? 3/25 Bandit AMPS 250 +2.5 186 +11.25 262

Nicole_Bandit

Member Since 2023
Hi, I need dosing advise. I am using the TR method but not quite sure about dosing. I use an AlphaTrak2 pet meter. *Once this box of BG strips runs out, I'm switching to the Relion Premier Human Meter.* My sugar kitty Bandit is on Lantus insulin at 3u twice a day but has been on the 3u for a while. I'm seeking advise on dosing and if 3u looks like a good dose from the data I've gathered (SS attached). Also advise on what numbers I should increase or decrease the insulin dose. Spreadsheet is attached, hopefully I attached is correctly. Thank you!
 
Hi, I need dosing advise. I am using the TR method but not quite sure about dosing. I use an AlphaTrak2 pet meter. *Once this box of BG strips runs out, I'm switching to the Relion Premier Human Meter.* My sugar kitty Bandit is on Lantus insulin at 3u twice a day but has been on the 3u for a while. I'm seeking advise on dosing and if 3u looks like a good dose from the data I've gathered (SS attached). Also advise on what numbers I should increase or decrease the insulin dose. Spreadsheet is attached, hopefully I attached is correctly. Thank you!
Welcome Nicole and Bandit ,sorry no one has replied back to you so I'm going to tag a few experienced members for you to take a look at your SS
By the way can you move your 2023 Pet tab over to the far left so that the first thing we see when it opens.
I see you will be switching over to the Relion after the Alpha Trak strips run out.
That's great because that's what our numbers are based on.
When you do start using the Relion you will need to move that tab over to the far so that's what will open first when members look at it.
 
Hi, I need dosing advise. I am using the TR method but not quite sure about dosing. I use an AlphaTrak2 pet meter. *Once this box of BG strips runs out, I'm switching to the Relion Premier Human Meter.* My sugar kitty Bandit is on Lantus insulin at 3u twice a day but has been on the 3u for a while. I'm seeking advise on dosing and if 3u looks like a good dose from the data I've gathered (SS attached). Also advise on what numbers I should increase or decrease the insulin dose. Spreadsheet is attached, hopefully I attached is correctly. Thank you!
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Hi Nicole, you are holding doses too long. Even with SLGS, one evaluates the dose every week. If you are following TR, you need to get at least 1 mid-cycle test in both cycles. Do you think you can manage a test before bed every night?

I would take him up to 3.25U tomorrow. His nadirs seem to be largely over 150 and there is room for increase - even with SLGS.
 
Adding to what Bhooma (the other Bandit's Mom) said, with TR you need to get the two preshot tests each and every cycle, as well as one more per cycle, AM and PM. So that means a minimum of 4 tests a day. That is for safety, as TR is a more aggressive method than SLGS. If for some reason life, circumstances or your schedule do not allow the minimum number of tests required for TR, it's OK to follow SLGS instead. It's a dosing method created here that has had many cats on it that have done well.
 
Hi Nicole, you are holding doses too long. Even with SLGS, one evaluates the dose every week. If you are following TR, you need to get at least 1 mid-cycle test in both cycles. Do you think you can manage a test before bed every night?

I would take him up to 3.25U tomorrow. His nadirs seem to be largely over 150 and there is room for increase - even with SLGS.

Thank you! Am I looking for his numbers to be in the low blues to hold an insulin does? And then if it starts going in the green then reduce the insulin does?
 
Welcome Nicole and Bandit ,sorry no one has replied back to you so I'm going to tag a few experienced members for you to take a look at your SS
By the way can you move your 2023 Pet tab over to the far left so that the first thing we see when it opens.
I see you will be switching over to the Relion after the Alpha Trak strips run out.
That's great because that's what our numbers are based on.
When you do start using the Relion you will need to move that tab over to the far so that's what will open first when members look at it.
Thank you!
 
Thank you! Am I looking for his numbers to be in the low blues to hold an insulin does? And then if it starts going in the green then reduce the insulin does?
When you would increase and decrease a dose depends on which of our two dosing methods you decide to follow. Your Signature says that you are following TR?
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you are following SLGS, you would reduce if he drops below 90 and with TR you would reduce if he drops below 68 - on a pet meter.

 
I am following the TR method.
There are certain prerequisites before you can follow the TR dosing protocol. Besides the cat eating low carb wet or raw food - which Bandit is, there are minimum testing requirements. If you cannot test before each and every preshot (there was no AMPS test today) and you cannot get a second test each cycle (there have been very few second PM tests), then TR is too aggressive a protocol for you to follow. Perhaps there are ways we can help you get those essential tests in if you wish to follow TR?
 
There are certain prerequisites before you can follow the TR dosing protocol. Besides the cat eating low carb wet or raw food - which Bandit is, there are minimum testing requirements. If you cannot test before each and every preshot (there was no AMPS test today) and you cannot get a second test each cycle (there have been very few second PM tests), then TR is too aggressive a protocol for you to follow. Perhaps there are ways we can help you get those essential tests in if you wish to follow TR?
Thank you for the information. I will make sure to get each preshot test. For the PMPS test I usually get it at 6:30 because right at feeding time (7:00) I need another person to help get it because he wont stay still. I will also start to get a second PM cycle test.
 
Back
Top