3/25, Falafel, PMPS 192 +2 205 m

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-falafel-amps-234-2-276-4-290.288040/

My sister gave Falafel’s PM shot today. It did not go well. I don’t know if she can give one tomorrow PM as I have another work event.

I couldn’t find a cat sitter who is willing to give an insulin shot in my area (including the vet techs) since I live in an out of the way place.

Tomorrow night I’m thinking worst case we might have to skip the shot? Is there anything I can do for AMPS tomorrow to mitigate this? Appreciate any advice.
 
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-falafel-amps-234-2-276-4-290.288040/

My sister gave Falafel’s PM shot today. It did not go well. I don’t know if she can give one tomorrow PM as I have another work event.

I couldn’t find a cat sitter who is willing to give an insulin shot in my area (including the vet techs) since I live in an out of the way place.

Tomorrow night I’m thinking worst case we might have to skip the shot? Is there anything I can do for AMPS tomorrow to mitigate this? Appreciate any advice.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
What happened with your sister and the PM shot?
Was she letting her eat while giving the shot.?
I notice yesterday you said you smelt ketones on her fur after she was cleaning herself. If that is the case I would not be skipping any doses of insulin.
There isn’t anything you can do in the am really to change the Pm dose
 
What happened with your sister and the PM shot?
Was she letting her eat while giving the shot.?
I notice yesterday you said you smelt ketones on her fur after she was cleaning herself. If that is the case I would not be skipping any doses of insulin.
There isn’t anything you can do in the am really to change the Pm dose
Okay, I had a talk with her and she said she can try again tonight. I think both my sister and Falafel found it very stressful, she said Falafel kept getting away from her and running under the bed. Yesterday my brother was helping to try to hold Falafel but tonight I told her to try shooting alone as Falafel is quite peaceful, and I think my brother freaked her out and caused her to run and hide.

My sister watched me give Falafel fluids at +4 PM and saw how calm she was, so I think she has a better idea of what she can do to keep her relaxed.
 
Back
Top