3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5/70 +6/91 +8/110; PMPS 210 - HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning LL!

We did the increase this morning to 1.25u. We're celebrating the yellows this morning after surfing the 300s most of the day yesterday! Baby steps.

Maybe her shed is filled now? I figure I will check her at +6 and +8 since she is late to drop. Have a great day today! We're having sunny weather in the South.
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242

Good luck on this new dose for Emma. Those yellows are prettier than pink, for sure!

And send some of that sunshine up I-75 to Tennessee, it's raining right now. :sad:
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242

I hope that dose increase gets Emma into even prettier numbers. What is the amitriptalyine for? Just curious.
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242

It's looking like Emma surfed in the yellows from yesterday into today!

Emma's shed was probably filled at her previous dose. That's the good news. When you increase a dose, you need to add a bit to the shed, as well. It's often why with a new dose you can get some wonky numbers (aka NDW or New Dose Wonkiness).

Isn't the amytriptyline for stress-related inappropriate elimination?
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242

She has cystitis and has a lot of anxiety when it comes to using her litter box. She'll defecate in it, but not urinate. She will just go in the middle of the floor where her box is. She's even urinated on the other cat's food in that room. We're hoping this will help with some of that anxiety she has. So far, not much change, but it will take awhile to get into her system.

Thanks for the yellow wishes! After the cure yesterday she doesn't want me near her ears :)

Sienne, thank you for the NDW reasoning! It makes sense. Fingers crossed for a good mid-day check!
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5 70

Holy cow! This is a huge change from yesterday. I'll test her again at +6, +7 and +8 as she tends to be low during that time of the day. I'm just in shock that a .25 increase could do this!
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5 70

Looks like the increase did some good work. :) Hope it continues for Emma. I hope the amitryptyline helps with the urination. That must be frustrating.
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5 70

Hrm... if you are able to manage.. might be best to try and get more tests in the first half of her cycle tonight and tomorrow.. someone smarter will probably be able to give you more specifics :).

Oh and don't freak out if she goes high later today.. her liver may have some opinions about that green she's not used to! :)
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5 70

Good idea Dawn. I'll pull several tonight and tomorrow. If I test her tonight PMPS and she is 120 or lower, I shouldn't give a shot right?

Sarah, you have no idea how frustrating it is. It seems to be helping some today. They prescribed her 2 ml BID, but I've read so much about it making kitties drunk, so I'm only doing half the dose as she isn't a high strung cat to begin with. I hope we can keep it a lose dose b/c she hates taking it!
 
Re: 3/25 Emma AMPS 242; +5 70

greytblackdog said:
Good idea Dawn. I'll pull several tonight and tomorrow. If I test her tonight PMPS and she is 120 or lower, I shouldn't give a shot right?

And get some checks this afternoon too of course (to see if shes bouncing off the green.. or maybe get an idea where her nadir is).. you probably know that, but just to be sure :).. although Emma's ears might disagree.. the more info you can get, the quicker you can get her to happy happy land..

As for where your shot/no shot number is.. I don't know.. I'm not a good person to ask! :) .. it's always best (esp if theres movement like you are seeing) if you can grab a +11.. so if anything seems a lil crazy you have time to ask for advice..
 
Thank you! LL is new to me. I knew exactly what to do with Vetsulin, but I had no idea such a small increase would produce such drastic results. I'll try to stick her one more time before bed.
 
Heather -

I meant to ask you if your vet did an EKG before prescribing the amitriptyline? It can exacerbate cardiac conduction abnormalities and a baseline EKG is needed to make sure there are no cardiac problems. I also came across this link. It mentions that this drug, and other tricyclic antidepressants, can alter BG levels (raise or lower) and it isn't recommended in diabetics.
 
He did do an EKG. At 12 1/2 she's got a great ticker.

What worries me now is the BG altering. I think I will avoid this tomorrow and see if it makes any difference. Thank you so much for the link. She's been doing better with the urination today. Fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top