3/25: Sammy - AMPS 94; +1.5 95; +3 89; +6 92; +9 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning LL,

Today is going to be a good day! Start the day with a positive attitude and it will happen right.

Last night I was still concerned about the 114 at PMPS, but this morning I am now more clear headed and I think it might have been a bit of a bounce from the 44 in the morning. That is really the only explanation as to why he went from 67 at +9 to 114 3 hours later.

I am happy to see that his AMPS is under 100 this morning, and he actually had food within an hour and a half of AMPS. I was so tired last night that I forgot to pick up the bowl after letting Sammy have a snack at +9. There was only a small amount of food left so it wasn't like he had a full meal or anything.

Hope everyone has a fabulous day today.
 
So a flat cycle could mean that he is going to have an active cycle coming up, is that right?
Yep. It happens often. I left a little food out last night as well. It happens and unless they are really low I don't think it causes problems. We're human.:)
 
Usually, it's a flat yellow cycle that indicates the possibility of an active cycle. A flat green cycle is something to be very happy about!
 
no - i wouldn't increase the dose when you've got an all green cycle. You wait. Your goal isn't to get to 60-80, in spite of what that one sentence says under remission. You're goal is to get everything under 120, and most everything under 100.

I'd sit on my hands and wait.
 
Well, Sammy is back up to 131 at +9. I just don't understand. We have kept the food in check so I know it isn't that. At this point I think he will either continue to rise to PMPS or surf around this number. I have no clue what he will do, but I really hope it is a surf. Either way, I will be holding the .5 dose for now. I am wondering if the jump back up and then right back down could cause a bit of NDW, even though NDW doesn't really come into play with lower the dose.

Any thoughts on that?
 
New Dose Wonkiness is only on a dose increase.

You want to look more at trends than at individual tests. Overall Sammy looks great. I wouldn't sweat about a blip into the 130's. Remember, meters can have 20% variance so the drop that tests 100 on one strip might be 80 -120 on another strip.

Also, the absorption rate can vary by as much as 50% from one shot to the next. So even if you do everything exactly the same from one day to another, his body might absorb differing amounts, resulting in varying blood tests that are completely out of your control. It helped me to remember that insulin is a hormone - it's not like taking something like blood pressure med where you take the exact same amount every day and you have the exact same result. Hormones are different in the way they work on the body and some of this is just going with the flow.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Thank you for reminding me that insulin is a hormone, I remember you telling me this before but it still baffles me as to why he does so well staying in the green and then all of a sudden there is a higher number. I do understand if I can pin point what might have caused it like a bounce or food issues, but for no apparent reason frustrates me. I think I will try to ride it out and if we don't see more steady GREEN by the end of the week I might take Sammy in for general blood panel. He is sort of been shaking his head every once and awhile the last day or so, so I guess it is possible he has another problem that might need to be addressed.

I was even considering shooting the insulin on the other side of the body for awhile to see if that helps a bit. I have been shooting on the right side of the belly for a month now, maybe he just needs a bit of a change.
 
Oh, let's see. What's the word I'm looking for. Uh, prudence. No, that's not it. Persistence. Nope not that either. Pineapple? No....gosh, it's right here on the tip of my fingers. PATIENCE. That's it. Patience.

That's all I have to say!!!

Marilyn and Polly


LOL! DH will tell you that I have very little of that "P" word. LOL!

By the way, DH is home from work today and he has been testing so that I didn't have to come home twice during the day. It has been so nice.
 
Varying the location of the shot can help. Some cats develop almost the equivalent of a "callus" and the absorption isn't as good if you constantly shoot in the same spot.

If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that she'll go for a while in great number. Then, out of nowhere, she throws me a cycle that makes absolutely no sense. I tend to regard it as her pancreas getting tired.
 
Hi Tina, I shoot Crystal on the left side in the morning and then the right side for the evening shot, easy to remember. Sammy's SS is looking so good, I'm deeply envious, well done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top