3/25 TAFFY-shooting low tonight AMPS 229/+1.5 191/PMPS 64&62/+45min 55/+20min 54/+2 58/+3.5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-taffy-amps-243-3-261-pmps-287.175324/#post-1925481]Friday

Shot at 64/62 tonight. I stalled a bit, but he did not really change and he was starving and I did not want to get his schedule back to being super late, as I had just worked it back up a little. Now we are on a later schedule, again. I'm all ready for what ever he does tonight.

45 min after his regular meal (raw game hen) and he is at 55

(Increased slightly this morning. Not to 1.75, but a "fat" 1.5)

I am having trouble drawing insulin out of the new pen. I get a lot of air, and the insulin seems "thick" but that could be wrong. It has been giving me difficulty since I started it. I am using same size/length needle and same method as always. Anyone else have issues like this?

On another note, I am becoming very good at butchering game hens.[/URL]
 
WOW.....I know you've gotten these before, but that deserves a BOS award!!
Balls of Steel fist.png


Surf safely Taffy!!! I'll tell China to have the waterwings handy just in case!!
 
WOW.....I know you've gotten these before, but that deserves a BOS award!!
View attachment 27205

Surf safely Taffy!!! I'll tell China to have the waterwings handy just in case!!
Thanks! Still holding at 54, little over an hour after food/shot. Not seeing food spike yet, but he is not diving. Should I give a little gravy or wait for next test?
Also, have you ever heard of the trouble I am having with this new pen?
 
Looks like no one weighed in yet. I guess if you don't see a food spike, I would be tempted to give Taffy a little bit of a carb bump, unless of course you keep testing a lot and he's surfing.
I've never had that kind of thing happen with a pen, or thought the insulin felt thicker than usual. Hmmm.
 
thought the insulin felt thicker than usual
I could be imagining the thicker thing. But no matter how careful I am, I seem to draw a lot of air into the syringe. I am thinking that maybe the little sponge where you poke in is perhaps thicker then usual and my needles are too short now. I don't get how else I am getting air?
 
He is basically staying flat at the moment, no food bump but not diving, sometimes when we shoot low the do just that, they stay pretty flat.
Exactly, +2 = 58. He has an LC snack out, be seems uninterested. His dinner was a good amount. He is just grooming at the moment.
if it's clear and no floaties, think it should be alright.
I'm not worried about the insulin so much as just annoyed that I am having such a hard time drawing it out. I'll keep experimenting, I guess. It is causing me to have to draw out quite a bit more than needed in order to get insulin out, then I have to get air out. It's weird.
 
Last edited:
Exactly, +2 = 58. He has an LC snack out, be seems uninterested. His dinner was a good amount. He is just grooming at the moment.

I'm not worried about the insulin so much as just annoyed that I am having such a hard time drawing it out. I'll keep experimenting, I guess. It is causing me to have to draw out quite a bit more than needed in order to get insulin out, then I have to get air out. It's weird.
Yeah, that is weird. I always store my pen with the cap side down, so if there is any air it will be away from the place where I insert the needle. I almost always get a little air in my BD's but I'm pretty good at getting it out.
 
With regards to the air bubbles, I didn't worry to much about getting bubbles, I found that if I drew a little more lantus than I needed, then tapped the syringe while holding it needle up, so that all the bubbles came to the top forming one larger bubble, then I would squeeze out the bubbles with the extra bit of lantus.
 
Yeah, that is weird. I always store my pen with the cap side down, so if there is any air it will be away from the place where I insert the needle. I almost always get a little air in my BD's but I'm pretty good at getting it out.
Yeah, I have usually had little air bubbles when I draw, but w/ this pen I draw out more then half air??? I have always stored with cap up. Maybe I'll try your way!
 
I'll def try storing the pen the other direction.

+3.5 @ 68, looks like he is finally rising a bit. I am going to have a nap and check in 1.5 hour.
 
I always store my pen with the cap side down, so if there is any air it will be away from the place where I insert the needle.
This is interesting. I always store my pen cap side up. I never thought to put it upside down and never heard anyone mention this before. Thanks for the tip.
 
With regards to the air bubbles, I didn't worry to much about getting bubbles, I found that if I drew a little more lantus than I needed, then tapped the syringe while holding it needle up, so that all the bubbles came to the top forming one larger bubble, then I would squeeze out the bubbles with the extra bit of lantus.
Same here. I always have to over draw a bit. Probably why my first pen went so quickly.
 
It's so true!
Between being late shooters on the West Coast and having dramatic cats we were keeeping each other company a lot there in the wee hours.
I'm actually in Seattle but born and raised in SoCal, all of my family is there and I still call it home :cat:
I knew that. :oops: You're a night owl, like me, but I suspect you don't do it by choice. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top