3/25 Lucy PMPS=355;+2.5=311 // Puked!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=200 (s1u); +1=185; +2=203; +9.5=178
PMPS=191 (s1u); +2=176; ;+4=200; +8.5=191

Today
AMPS=198 (s1u); +1=227; +2=221; +10.25=373
PMPS=355 (s1u); +1=346; +2.5=311

Today is one of those mornings where I can't really tell how Lucy is feeling.
Definitely not particularly good.
I can't tell if something is bothering her or if she's just being neutral.
She ate the 1st breakfast fine.

Lucy's dental appointment is set for April 17.
That's 3 and half weeks away.
If I keep worrying for 3 and half weeks constantly, I will be miserable by the actual appointment, and that's not a good momma quality.
So instead I am going to follow Liz and Anne's motto - "More petting, less worry."
And I will try to fill my mind with positive thoughts, like how much better she will be feeling after this.

During the appointment on Saturday, the vet said that I may want to consider a full body x-ray before the dental, if I decide to do the dental after the b/w results.
She said it's not a must, but just an option.
I didn't quite understand the purpose of this, so I e-mailed, and she replied: " Mainly I do it in older cats before a general anesthetic as a tool together with blood work to help ensure there is no reason NOT to do an anesthetic. For example (worst case scenario) if there was something like cancer that's spread into the chest cavity. Its very unlikely, just a way to make us all a little more comfortable about going ahead. "
So I may bring her to the regular vet before dental to do this.

I asked the dental clinic to ask the anesthesiologist what anesthesia protocol she plans to use for Lucy, and I'm waiting for their call now.
When they call, I'm also going to ask what A/B the doctor plans to send her home with, because I think she will need some as she needs at least one tooth pulled out.
So if what they want to give only comes in sweet liquid, I'll have time to have it compounded.

Anything else I should be asking?

I hope everyone's having a nice day.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Mariko,

Hope Lucy`s dental goes well. I had one vet tell me that only give Covenia shots for the antibiotic and do not send them home with anything :roll: I know I will not be taking my cat there for a dental.
When my cat Arthur had his dental and 9 teeth pulled they sent him home with Clavamox, but I think they might use Clindamycin as well but not sure about that.

Terri
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Most ABs also come in pill form. In many cases, vet's will opt for a liquid because they figure it's easier for you to give than to pill your cat.

You want to make sure the vets are clear that you don't want Convenia as an AB (it's a 2+ week shot and if Lucy has a reaction, once it's in, it's in) or Metacam as a pain med. If there are extractions, most of us ask for buprenorphine/buprenex ("bupe") for pain.

I've never heard of a full body x-ray being done if the blood work is fine and the cat is asymptomatic. It seems like a good way for the vet to make a few extra dollars.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

My vetty doesn't do a full-body x-ray, but they do a chest x-ray on older kitties to make sure there isn't an underlying, undetected heart condition. They do the x-ray the day of the dental, and this way they can determine if it's safe to proceed, plus they use this information to determine exactly which type of anesthesia is best given the cat's overall state of health.

At leat this is what they told me, and since they tend to be excessivly thorough, it did make sense to me!

I hope Lucy is feeling better by now. I think we can all relate to how you worry, and we should all take Zener's advice to heart!
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Morning Mariko - the three weeks wait was hard on me too, but I like the idea of following Zener's motto. cat_pet_icon

When I talked to the same dental vetty, he said Clindamycin was their AB of choice and was OK with pill form. I also wrote no Metacam, no Convenia on the form you fill out when you get there. I think bupe was their pain killer of choice anyway. The vet website says they may ask for a chest X-ray, but I think they just want to make sure the heart is fine going in. If the vet's office didn't ask for one, you probably don't need to do it.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Thank you Terri and Sienne,
Yes, I am going to say "No Convenia, No Metacam", and will write it on the form they will give me.

About the x-ray, I would have thought so if it didn't come from this particular vet.
She is usually very considerate and helpful about making things affordable for her clients.
She was the one who first told me to buy Lantus from pharmacy rather than from them when I didn't know I could do that.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Thank you, Amy and Wendy...
I know I'd like at least a chest x-ray done, for my peace of mind.

I'm trying to decide if I should get this done at my regular vet (might as well do a full body), or at the dental vet.
If something bad shows that says she shouldn't go ahead with the dental, I would like to know before the appointment day.
But I'm thinking that maybe the specialist clinic may have a better equipment?
Are all x-ray machines pretty much the same?
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198 // Dental Preparation?

Hi Mariko,
Do they do dental x rays? The vets here where we live (rural area) do not, so I worried when Rusty had an extraction. But he was fine. Everyone on the Board always says that dental x rays are very important, both before any extractions and after (to make sure all the bad tooth was extracted).

You can ask them for a complete list of what they will do and what drugs they will use during the procedure (before, during, and after). Did Sienne refer you to the checklist of things her vet practice recommends? Here is the link, just in case you don't already have it:
http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com...guide-to-comparing-veterinary-dental-services

I'm sure it will all go well and since you have a few weeks to worry, try not to!!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221 // Dental Preparation?

Morning Mariko, waiting is hard to do, hope all goes well for miss Lucy.
My vets out here in Oregon won't give anything for pain or antibiotics after even if I beg, say they don't have pain like us, there torture centers here, I feel so bad for my cats they say the stuff they give has pain med to last them, not sure if that's true or not..
Good luck with vetti appt.
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221 // Dental Preparation?

Hi Mariko! Waiting is so hard to do! Many hugs :YMHUG: . I don't have anything to add on the xrays, other than no one in town that I asked does them...but for Chyna, I did up a sheet with all my contact info with no Convenia, no Metacam written at the top in big letters to stick in her file (I wrote it on the release form for the dental too). Chyna had an absessed tooth, so she was on the AB "Clavaseptin" (tablets) before the surgery to bring the infection down and then was also on it afterwards with bupe for pain.

Give Lucy and Ginger some scritches from me. You're an awesome bean to take such good care of your girls :-D
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221 // Dental Preparation?

the only thing i would add is that if you give clindamycin, especially, it can cause diarrhea. it's a great AB for mouth bacteria and i gave it to punkin several times. i learned the hard way that he needed probiotics with it to counter the diarrhea. i'd start giving her fortiflora a couple of days in advance, just for insurance, then keep it up throughout any antibiotic.

you're asking good questions. the one about the quality of the x-ray equipment in the different vet offices is one you can ask them.

i'd try to not worry too much! if that's possible - i know easier said than done. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221 // Dental Preparation?

X-ray equipment has changed over time. The age of the equipment might be a good question to ask your vet. Not all vets have changed over to digital X-ray equipment, which is what the dental specialists have (and you pay for ;-) ). Civie Theo's vet has digital X-rays for main body X-rays, but still have analog equipment for dental X-rays.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221;+10.25=373! // Puked!!!

Well I stayed at the office longer than usual today because she was yellow in the morning.
I came back to a huge puddle of pukes.
It was food, so I guess she vomited right after I left this morning.

It might be poo related, because the pukes were right next to the LB, and there was poo in the box.
But it makes me think she was actually sick because she's pink.
She seems to be feeling OK now.....

Marje's Gracie and Sienne's Gabby and Gizmo got sick recently too, so I am concerned.....
I feed her 3oz made in Canada Wellness.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221;+10.25=373! // Puked!!!

Mariko,

I would be concerned as well. If it gets any worse and she is not eating please take her to the vet. Between the food poisoning episodes on the board, pancreatitis and cat flu going around who knows what could be the cause. Many prayers going your way for you and Lucy.

Terri
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221;+10.25=373! // Puked!!!

Hi Mariko, I will say a prayer for Lucy to feel better. Let us know how she is doing.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy AMPS=198;+2=221;+10.25=373! // Puked!!!

I would keep an eye on things. If Lucy continues to vomit and/or has diarrhea as well, I'd get Lucy in to your vet. Gabby had been throwing up multiple times and had diarrhea when I called the vet and got prescriptions.
 
Re: 3/25 Lucy PMPS=355 // Puked!!!

Obviously, her appetite is poor, but she ate about 1/4 portion of dinner.
I'm going to feed her slowly this evening.
And I'll do sub-q fluids later.

I'll keep an eye on her.
So far no diarrhea.
 
Thank you for the vines and well wishes and advice.

Lucy has eaten a little more than 2/3 of her dinner, and is so far keeping it down.
No diarrhea, but maybe a little gassy....
Her posture is relaxed, but she isn't herself yet.
I'm sure the stinky pinky isn't helping.

My vet is about 7 min drive away and so is ER - at this time of a day with no traffic.
They are actually more or less across the street from each other.
The regular vet does provide 24/7 emergency service too, so at least I'm not worried about not being able to see a vet if needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top