3/25 Sid AMPS 168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Very Active Member
@Michelle Thank you for your supporting me no matter what I decide about the .3 dose. You will see that Sid made the decision. :-D I'm sorry about your Bobcat. Having to force feed/assist feed is very stressful and hard on the bean. I did that for Jake for 4 months. He never really started eating enough on his own. He was very easy to do. I think he liked being syringe fed - like an Egyptian king on his bamboo mat having the help feed him :lol: No he was just the best boy and endured so much with so much stoicism. Sid does too, don't get me wrong, but he is a pistol to syringe feed and that is why I loved his feeding tube. I didn't use it for food because he was eating on his own but it was there if I needed it. My nightmare will be the day he decides not to eat and I have to try to syringe feed him... I will probably have a tube put back in - maybe depending on how other things are going and weigh his chances of recovery.

Sid and I may have an exciting day today... let's hope for more green.

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS 481
+3 451
+5 411
+6 321
+7 292
+10.5 108
+12 74
+13 121
+14 335

PMPS +14 335
+2 406
+3 298
+4 201
+5 102
+6 77
+6.5 60
+7 66
+7.5 76
+8.5 80
+10.5 86

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=67041 *edited to add
 
Hi Lydia,

Sid is looking really great! Three cycles in a row with green, you must be very pleased. :-D I'm glad you held the dose, the ketones were not that high yet, and his numbers were so good otherwise that I would have done the same, unless his ketones continued to climb.

Michelle & Prudence said:
Lydia, I will mention this but only because I keep thinking of it... Have you thought about giving Sid just a small dose of ProZinc at PM before you go to bed? Looking at his SS. He's definitely on the rise by +9 which is probably 2am for you :shock: , then give just a little bit less for his AM shot. I was thinking like maybe give 0.3 late night if he's on the rise, then 1.3 for the AM shot. Just trying to figure out how to keep him out of those reds/blacks. He definitely needs insulin during those 5 plus hours since he climbs so high. I am not familiar with R, but I know I had done this with Prudence when I saw her climbing too fast, so for me I only had to give her 0.1 until her AM shot which held her over about 6 hours. I came up with this dose for Sid by what he's getting now.

AMPS 1.6 then 0.3 +1.3 =1.6

Let me know your thoughts.

I would be really careful if you decide to try this, first of all for the simple reason that ProZinc is a longer acting insulin than R. I wouldn't shoot two doses closer together than 6 hours apart, and even that may be too close...his nadir is often after +6. If you were to shoot one dose and then another dose too close together, you could have onset of the second dose at the same time as the nadir of the first dose...that could put you in a situation where you are fighting to keep him up. Then you also need to be careful about the next (third) dose, again it will need to be held until after the nadir of the second dose. This could make a big mess of your schedule....and then if you can't shoot on time before you leave for work, you are risking the ketones rising.

I would much sooner go back to a TID strategy than try something like TR dosing. Sid is a volatile cat, he can have steep drops so you need to be really careful about too much overlap. On top of that, frankly, your schedule can't handle that strategy, IMHO. I would not suggest trying that unless you are able to monitor 24/7.

He's looking good, he's just a bouncy cat. IMHO, your best bet is to try to control the steep drops as well as you can to prevent those high bounces, and keep showing him those lower numbers. Hopefully, his liver will get used to the greens and stop reacting to them and he will flatten out....he already is starting to IMHO. I think what you are doing is working well...I would stick with it and try to have some patience. Sometimes it's better not to tinker too much...you can't prevent every bounce. JMHO

Karo/HC does not cause the bounces, so don't worry about that. Bounces are caused by liver reaction, not HC food. As long as you are using wet HC food, the carbs are in and out in a short time. Dry food can cause longer lasting food spikes. The reason he bounced into the reds yesterday was because he had that huge drop early in the PM cycle the night before....300 pts from PS to +3. Since onset for Sid is typically between +1 and +2, he probably dropped more than 150 pts per hour...that's too fast.

Keep up the good work! :-D
 
Yay Sid! Sending good numbers for the day :smile: I agree with Laurie about staying with the 1.6 since it seems to be settling in now. Steve, Jocks daddy helped me through my craziness with Prudence and I believe he said if the nadir went below 50 to decrease by 0.1

Laurie, I only suggested the small dose of about .3 just to get Sid through the 5 to 6 hours period where he would wind up in the back. That was only if he was starting to raising again late night. TID doesn't seem to fit with Lydia's schedule, so I dunno.... just trying to figure out what else she could try, so Sid could stay away from Ketones. If he's getting a total of 3.2 in a 24 hours period... 1.6 at AMPS... the 0.3 plus 1.3 would make up his PMPS of 1.6. Keeping him still in a total of 3.2 for the 24 hour. I don't think 0.3 would have much of an overlap, but I am not an expert... Just trying to help. :smile:

Hope you're having a good morning, Sid!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top