morning.

going up and down in dose is a common thing to do, so it doesn't signify anything wrong.

yes, i think he can get regulated, but it takes time. we follow the protocol as best as our lives allow, and you'll see progress.

does that all make sense?
 
WOOT!!! :lol:

let's say the experience of the collective was right on! so that tells us that, at this phase, Prince is taking the full 3 days to clear bounces. make a mental note of that for next time he bounces. as he gets used to it, he may clear faster.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top