3/25 Cinco PMPS 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/24 Recap:
2.5 units bid
AMPS: 322
AM+3: 252
AM+6.5: 239
PMPS: 341
PM+5: 202
PM+7: 184

Yesterday's Condo

Cinco, what is with these PS numbers? Icky stinky pinky! Bleah!! I like that you eventually make it down to blue, but it would be so much easier to get there if you didn't start out so high! Let's work on that, shall we?

There was no lb action overnight, so I added a tsp of oil to his second breakfast, and two hours later I had a nice, big, stinky prezzy in the box (yay for IN the box!). :lol: I don't know if the oil could have worked that fast, or if it was the Miralax and squash he's been getting the past couple of days, but I'm glad we got that resolved! Maybe it will help his numbers come down?

The vet tech from the OV's office just called with her repeat of the pre-surgery instructions: No food after 8 pm tonight, no water after midnight, and half a dose of insulin in the a.m. I know I've seen this subject discussed here before, but my poor pee brain can't remember what the consensus was. Does anyone else give a half shot on an empty stomach the morning before surgery, or should I skip the dose altogether? She seemed pretty confident in that instruction, and I know they deal with diabetic animals alot, so I'm not sure I should question it, but it makes me a little nervous. What does everyone think? I did ask about what meds they give, and she mentioned Covenia, which I vetoed.

Sasha is still sniffling and sneezing, but I do think it's a little better. The humidifier ran out of water in the middle of the night :o , but it was still pretty stuffy in our room. She got up on the plant shelf and ate some dry food this morning, which pleased me, but she still picked at her breakfast, eating maybe one third. I'm on my way up now to see if she's polished off the rest. I'm thinking another bathroom steam session is in order. She is drinking a little more water, too - she loves to drink from the bathroom sink and she hadn't been doing it the past few days, but last night and this morning she got up and put her paw under the faucet like she normally does. Very encouraging.

Sending healing vines to all in need , and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Good vetty vines to Amy and Trixie, and also to Betty and Hank (praying for you, Hank!)
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

It looks like Cinco is doing a nice slide! Blue for mama bean, how pretty :-D

I hope others can weigh in on the insulin, I know a surgery is different than a dental and I've only had Chyna in for one dental. I've seen others that give half shots and I am paranoid so I guess I go with the "better too high for a day than too low for a moment" motto...I know anesthesia brings them lower for BG and I guess I just worry. Chyna didn't get insulin for several days after her dental but that was also her headed for remission...

Yay for poo, and IN the box! Maybe that is why he is so happy in blue :lol: . I'm glad that Sasha seems to be better. More healing vines are being sent! I'm thinking of you, Tricia. It's tough with all that you have going on :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

Yay for poo and better numbers!

Trix has only had one dental since her diagnosis...my vetty had us skip her shot. Personally, I would feel more comfortable skipping than shooting without food on board (and not being able to feed if necessary)...just my personal opinion.

We're thinking of you and starting the prayers now!!!
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

Hi Tricia,
My vet said no insulin before a dental (because of the anesthesia), so that's what we did. Good luck tomorrow!

Glad Sasha is feeling better. Rusty sneezes 9 or 10 times in a row frequently. It's how he gets up some of that chronic congestion. We also use l-lysine, although I'm not sure if it does Rusty much good (he's been taking it for 3+ years). Standard Process Allerplex helps loosen up the congestion.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

I only have experience with China's dental, but we got the same "1/2 dose in the AM with no food' advice that you did

I didn't feel comfortable giving any insulin without food for that long, so we skipped it too. They can monitor them during surgery and if they need insulin, use one of the fast acting ones like R

Good luck with the surgery!!

What they need to do is prescribe tranquilizers for the bean!! Waiting to hear it's over is the worst!!
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

Sending prayers everything goes well with the surgery tomorrow. I know they can monitor Cinco's BG, but since anesthesia lowers BG, if it was me I'd skip the shot in the morning. I'm glad Sasha is showing signs she feels better.
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

Neko has had two dentals and four days under anesthesia at CSU for imaging and stereoscopic radiation therapy. The first dental and four days at CSU the instructions were no food after midnight and half dose in the AM. Her first dental vetty said no dose in the PM after, as anesthesia can lower BGs. However, Neko was mostly swimming in reds and pinks for the first dental and at CSU. One CSU morning she gave me a blue AM and I did a quarter dose. At CSU, most days I picked her up before nadir. Neko's last dental from the specialist the instructions were 1/3 breakfast (before 7) and 1/4 dose. Naturally she gave me a 122 so I gave just a .1U dose and she still hit the 50's when they tested her mid day. My lesson learned, if in doubt, give no insulin and call it a fur shot.

You might want to call and see if you can feed later the night before. It would be just like a cat to have a great cycle that needs feeding that night. :roll:

Sending tons of good vetty vines for tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco AMPS 339 +3 159 Insulin before surgery?

My vet's instructions are for no food after 6 AM and half a dose of insulin. However, Gabby gets car sick and will throw up anything in her tummy after about 15 min. in the car. We decided no insulin was a better strategy.
 
Thanks for the info, Amy, Ella, Carla, Wendy, Chris & Sienne. The consensus seems to be not to shoot. That was my feeling, too. I'm just not comfortable giving insulin to a cat that hasn't eaten in over 12 hours. They want me to bring his food so they can feed him if he wants to eat when he wakes up. They also wanted me to bring the insulin and syringes, but I don't see a need for that, since they said I'd be picking him up between 4 and 5 and his shot time is 6:30. I'm planning to move it up some while my DH is away, but not as much as they'd be moving it if they shoot after the surgery! I just went around and made sure there was no food anywhere. Poor little guy is really gonna be hungry tomorrow, if the anesthesia doesn't make him sick. :sad:

I spent an hour in the steamy bathroom with Sasha this afternoon. She's such a good little cat. When I set her down in there she hopped up on the toilet and made herself comfortable. She entertained herself by watching the shower. I petted her and talked to her and got lots of head butts and kisses. I think she knew I was trying to help. I also think she does feel better in there. After the tub filled and I turned off the water (didn't let it get too full this time), I put her on a towel on the counter near the humidifier. She had to check it out, with me poised to snatch her back if she got too close to the steam. She sniffed a bunch and then started rubbing her face on it, like she was thanking it for making her feel better. Then she settled down on the towel and just hung out. After an hour I left her alone in there, checking every ten minutes to make sure she was okay. I offered her some water, which she only drank a little of. When I saw she'd moved back over to the toilet, I figured she'd had enough and left the door open. She stayed in there another fifteen minutes or so. But the best news is that she ate all her dinner, and even a little extra!! :-D Still wouldn't eat the pill pocket, though. She'd definitely feeling better.

Ella, I have been giving her, Minka and Harvey L-lysine for the duration of this cold, and Minka and Sasha have actually been on it for over a month, for their allergies She did not like the Allerplex sprinkled on or mixed in her food, so I was putting it in kitty sized capsules and using pill pockets, but now she's not eating those, so I'm not sure what I'll do about that.

Chris, I agree about the tranquilizers for the beans! I definitely plan on having a glass or two of wine after I get Cinco home tomorrow night, especially since I will be sole BIC, with my DH gone until Monday night!
 
Our anesthesiologist said she always recommends full meal, full dose in the morning and then do the dental four hours later. But, that's slot of variable you can't control and so, if it were me, I'd skip. I would not withhold food and give insulin.

Sending tons of good surgery vines.

I'm so glad Sasha is a bit better and hanging out in the WC :-D
 
Re: 3/25 Cinco PMPS 306 +3 331

Thanks, Marje.

I think he will do the surgery in the morning, shortly after Cinco gets there (following blood work, etc.), so that's why no food from 8pm on. I'm guessing he'll be under longer for an eye removal than for a dental. I have a lot of confidence in this Ophthalmologist, so I 'm inclined to do as instructed, except for the insulin. THEN Cinco has to go UP after his shot tonight, instead of down, causing me to question that decision, too! ARGH! I wish I had time for several adult beverages, but I have a lot to do before DH leaves tomorrow afternoon (never mind that my house is a sty and the in-laws will see it when they pick him up). :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top