3/25 China AMPS 94,+2 100,+4 101,+6 79,+8 85,+9.5 95,PMPS 119,+2 77,+4 64,+6.5 104 Worried | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

3/25 China AMPS 94,+2 100,+4 101,+6 79,+8 85,+9.5 95,PMPS 119,+2 77,+4 64,+6.5 104 Worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member since 2013
Yesterday's condo and dental day

3/24 AMBG 82,(+2 162,+4 204,+7 248 AT at vet)PMPS 274,+2 180,+4 91,+6 89

China's acting pretty bizarre today and it has me a little worried. She didn't eat very well at AMPS at all, and since I wasn't sure how well she'd eat today, I gave her a BCS instead of her full dose

She's VERY restless today....keeps coming to me, getting in my face (like when her BG is too low) but no matter what I try to feed her, she doesn't seem to want much....takes a lick and leaves and then comes back and starts the whole thing over again. Usually I can convince her to settle down and lay with me, but instead she jumps back down, disappears for a few minutes then comes back

No vomiting or signs of nausea that I can tell, but she IS drinking copious amounts of water

:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

P.S...looks like I made a good decision with the BCS this morning!! I've gotten her to eat little bits over the morning and she's back in the lagoon! Would be a total surprise if she holds this much of a reduction (heck, it would be a miracle) especially since the last two dentals have resulted in increased doses instead of decreasing like it's "supposed" to work ;)
 
Hopefully this is just a carry over from the dental and the meds they use. Sending appy vines for China and ((HUGS)) for you. It is always hard when our kitties aren't quite "right".
 
Yesterday's condo and dental day

3/24 AMBG 82,(+2 162,+4 204,+7 248 AT at vet)PMPS 274,+2 180,+4 91,+6 89

China's acting pretty bizarre today and it has me a little worried. She didn't eat very well at AMPS at all, and since I wasn't sure how well she'd eat today, I gave her a BCS instead of her full dose

She's VERY restless today....keeps coming to me, getting in my face (like when her BG is too low) but no matter what I try to feed her, she doesn't seem to want much....takes a lick and leaves and then comes back and starts the whole thing over again. Usually I can convince her to settle down and lay with me, but instead she jumps back down, disappears for a few minutes then comes back

No vomiting or signs of nausea that I can tell, but she IS drinking copious amounts of water

:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:

P.S...looks like I made a good decision with the BCS this morning!! I've gotten her to eat little bits over the morning and she's back in the lagoon! Would be a total surprise if she holds this much of a reduction (heck, it would be a miracle) especially since the last two dentals have resulted in increased doses instead of decreasing like it's "supposed" to work ;)
I like your PS. Glad she has eaten and is back in the lagoon! So glad she seems to be getting back to herself.
 
I wonder if it could be a side effect from the shot they gave her yesterday for pain. Maybe you should call the vet and ask. Sending prayers. :bighug:
 
I would definitely call the vet, too, especially since we're coming into a holiday weekend. Prayers from us, too....please keep us posted (I know you will)!!
 
I would get some bupe for pain. Max got enough for 5 days I think. Have you tried baby food? Feel better China.
 
Chris, did you look up the pain med they gave her to see what the side effects were? It could be a reaction from that or just the anesthesia . Here's hoping she feels better ASAP
 
Maybe you should call the vet and ask

I called and talked to the vet....she thinks that China may need more for pain control (DUHHHH...I asked for more oral bupe yesterday since I live an hour away and they said "that shot should last for 3 days so she shouldn't need anything else) but today she said it was a 24 hour shot and it sounds like she needs more. I mentioned that I asked for it yesterday (I have this crazy notion that I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it) and she said "oh yeah, that's my fault and I know it's quite a drive for you"....yeah lady....that's why I didn't want to have to do it again today!! Another 2+ hours in the car isn't my idea of a fun afternoon!!

I do have a few syringes of the bupe from last years dental left that have been stored in a dark place so she said I could try it....that it certainly wouldn't hurt her (although it may not help either), so I just gave her one of those and will see how she's doing in the next hour or so....if she doesn't settle down, I guess I'll get back in the car and do some more driving :mad::mad::mad:
 
Have you tried baby food?

Yes, she ate it better last night than today but has licked a little....I really think the pain shot from yesterday has just worn off and she's hurting.

Chris, did you look up the pain med they gave her to see what the side effects were?

Yes, I looked it up last night....from yesterday's condo:
She got a shot of something called "Simbadol" (which I'd never heard of, but after looking, it's a fairly new buprenorphine injection that was approved in July 2014) that's supposed to last for 24 hours....although they told me 72 hours. I really wish they'd call me before using China as a test subject!

Since it's the same buprenorphine, just an injection, I don't know why it would act so differently than it has in the past, but as we all know, things can change with our sugarcats!!
 
How very frustrating. I did look up Simbadol and it looks like anorexia and hyperactivity are two of the side effects.


ADVERSE REACTIONS: In two controlled field studies, the most frequent adverse reactions with SIMBADOL were hypotension, tachycardia, hypothermia, hyperthermia, hypertension, anorexia, and hyperactivity.
 
Yup, I think it's the shot. Sorry you have to make the drive. Very frustrating. I second Rhiannon's suggestion that you should stop for a treat for yourself on the way.

China, Mama is trying to understand what you want to tell her. Hang in there, Sweetie! You, too, Chris. :bighug:

Sending healing and calming vines (the latter for both of you).
 
as i remember, the injection doesn't work as well ....
maybe that's why she's acting odd....

I'd read that too (last year or year before?) but she's had injectable bupe before and didn't react like this (although I don't know if it was the exact same "Simbadol")

They gave me the impression yesterday that they've just started using the Simbadol (last year when she had a broken canine tooth and I wasn't comfortable trying to shove an oral syringe in her mouth) they gave me an injectable form, but on the bill it just said "buprenorphine injec".....this time the bill specifically said "Simbadol"
 
What a mess having to make the drive again. That's crazy. I hope China feels better later today. If her mouth were hurting, she might well lick at the food and not eat but look at you to figure out why. Poor baby, I hope it isn't her tattoo that is causing the problem...
 
Hi Chris, I hope that by now the Simbadol has worn off and you can use the "regular" bupe, if needed. It sure sounds like a reaction to the Simbadol. Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty

Yo Deputy China, You rest up today in the shallow end of the lagoon. We've got you covered.
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
 
Oh Chris, so sorry! I thought she was improving! Hope you can use the older meds for her but if you have to go back to vets, I wish you safe travels. Hope she feels better soon.
 
Have about 20 minutes before PMPS .....I'm the last person to be worried about shooting the full dose on green, but considering everything, do you think I should reduce the dose tonight too or go for the 2.75U? Or something in between?
 
If you're prepared to stay up with her should she decide to go shark hunting, and if she's eating, I'd shoot the 1.5, but if you'd rather get some rest, or she isn't eating well, you might want to do a BCS. China is in charge now, so who know what'll happen?
 
Chris, is she eating? Did you drive to the vets and get more pain med? Wondering if you saw mine and Sienne's post about opiates and side effects. Post # 14 and #22.
 
Yes @Bobbie And Bubba ....got new pain meds

She's been on oral bupe before as well as injectable....not sure if the "injectable bupe" she got before was the Simbadol or not though and this is the first time I've ever seen this kind of behavior in her

She's eating...just not "normally"....little bits here and there
 
OK....she ate almost all her usual 1oz of Natures Variety, so I went with 2.5....a little reduction...and of course I'll be watching her like a hawk tonight and have plenty of strips, HC food and maple syrup ready if necessary

Wish me luck...I'd be thrilled if she started earning (and holding) reductions...one right after the other for the next several months!
 
Since she's eating I think you were fine to shoot the 2.5. It took Max and Neko a long time to recover from their dentals. I'm hoping you don't have a pj party. Stress is very exhausting.
 
Good luck with the "partial" fur shot. When Neko was a bit off her food, I brought out the higher %carb LC as insurance.

Paws crossed the bupe she is used to makes her feel good again.

It took Neko about 10 days after the dentals for inflammation to go down and earn a reduction, except for the time last year when her Acro tumor was making her go up in dose.
 
Poor China. I hope the new pain meds start to kick in and help her feel better and that she stays in high green numbers for you tonight....or even low blue.
 
So the reduced dose didn't really make much difference, did it? I figured as much when she got so low on the 1.5 (yes, I knew that was already a BCS - I should have said "bigger BCS"). Remember, she probably didn't have a full depot then due to the skipped shot yesterday. I hope she behaves herself tonight! I can't even promise the boys will watch over her, as they are busy swinging through the trees. :rolleyes:
 
I hate when the vet doesn't realize the situation and give you the needed meds just in case..... when Dre was neutered he was pacing and so restless... I feel for you Chris:bighug::bighug::bighug:
She is a fighter--hopefully tomorrow she will be herself:cat:
 
Ugh! So frustrating when the vet won't listen to you and you get to do a big "I told ya so!". At least she apologized. That seems rare these days.

Hope China feels better soon. Lots of vines coming your way. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top