3/25 Gobbles PMPS 324 +5 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91665

Good morning everyone Gobbles woke up in a sweet, kissy & purry mood! I can tell just by looking at him that he's feeling better. He ate 1/3 can FFLC, hung in the LR for a little while and then sauntered back to bed. As you may know, Gobbles' was taken to the emergency vet due to diarrhea and vomiting yesterday morning. Regarding the rx's that were sent home from the emergency vet (bottle instructions):

Amforol: 1/2 tab 2xday/every 12 hours. finish (10 servings)

Metronidazole: 1/2 tab by mouth once a day/every 24 hours. finish (6 servings)

Metroclopramide: 1 ml/cc by mouth 3x day/every 8 hours as needed for vomiting

OT: I think my daughter is the most beautiful woman in the world. She homestested Gobbles for me the other day when I had to leave for 4 hours and had stalled his insulin shot due to low BG's. Can you vote for her please? She is an entrant in the People Magazine Real Beauty At Every Age Contest. Here's the link--go down to the white box to the right of "filter by age" and type her name in: Angelia -- She should be the only woman that shows up ("Angelia W." Age 21)--close up of girl with green eyes and wavy auburn hair. Then click on the heart to vote. She really needs to build some confidence and realize what a beautiful, strong woman she is: http://specials.people.com/realbeauty/gallery.jsp

OT: Basket Raffle Update--As of 3/24/13:
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $655 RAISED!!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat

Our goal is $1,000 in ticket sales to raise money for FDMB! We are only $345 away!!! There are still 13 days left to get your ticket (ends 4/7/13). Please consider buying one soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are so awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20.

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase. There are links in that post to see pictures of all the fabulous prizes: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

I hope Gobbles continues to feel better and better as the day goes on.
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Morning Kat,
This is a great report for Gobbles!!!! I'm so very glad he's feeling better. And you sound much better!!! DOUBLE YAY!!!
Sending you lots of vines and prayers for total recovery quickly. have a wonderful day! many hugs to you and scritches to Gobbles.
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Morning Kat, great to hear that Gobbles is feeling better :smile: have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Wow! I just noticed I've made more than 2050 posts thus far!!!! That's roughly 500 a month for me/16 per day :lol: I want to thank everyone, from the bottom and my & Gobbles' heart, for your concern, kind wishes, prayers & vines yesterday. Paws crossed, he's on his way to recovery!
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Morning Kat :-D I hope Gobby continues to keep feeling better & is well on his road to recovery! (((HUGS)))) & {{{{HEALING VINES}}}} & I hope you get some relaxing moments after this past weekend's roller coaster ride. (You Do like roller coasters, correct? ) haha_smiley Have a wonderful day Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Morning Kat and Gobbles, so glad he is feeling better today and you have all the meds for a complete recovery. That was quite a scare, and you sure handled it great! Gobbles is a lucky kitty. Sending healing and recovery vines.
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

milfordcollector said:
Morning Kat :-D I hope Gobby continues to keep feeling better & is well on his road to recovery! (((HUGS)))) & {{{{HEALING VINES}}}} & I hope you get some relaxing moments after this past weekend's roller coaster ride. (You Do like roller coasters, correct? ) haha_smiley Have a wonderful day Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon dancing_cat dancing_cat
Thanks Cindy--I USED to like rollercoasters, but not anymore :lol:
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Good morning! ~O) So glad to hear Gobbles is feeling better this a.m. He is so lucky to have you for his mom. I hope you and Gobbles have a fantastic day. Voted for your lovely daughter, so fingers crossed for her. Keep us posted!
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

I'm so glad to hear Gobby is starting to feel better - awesome news!!!

I'm still waiting to hear back from my Mom about her prize choices. I'll have to give her a call today!!!
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I'm so glad to hear Gobby is starting to feel better - awesome news!!!

I'm still waiting to hear back from my Mom about her prize choices. I'll have to give her a call today!!!
I'm so glad to see him better to you; he was just preening himself and took a pee. Mom's can be so indecisive...LOL!
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Gobbles appears to be feeling better--eating (picky), peeing, preening, being cute...but I found a bit of very soft/diarrhea in LB (not an "explosion" like yesterday) probably left there about noon today. He started his meds yesterday; I wonder if it takes a little bit of time for them to work? The Raglan syrup I gave him last night looks like pretty nasty stuff - he got 1 ml.... and I wonder if there is sugar in the syrup?
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

It can take more than 24 hours for the drugs to work.

Did the vet at the ER give you the metocloprimide? I'd call where ever you got it and ask what the ingredients are. I can't tell from a web search if there's a sugar base.
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Sienne and Gabby said:
It can take more than 24 hours for the drugs to work.

Did the vet at the ER give you the metocloprimide? I'd call where ever you got it and ask what the ingredients are. I can't tell from a web search if there's a sugar base.
Yes, it is a sticky orange liquid--1 ml up to 3x day as needed. I gave him one dose last night, just in case he started vomiting while I was sleeping (well, so he wouldn't). I did not give him any today and the only time he has vomited was yesterday morning (before I left for the emergency vet). I don't plan on giving him any unless he vomits. The thing with Gobbles is that when he vomits--he cries right before; a very pathetic, loud meow (and only uses that meow as a predecessor to vomiting!)

Thanks for the info. I figured that perhaps the metronidazole might take a day or two, since it is like an antibiotic, correct?
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Gobby's playing with a toy mouse--surely a sign he feels better!!!
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Sienne and Gabby said:
Both of the other meds are antibiotics.
I'm so glad they are both antibiotics. BTW, Gobbles had a nasty bout of gardiasis (sp?) about 5 years ago; perhaps that is what he has now--I would think if that's the case, the A/B would probably rid him of it. Wendy (& Tiggy) had brought it to my attention that he may have picked up something in the vet's office....although he never walks on the floor while at the office, he does go up on the exam table and in the back for lab draws....and I think that some of the bacterial nasties are zoonotic...lots of handwashing here, just in case! (I had googled gardiasis, and it is zoonotic....) And also, have to worry about other cats catching it....
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Sienne and Gabby said:
It can take more than 24 hours for the drugs to work.

Did the vet at the ER give you the metocloprimide? I'd call where ever you got it and ask what the ingredients are. I can't tell from a web search if there's a sugar base.
I called there and they re-open later this evening (closed at 8 a.m. this morning)....
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Glad to see that Gobbles is feeling better today then yesterday. Playing with mousie...good!!!
Meds - you said syrup....then it probably has sugar in it.
Have a good day! Hugs and kisses to you and Gobbles
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles AMPS 429 +3 339 +5 358 ? diarrhea again

Deb & Spot said:
Glad to see that Gobbles is feeling better today then yesterday. Playing with mousie...good!!!
Meds - you said syrup....then it probably has sugar in it.
Have a good day! Hugs and kisses to you and Gobbles
Thanks Deb! How sweet :)
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles PMPS 324

Gobbles vet said it was OK to give him cypro; I gave him 1/3 tab at AM+11.5 and his appetite increased noticeably.
 
Re: 3/25 Gobbles PMPS 324

I'm glad Gobbles is doing better today. I hope the meds continue to help and he gets completely over this quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top