3/25 Mouzer: PMPS 109/+1 90/+2 58/+2.5 51/+3 58/+3.5 47/+4 62/+4.5 61/+5.5 64/+6 77/+10.75 103

It takes 30 mins for the food to affect the BG. If you don’t give it time and you find after 20 mins that he’s still low and give more HC, you can overdo it. Of course, he has earned a reduction so there is no reason to not give him a good helping of HC and get the numbers up.

You are doing great, Cherryl. Lather, rinse, repeat as the saying goes. You’ve got lots of good help so I’ll bow out but just wanted to clarify that unless the BG is in the 30s, it’s best to give it 30 mins between tests.
 
It takes 30 mins for the food to affect the BG. If you don’t give it time and you find after 20 mins that he’s still low and give more HC, you can overdo it. Of course, he has earned a reduction so there is no reason to not give him a good helping of HC and get the numbers up.

That reduction is to take him from 2.0u to 1.75u in the morning?
 
Yes and I added some to the post above so please be sure and read.

Congrats! BTW, if he bounces up into yellow in the morning, you can test at +11 and if he’s still yellow, shoot an hour early. That will help get back on track.

I see edit and thank you and I do have to ask ...
What is a 'good helping' of HC :D
 
So Cherryl, I've got to head to bed soon, but let's come up with a game plan for tonight. You're going to get a +4 test. I think I would get a +4.5 and then a +5.5 and if Mouzer is well on his way up, then I would give him and you a break and call it a night. If he's still low at +4, give him two tsp HC (I think that's what Marje meant).
 
So Cherryl, I've got to head to bed soon, but let's come up with a game plan for tonight. You're going to get a +4 test. I think I would get a +4.5 and then a +5.5 and if Mouzer is well on his way up, then I would give him and you a break and call it a night. If he's still low at +4, give him two tsp HC (I think that's what Marje meant).

Thank You! And thank you for being here! Sleep Well!
 
A couple of tsp or a heaping tsp with gravy. You don’t want him to be overfull. And I am about to fall sound asleep so I don’t want to intrude here with all the great help you are getting.

Go get some sleep! I will survive ahahahaahahaa
Thank you and everyone else for being here! I appreciate you all so very much!
 
Thank You! And thank you for being here! Sleep Well!
Happy to be of help, you're doing great! I always say that more than half of what happens on this board is intense psychological training for caregivers. It's hard to be told about hypoglycemia and not worry about it happening, but once you've gone through the low numbers scenario enough times, have the right tools to keep the kitty up, and collect enough data to know how your cat responds, you will find yourself panicking less.
 
Happy to be of help, you're doing great! I always say that more than half of what happens on this board is intense psychological training for caregivers. It's hard to be told about hypoglycemia and not worry about it happening, but once you've gone through the low numbers scenario enough times, have the right tools to keep the kitty up, and collect enough data to know how your cat responds, you will find yourself panicking less.

Less panic will be fantastic :D
 
He has earned his reduction. If you'd like you can feed MC to take him up a bit more. So you can get to bed sooner rather than later!

I would love to go to bed but my mind keeps telling me the longer he is green, the better the chances of remission.
Am I wrong or is this so? Because if it is so, I will stay up and ride this out in hopes for eventual remission in the days to come.
 
I would love to go to bed but my mind keeps telling me the longer he is green, the better the chances of remission.
Am I wrong or is this so? Because if it is so, I will stay up and ride this out in hopes for eventual remission in the days to come.
Longer greens are always better in term of healing the pancreas. One can try for remission, but there's no guarantee of whether and when it will happen. Since he is new to green, you can stay up and see how this cycle plays out - any data is good data and all that. But you have to take care of yourself too - to be able to take care of your many furkids! :bighug:
 
Longer greens are always better in term of healing the pancreas. One can try for remission, but there's no guarantee of whether and when it will happen. Since he is new to green, you can stay up and see how this cycle plays out - any data is good data and all that. But you have to take care of yourself too - to be able to take care of your many furkids! :bighug:

His +5.5 is 64 and I gave him 2tsp MC ...
Add 4 tablespoons of LC to that. Mouzer was hungry. He did not eat is meal time food this evening with the 1tsp at a time.
The total PM food intake as now come out to his normal 6 tablespoons plus two teaspoons,
which he does sometimes go into two more teaspoons above the 6 tablespoons, nearing 7 tablespoons for PM eating.
I will call him at flat numbers now and go get some sleep.
 
Last edited:
One more test after Mouzer completed his pm intake of food and now I will get to bed ...
pmps +6 77

I think tonight has shown that food is helping to keep Mouzer's numbers up to where we need them.
Just knowing this eases my mind. I hope it was the food, anyhow :)
 
I think you can feed and go to bed, Cherryl! He should be fine. :-)
Well done today - shot your lowest preshots - TWICE, two back to back cycles in the green, earned a reduction! Basically checked almost every box! :bighug:
 
I think you can feed and go to bed, Cherryl! He should be fine. :)
Well done today - shot your lowest preshots - TWICE, two back to back cycles in the green, earned a reduction! Basically checked almost every box! :bighug:

I am comfy now at 100 and even 90 ... We will see about lower hahahaha
I would stay up and continue filling boxes but I better sleep, so I can do tomorrow around this place :)
You have a great day!!
 
2 hours to AMPS or are you advancing the shot by half an hour?

Marje told me to test and see if he is in yellow, if he would have been in yellow, I could have moved back one hour, but he is blue lol so, I will only move back the 30 minutes. I will be at 6:30a/p est for shot today. I am fixing to go test again and be ready to give his shot. I wish he would have been in yellow, to get the move back a little further ahahaha I will be coming back shortly, with a new condo. I did just fix that to +10.75 :)
 
Back
Top