Mindy & Max
Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10071
Well, I didn't get the answers I needed yesterday. I really need them now as we're quickly moving into territory where I have no idea what to do...and obviously I don't want to make my cat go hypo, but I also don't want to screw up his general downward trend on his numbers by skipping a shot.
PMPS yesterday was 126 so I gave the full 2U dose. At +3.5 he was at 81. At +7.5 he was at 58, so I gave him some low-carb food to keep him from dropping too low (based on last weekend's curve, he's hitting nadir around +8-10). As much as I'd like to, I cannot stay up all night to test him and still make it to work the next day...and I can't take any time off. I'm also dealing with some weird insomnia issues (stress related, most likely), and waking every 3 hours to test at night won't work either as I have an unbelievably difficult time getting back to sleep. DH is out of town this week, and waking up with the kids is hard enough.
AMPS today was 103. I gave a 1.5U dose, and I'm hoping that will keep him green/blue without making him go hypo as I can't get home today until +10.5. Did I do the right thing? Because I can't be home during the day, and I can't be up all night, I'm afraid I can't hold a dose long enough for him to "earn" a decrease because I can't see when he's dropping low enough (or too low, for that matter). What do I do?
Well, I didn't get the answers I needed yesterday. I really need them now as we're quickly moving into territory where I have no idea what to do...and obviously I don't want to make my cat go hypo, but I also don't want to screw up his general downward trend on his numbers by skipping a shot.
PMPS yesterday was 126 so I gave the full 2U dose. At +3.5 he was at 81. At +7.5 he was at 58, so I gave him some low-carb food to keep him from dropping too low (based on last weekend's curve, he's hitting nadir around +8-10). As much as I'd like to, I cannot stay up all night to test him and still make it to work the next day...and I can't take any time off. I'm also dealing with some weird insomnia issues (stress related, most likely), and waking every 3 hours to test at night won't work either as I have an unbelievably difficult time getting back to sleep. DH is out of town this week, and waking up with the kids is hard enough.
AMPS today was 103. I gave a 1.5U dose, and I'm hoping that will keep him green/blue without making him go hypo as I can't get home today until +10.5. Did I do the right thing? Because I can't be home during the day, and I can't be up all night, I'm afraid I can't hold a dose long enough for him to "earn" a decrease because I can't see when he's dropping low enough (or too low, for that matter). What do I do?