3/25 Noni (BACK HOME) PMPS~477+1~520+2~418

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good evening LL,

We just got back from the hospital, 9 PM, we went early in the morning 9 AM, we did the all the tested, but the X-Ray machine wasn't working and we had to wait for it to be fixed. I left Noni there on IV and went to a close by Starbucks near the Kuwaiti Board, came back after an hour saying that the machine needs 2 hours more, so the doctor suggested to start the operation since all other tests are normal and the X-Ray is only to make sure no fluid in the lungs... anyway, she asked me to leave her there and come back at 7 PM, I reached home at 3, vet called at 4 saying that she's almost awake and I can come to pick her up. reached there at 6 with the long trip and traffic, waiting for 90 min to talk to the surgeon as he was busy, he said he removed all lumps, and showed me an X-Ray for her back leg, he said they couldn't stretch it as it seems like problem with her joints. even her back bones. he said only pain killer and supplements for this, no treatment. he sent me home with oral Metacam. asked me to use it for 3 days only after meal, once a day, antibiotic too, and joint supplement.

I should be back in 10 days for stitches removal. and will talk to her vet about the X-ray, as it show some shadow near the heart area, cuz she's specialised in cardiac.

she ate now, and I syringe give little water cuz she's trying to drink with the E-Collar but she cant.

we skipped 2 doses of insulin and 1 dose of lasix , should I shoot back at her normal time ? please advice.



Finally, I thank every and each person here to show support and send prayers and positive vines, we love you all and glad to be here with you :YMHUG:

trying to get some sleep now, and will be back to check on her and check here too soon.


Previous Condo

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91719
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Hi Aseel. So glad that Noni's surgery went well. We were thinking of you both. I hope the meds for her joint pain alleviates her discomfort. I hope the shadow near her heart isn't anything serious.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Hello Aseel, I am so glad you are home and the surgery sounds like a success. Have you done any BG tests on Noni? Anesthesia can lower BG, so some people either skip the PM dose or do 1/2 dose, depending on the numbers and how she is eating. Good to hear that Noni feels like eating. She should get just little bits of food at a time so she won't throw up.

It sounds like they think she might have arthritis in the back leg? It's common for people to give supplements (like Cosequin) for that.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

I'm glad you are home and Noni is home.
It would be a good idea to check her bg and see how she is doing.
If her collar is easy to get on and off , you could let her drink water and eat without it and then put it back on.
I hope she will heal quickly and that the shadow isn't something new.
Healing vines for Noni!!
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Hi Aseel, glad to hear Noni's surgery went well. Sending healing vines for a speedy recovery, and keeping paws crossed that the shadow near her heart is nothing serious.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Many healing vines to Noni and big hugs to you, Aseel. What a difficult day but it sounds like good news. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Aseel,
Glad sweet baby is back home.

I need to warn you - Metacam has a 'black box' warning against using it for cats in the US. I need to find the info on it for you. There's something else to ask for rather than that....I'll go find it when I post this.

HUGS!!!

EDIT TO ADD: I see the Metacam has already been discussed...please forgive my missing it.... :oops:
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Aseel, I hope you and Noni are getting some rest. I'm so glad she's back home, and that the surgery is now in the past.
Sending recovery vines to Noni.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Hi again, thank you guys, now i'm only thinking about that shadow near her heart, I just gave her Metacam after food, she vomited a small amount of food after few minutes, the size of a small coin only thank god. but she want to eat. I'm planning to test her BG and give her some insulin cuz I'm sure she's high with all the pain and everything.

Wendy: I might giver her half dose or lower a little bit. the supplement she's getting is this: Stride Plus Hyaluronic Acid for Cats 150mlhttp://www.vetuk.co.uk/joint-supple...de-plus-hyaluronic-acid-for-cats-150ml-p-3136

surprised to see the price :lol: It's half price online , anyhow, if you know anything better you can suggest the name and I will ask her doctor about it and get it from the internet.

Lyresa: I wish we have other choice here in Kuwait ! can you believe that painkillers are not available for cats !!! but anyway I'm not planning to use Metacam for a long time.


waiting for more dosing advice
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Glad to hear it went well. I agree with wendy, you might want to try Cosequin or some other glucosamine supplement. Cant do any harm. Tiggy is on it for possible hip issues.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

How is she eating? Is she eating normally?

I was given 1-TDC for J.D. from his dentist and it seems to be helping him jumping and climbing.

Is it PMPS time now?
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Let me know what her next test number is. If she's eating fine, then the pain meds might be helping, and she can maybe have her full dose or just a shave less.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

I'm so glad Noni's surgery went well. I hope the joint supplement helps her feel better and the shadow near her heart is nothing serious. Sending prayers for a quick recovery from the surgery.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Okay, I want you to take a look at J.D. spreadsheet after his surgery on January 21st.
He was HI at PMPS and I gave him his regular dose and he was in the greens by onset of insulin.

Are you super tired from all the stress. Can you test tonight? I would want to give her the regular dose but be cautioned that she may come down like J.D. did and you will need to intervene, and she will need to eat. What do you think?

I'm sorry, I was looking at your spreadsheet before and thought I saw all yellows.. so thought her numbers were better.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

No your absolutely right I may want to give 1.5 iu istead.

I check her last operation dated Nov.8 she used to have 2.5 pre that, and when I shot her the same she started to drop down from pink to blue in less than one hour . so what do you think 1.5 ??


its not about me, I honestly have no problem staying awake for her, but I really don't want to stress her more with so many testing and honey and HC feeding .. she's having enough I think she will get depressed if I do now
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

I'm going to look at her spreadsheet on Nov. 8th. Hold on.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

How about give her a s2 and be ready to test tonight? Does that sound okay? She is pretty high. I just want to make sure she'll eat for you, should she go down, but she is pretty high.
I see Sienne is on, maybe she'll have an opinion.

By the way, I worried and prayed and thought about Noni all day, so I'm glad she's through the surgery and on her way to recovery :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

okay , waiting .. its due in 5 min

* Just edited my previous post for you above
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

yea I know ;( she's high to the red zone ..

I knew you will be thinking about us :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon Noni and I love you so much

it was a really long long day for her .. they told me she should be fine and semi recovered in 3 days .. so you think 2 units .. I will wait Sienne for 15 min more .. its due now but I can hold it a little
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

((((Aseel & Noni))))

We are so glad that the surgery went well and wish Noni a speedy recovery. Sorry I can't help with the dosing for tonight, but if you don't hear from the folks who have experience with insulin after surgery, I think that if you go with a partial dose you will be safe. (Better to be a little high than too low.)

Healing vines, hugs, and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

As long as you think Noni is going to keep her dinner in her tummy and not throw up, I think you're fine to go with Dyana's suggestion.

How about giving Noni her meal in small amounts? The anesthesia makes them hungry but it also slows down the GI track so vomiting is a concern. If you give Noni her meal in small amounts over time, it should help to prevent dinner from coming back up.
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME)

Thank yo Sienne, I did as you and Dyana suggested, 2 units only.

yes I am not giving her too much at a time. I also mix little water because she's so eager to drink.

I shot at 477 BG

thank yo you so much ladies :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Noni (BACK HOME) PMPS~477+1~520

(((Ella))) thank you so much , dose is solved , hope she doesn't go too low for me.

wishing you a great day .. ~O)
 
As I said I would do I am copying and pasting my response to a PM this morning, asking about my thoughts on Cosequin and pain medication:

Good Morning! You must be so happy the surgery is behind you :)

I'm so glad to hear that it's just some fluids. I'm am guessing that you are talking about the shadow on the xray?

I think you should post all this in your condo...

The Cosequin I used was in capsules, and I opened the capsule and sprinkled the powder in J.D.'s food and mixed it in. He didn't like it much and would always go eat Ginger's food instead and Ginger would eat his food with the Cosequin in it. Same with Methyl B12 for neuropathy. I just started using that again, and it's in capsules, and this time I am getting smarter. Instead of opening the capsule and mixing it into J.D.'s food and having Ginger eat it instead of him, I just took the capsule and pushed it down his throat. Done.
I have also used Adequan that was injectable and seemed to help a little more than the Cosequin, but probably because J.D. actually got the medication since it was injected.
The Dental Specialist we went to had us start 1-TDC which really seems to be helping J.D. the most so far. It's good for gums and joints.
I don't know about pain medication. Didn't Jill or Sienne recommend one to you, earlier this week?

I'm going to copy and paste all of this in your condo, because it's safer that way to get peer review in case I made a mistake in typing or my thoughts are wrong.
 
asoolty said:
Hi again Dyana, I am planning to post this in her condo , will open it soon when I shot her. can I shot her 2.5 again btw. 2 seems to little ?? she was high all night with the s2 last night. what do you think ?


thanks for the information, I spoke to her vet asking about the names of supplements you gave me , but she suggested to use Cosequin first and see how it works on her. she said it's helpful to treat her and not only supplement. but yea if it doesn't work we will try something else.

I was talking about the shadow in the X-Ray yea. its only little liquid thank good. she doesn't need more ..

I think going back to her regular dose will be fine, as long as she is eating. Remember to feed her small meals, so she doesn't throw up, and test as needed.

I wish you a good day. Please give Noni some soft loving pets from me, okay?
 
The packaging looks different (mine comes in a plastic jar tub) but the contents sound the same so I think that's it .. Cosequin for cats is the brand name anyway so it should be it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top