3/25 Cobb PMPS 216 +2.75 233 +7.5 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Higher than we want, but I've noticed Cobb likes to start the day in the pinks and then come down...sometimes pretty far. I can't give any R until later this afternoon. I'm not getting caught in a give R then bounce cycle, am I? I'd rather not be giving the R every day.

Anyway, P's are in place. Appetite is good.

Have a great Tuesday!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325

Morning, Suzanne and Cobb ~O)

Unfortunately, I have no answer for you with regards to the R, as I've never used it before. I hope that Cobb gives you a lovely surf today. Try and have a good day.
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325 +3.5 311 +5 269 +6 252 +10.5 171 PMPS

go cobb!!

no, i don't think you're having any problems from using the R. looks good to me. i do think you could increase if you want and depending on your schedule for the next couple of days. He hasn't seen green for 10 days, so there's room to increase.

eta - i'm rethinking this. those 120's yesterday and the day before . . . it depends on what your goal is. If you're wanting him to be in greens, then an increase would be ok. if you're looking for blues, he's getting there now. if you want to just tweak things a little, then perhaps a 0.5u increase would be helpful.

what do you think?
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325 +3.5 311 +5 269 +6 252 +10.5 171 PMPS

Ugh...I don't know what my goal is. I don't know what is even realistic.

I feel I can keep him under 250, at least until we get the tests done. I feel like the vet, even though she has experience with a high dose cat, is going to think I'm doing something wrong by giving him all this insulin. I feel confident that I can keep him under 250, but not in the greens. I mean, how much higher do I have to go in a dose? He on A LOT of insulin. I love Cobb and Matt does too, but we are going through this insulin at a fast pace with no hopes of going down in dose. It's not that we can't afford it, but we're going through a vial roughly every month. It isn't cheap, as everyone here knows.

I really don't know what to do, to be honest. I'm hoping he has a tooth infection that will lower his dose once cleared up. But then you introduce the cost and risk of the dental. Given our history, I could take him in for a dental and the anesthesia could kill him.

I really am at a loss right now. I'm seeing more blues, which is great. I am scared to change his dose because it seems like every time I go up .5, I get worse numbers and it takes another 1.5 units to get them down again.
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325 +3.5 311 +5 269 +6 252 +10.5 171 PMPS

(((suzanne))) been there. it's not a happy spot to be in. other cats seem so easy compared to a high dose kitty, although they often have their own issues to deal with.

i have no way of knowing how high in dose Cobb will go, but a lot of acro cats seem to settle in around 20-25 units. no way to know what he'll do.

i think given all of that, i'd probably hold the dose. that sounds a little more comfortable for you, and i think it's a reasonable choice.

if only there were a crystal ball to let us know what was coming. i think back on when we were one income with a baby and i know i could never have afforded punkin at that time. have you considered contacting one of the groups that helps with costs of a diabetic cat?
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325 +3.5 311 +5 269 +6 252 +10.5 171 PMPS

I've started looking into it. All I know about is DCIN. I'm looking into whether it is possible to order from a Canadian pharmacy, maybe the pens? But to do that since shipping takes awhile, I'll either have to have a backup vial - which I could do a - or really plan ahead.

I admit we don't know if it is acro or IAA yet. But with acro I hear about the tumor waxing and waning...how quickly does that happen? It just seems like we're going up and up and up. With IAA, I read there comes a point where you break through the antibodies. I know it took Black Kitty 21 months to break through. But it's just like...where is the breaking point? What more can I do? Am I feeding the right thing? Does he have an undiagnosed infection (part of me hopes so!)? Should I be giving R whenever he starts climbing over 200 to keep him in the 100s? Sometimes I see a great response to the at. Sometimes I don't see that it is doing anything. I feel like I have a good grasp on his reaction to the R. I haven't noticed him plummet on .1unit. At what point should I try .2units? I feel like, given the response to the R that I've seen, I feel comfortable giving it and not being tied to the house for 5 hours. I know sometimes the R prevents a larger climb...but that's hard to see, especially since the dose is so small that I'm not always sure he got any of it at all. (I have started pulling back his fur a little more so I can see the plunger move.)

I'm rambling now. These are things that are swirling around in my head pretty much every day. And I know it's difficult treating a high dose kitty. I just really do not understand why 18 units is enough to pull him into the greens, which then sets off a bounce which I feel like we never recover from. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 3/25 Cobb AMPS 325 +3.5 311 +5 269 +6 252 +10.5 171 PMPS

the last bunch of pens i had for punkin - i think i bought 4 boxes, perhaps - were from someone on craigslist whose elderly diabetic dad had passed away. i think i paid around $200 or $250 for all of them. Her story seemed legit, she assured me they'd been refrigerated, the expiration date was a year away, and i met her to buy them and it all seemed ok to me. they were. so if you are careful, that might be another way to get it cheaply. i don't know if there is fake insulin out there that gets sold this way, but this woman was genuine and the insulin was all fine.

there is a section at the top of the LL page on financial aid. i was surprised how many options were out there - i'd only known of DCIN too.

as far as the R - i just saw your question from yesterday about should you have used it earlier. i thought shooting at 270 in the later half of the cycle was a good choice yesterday. the way to know if you can make it work to keep him under 200 is to try it. just always be aware of the nadirs coinciding and avoid it.

i've also wondered if you could use 0.25u. I never used less than 0.25u - mostly that was "our" dose. I did use 0.5u several times. in the high dose group and with BK you can see that people use several units. i didn't need that with punkin. i think you could also give that a try. consider your timing when you're home and see how it goes.

punkin only had acro. he only went up until we had the SRT. i think Cobb's ss looks a lot like punkin's in the summer of 2011.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top