3/25 Simon PMPS 236 +4 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I'm sorry I have been out of the loop for the last week, but things have been very stressful around my home. And I guess Simon's numbers are reflecting that stress. He sure can sense things. I increased his dose back up to 2 units yesterday and keeping my fingers crossed that this helps. He has been eating well and doing all the usual things, so at least that is good.

I took Cleo, my CRF kitty to the vet on Friday to see about her vomiting issues and also for her check-up (bloodwork/urinalysis/culture, etc.). The good thing is that she hasn't lost anymore weight. To get her vomiting under control, he suggested Cerenia. I went ahead and let him give her a shot and it has really helped. She is eating better and is more active so I guess her stomach acid was really bothering her, even though she has been taking ondansetron and zantac. She also needs a dental :sad:

I don't usually like to burden people with my personal issues, but I just wanted to let you know why I won't be around as much during the week. My cousin's husband just recently died and he was the one taking care of her. My cousin is paranoid schizophrenic and cannot live alone. None of her family is left except for me and my mom, brother and sister. Guess who gets to take care of everything. Me! Because I am in the helping field (geriatrics), everyone expects me to handle things. Things are really bad and she is at a residential short term facility in Florida right now. I just don't know what to do because she really can't live with me. She is violent at times and very psychotic, even with meds. I'm going down to Florida next weekend to meet with the counselor and discuss options. It is so heartbreaking and I am sick over this. I just don't know what to do! Sorry to pour out my problems but if anyone has experience in the mental health area, I would love to talk with you. Thanks for listening.
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312

I'm sorry I don't have any experience to offer you advise with your cousin. I can only offer you hugs ((((((Georgia))))))
I would fear for my innocent cats if she lived with you and is violent, so I hope you can find her a place to stay other than your home. Sending best of luck vines. You have someone to care for Simon while you go to Florida?
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312

Hi Georgia, so sorry to hear about your cousin and her husband's passing. My heart goes out to her. You might contact Celi. I know it's a different situation with her sister having a stroke, but she may have some knowledge of working in the caregiving aspect or can tell you where to get some help. Give some scritches to Simon from us and hugs and prayers for you, too.
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312

Georgia I am sorry to read this - I wish I could offer some help, but I have no experience with any of this. My reaction is that she cannot live with you,and probably should not, so I truly hope that the counselor there has some good doable options for you. I will keep you in my thoughts, hope this all works out for the best.

Sorry about Simon's BG, but I do believe you are right - our furkids know when we are stressed out, upset by things. He will come back down for you. Hopefully the dose change will help get his BG down some. Good luck!

Hoping here that you will have a good day today. And a safe trip to Florida.
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312

(((((Georgia))))) I am so sorry. My grandmother is paranoid schitzophrenic also but she's been hospitalized for thirty years. There is no way a family member can caretake for someone like this. The US mental health system is so much worse off than the Canadian one. You can't fix it by taking her in. If you say no, what happens?
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312 +4 315

The pink surf continues for Mr. Simon. I really think he is very upset because he had thrown up while I was away this morning at church. I have given him a pepcid to calm his tummy.

Thanks everyone for your support.

Dyana, DH is going to stay here at home to take care of Simon and Cleo while I am away. My mother and sister are going to go with me to Florida, so I'm glad i'm not going alone. My DB wants nothing to do with the whole thing.

Ann, thanks for the advice on contacting Celi. Maybe she knows something about the system. I know some about nursing homes but unfortunately, my cousin would definitely not be a candidate due to her psychotic episodes.

Michelle, I agree with you...no way can I take my cousin into my home. I had her at a group home in Atlanta before she got married to her husband (he also had a mental health disorder). She kept running away from the place and it was so stressful having to deal with all of that. At least her husband was able to take care of her for 16 years but unfortunately, did not plan for when he wouldn't be around. He was on disability and so is she so there is barely any money for any type of care.

Karrie, thanks for sharing with me about your grandmother. I'd be interested in hearing about what type of care she is getting. My cousin was in the Florida State Psychiatric Hospital for a few years until they discharged her. It was not a great place and I'm terrified about what the other options are. There is just no good place for someone like my cousin unless you have about $10,000 to $15,000 a month for private care.

Sorry to be so OT. I am just needing to vent and ya'll are so supportive!
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312 +4 315

The pink surf continues for Mr. Simon. I really think he is very upset because he had thrown up while I was away this morning at church. I have given him a pepcid to calm his tummy.

Thanks everyone for your support.

Dyana, DH is going to stay here at home to take care of Simon and Cleo while I am away. My mother and sister are going to go with me to Florida, so I'm glad i'm not going alone. My DB wants nothing to do with the whole thing.

Ann, thanks for the advice on contacting Celi. Maybe she knows something about the system. I know some about nursing homes but unfortunately, my cousin would definitely not be a candidate due to her psychotic episodes.

Michelle, I agree with you...no way can I take my cousin into my home. I had her at a group home in Atlanta before she got married to her husband (he also had a mental health disorder). She kept running away from the place and it was so stressful having to deal with all of that. At least her husband was able to take care of her for 16 years but unfortunately, did not plan for when he wouldn't be around. He was on disability and so is she so there is barely any money for any type of care.

Karrie, thanks for sharing with me about your grandmother. I'd be interested in hearing about what type of care she is getting. My cousin was in the Florida State Psychiatric Hospital for a few years until they discharged her. It was not a great place and I'm terrified about what the other options are. There is just no good place for someone like my cousin unless you have about $10,000 to $15,000 a month for private care.

Sorry to be so OT. I am just needing to vent and ya'll are so supportive!
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312 +4 315

(((((Georgia))))) I am so sorry about your cousin's DH and your cousin's situation. You are very generous to help her. Paws crossed for finding her good living arrangements. I'm glad your mother and sister are going too.
Liz
 
Re: 3/25 Simon AMPS 312 +4 315

My grandmother is institutionalized and too complicated for an old age home. She's been fighting congestive heart failure for four years either so the next step will be a nursing home but she keeps surprising everyone not needing that next step just yet.

The way they do it up in Canada is stabilize them and release them. Or stabilize and send to a group home if one is available. The psych hospital is not a good place either but she is safer there than at a group home. What you hear you wonder if its a hallucination or it truly happened. Its heart breaking. They often they end up in jail. Its supposed to be against the law but with the state of mental health care up here - its the first thing that gets cut. No one wants to touch all day kindergarten ohmygod_smile

My grandmother is very lucky. The nurses seem to really care about her where she is right now and has been for a number of years. She actually got in trouble because she is one of the very few with money. She got part of grampa's pension. So she was trading cigarrettes for possessions. Of course the nurses caught on very quickly. This is totally against her generous personality to it made us laugh. She is not the enterprising type.

I hear the US system is much worse off for those with mental illness.
 
Re: 3/25 Simon PMPS 236

Better PMPS than earlier today, although Simon has now had 2 pukus sessions. I finally have Cleo's vomiting under control and now Simon is doing it. I still think it is nerves, but if he continues doing this, I'll have to figure out what else is going on.

Karrie, your grandma does sound pretty enterprising with her bartering system. My cousin usually just gives away everything she has. I have stopped giving her gifts because she will give them all away the next day. Yes, the state of our mental health system is in shambles. I just don't want to see her out on the streets.

I'm so sorry everyone -- this has got to be the downer post of the day! I'm trying to maintain my calmness through all of this and am going to go do some yoga right after I sign off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top