3/25 Apache pmps242,+2 310,

Apache & Ric

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-239-8-262-pmps428-2-366.275538/#post-3057675
I've had Apaches dose increased for a while with no blue. I noticed more air bubbles in the syringe than usual. Is there anything I need to do to the pen ?? I think I may have or may be blowing air. I do an overdrawn and expell some insulin and tap syringe to get bubbles up top. If I'm getting too many bubbles I assume her dose Is decreased
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-239-8-262-pmps428-2-366.275538/#post-3057675
I've had Apaches dose increased for a while with no blue. I noticed more air bubbles in the syringe than usual. Is there anything I need to do to the pen ?? I think I may have or may be blowing air. I do an overdrawn and expell some insulin and tap syringe to get bubbles up top. If I'm getting too many bubbles I assume her dose Is decreased
Hi Ric, sorry no one's gotten back to you.
Have you seen this Sticky https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/. About a little more than half way down the page is a youtube video that might be able to help.
 
I have read that and am doing exactly as the video shows.
Bubbles in the syringe are as irritating to caregivers almost as much as bouncing. Unfortunately, I personally do not have anything to add. I still flick the syringe sometimes until my fingers hurt. You may have already answered this, what syringes are you using? I would post on the Main Forum for some tips and tricks from other members for their method(s).
 
Bubbles in the syringe are as irritating to caregivers almost as much as bouncing. Unfortunately, I personally do not have anything to add. I still flick the syringe sometimes until my fingers hurt. You may have already answered this, what syringes are you using? I would post on the Main Forum for some tips and tricks from other members for their method(s).
I'm using the relion syringes. I guess maybe it's possible she needs an increase to 1 unit. Seems like after I dropped the dose from when she was at 1 unit. There has been only yellow snd pink. Think I'll try one more cycle at. 75. If results are the same I'll increase to 1 unit
 
I don't know if this tip will help, but what I do is if after tapping I still can't get rid of the bubbles, I pull my plunger down a bit (syringe no longer inside the pen) to pull in some air and get past the area where the bubbles are sticking around, and then push back up to the top and that seems to help clear them more. I think it's a problem really with the syringes. Even within the same brand, some syringes I have no problems with and some the struggle is real.
 
I would advise against raising the dose based on bubbles. You need to rely on the test numbers and not try to extrapolate. The latter means you're left guessing at what may or may not be accurate. You need to wait a week from your last dose change if you're following SLGS before a dose change (unless the numbers drop below 90).

My only suggestion re. bubbles is to overdraw the amount of insulin by a tiny bit. Remove the syringe from the insulin container. Flick the body of the syringe to get the bubbles to the top (needle end). Then, twist the plunger to gently push the bubbles out.
 
I would advise against raising the dose based on bubbles. You need to rely on the test numbers and not try to extrapolate. The latter means you're left guessing at what may or may not be accurate. You need to wait a week from your last dose change if you're following SLGS before a dose change (unless the numbers drop below 90).

My only suggestion re. bubbles is to overdraw the amount of insulin by a tiny bit. Remove the syringe from the insulin container. Flick the body of the syringe to get the bubbles to the top (needle end). Then, twist the plunger to gently push the bubbles out.
I have not determined IF it is bubbles. It may or may not be the problem. I Make every effort to get no air in the barrel and ive been successful for a few weeks now since i stsrted the lantus...That's what I'm trying to troubleshoot. If I have been consistent in injections for a few weeks..then maybe a dose increase is the problem and not air bubbles
 
Back
Top