3/25 Cleo +12.5 33, +13.75 AMPS 57 +2 92 +7 138 PMPS 168 +2.5 210

Well that’s enough to wake anyone up first thing in the morning :woot:. Great job catching a +11, those tests can be priceless particularly when dealing with low preshot numbers. A couple of thoughts to consider. The basic rule is feed the 40s or lower. Your AMPS dropped into low 30s, since you already knew it was a dropping, unless she is really carb sensitive, feeding a teaspoon or two of MC or HC would have been warranted. I usually say don’t mess with the 30s. Since +12.5 remains the same, I think it’s time to intervene with some carbs, you don’t want her lingering in the 30s.
 
Well that’s enough to wake anyone up first thing in the morning :woot:. Great job catching a +11, those tests can be priceless particularly when dealing with low preshot numbers. A couple of thoughts to consider. The basic rule is feed the 40s or lower. Your AMPS dropped into low 30s, since you already knew it was a dropping, unless she is really carb sensitive, feeding a teaspoon or two of MC or HC would have been warranted. I usually say don’t mess with the 30s. Since +12.5 remains the same, I think it’s time to intervene with some carbs, you don’t want her lingering in the 30s.
Very well said! Cleo woke me at +11 which is atypical for her unless she's dropping. I almost didn't get up to test because of how flat she had been in the PM cycle. She got a tsp of 7% at PM+11.
I don't mess with the 30s either :nailbiting:! I did intervene with some MC at AMBG 33. It was 12% MC but it includes tapioca starch which she is very sensitive to. It takes Cleo about 45mins to an hour before its reflected in the BG reading. I jumped the gun by testing at 12.5 out of sheer curiosity even though I know better :facepalm:. I should have waited at least 45 minutes.
I put on my patience pants and waited until 13.75 and got a 57 and a test of 60, so I shot the reduced dose of 1.75.
If you can think of anything else I'm always open to thoughts and opinions.
 
That’s good, I suspected you may have given some carbs, since this isn’t the first time Cleo has surprised you with a low AMPS, but since it wasn’t noted I thought I’d make the suggestion. The only thought I have is perhaps do the increase on an am cycle next time :rolleyes:. She could be one of those kitties who react to a little nudge in dose quickly. If that is the case, you can make some changes to snacks especially if you see the BGs dropping through the cycle like you did last night.
 
but since it wasn’t noted
AHH Thank you for the reminder! I usually do... eventually. Now that I'm fully caffeinated I'll update my notes.
The only thought I have is perhaps do the increase on an am cycle next time :rolleyes:. She could be one of those kitties who react to a little nudge in dose quickly.
Interestingly enough, she typically shows me movement on the 2nd cycle of the increase. Don't you just LOVE it when they decide to change their patterns. My mistake for being complacent:joyful:.
 
Low numbers in the AM, way more effective than coffee! :eek: Guess she was listening to that discussion about dose increases. :cat:

TR strongly suggests that the 33 means a full 0.25 unit reduction.
 
Back
Top